What would it be…if there is one? Would it also extend to those prayers that were NOT missed due to a more valid reason (forgetfulness, sleep, etc)? Can the ones you missed due to laziness/carelessness…not be made up? What if one has countless missed prayers…what then?
Re: Kaffarah for Missed Prayers
**ALL sins can CAN be forgiven by Allah except shirk and those sins involving human rights [Huqooq ul 'Ebaad] which can be forgiven after the accused pays retribution by his/her good deeds...OR...Allah may reward the victim and forgive the accused. so, namaaz that has been missed can be compensated as best as possible by offering nawaafil [qazaa e umrii]. people usually pray same amount of farz namaazeN with each namaaz...like 2 extra at fajar, 4 at zohr, 4 at asr, 3 at maGhrib and 4 at ishaa...it's the intention to do the missed namaazeN...exact count can never be possible to offer.
but b4 one starts offering qaza-e-umrii, one must repent, admit his guilt, ask for Allah's forgiveness. If you do Hajj and is accepted by Allah then all your previous sins are forgiven...you become like a 'new born child'...intentions must be pure and repentance must be genuine. **
Good Question. I have wondered about that too. But KKF is right..our intention should be to pray on time. Which i try my level best!
As far as i know, there is no "Kaffara" for missed prayers (as we know it in for example in the case of missed fasting, or a promissed not fulfilled etc)
for every missed farz prayer, its qaza must be offered... we tend to miss even qaza and may not be able to offer all of them, so along with offering qaza, we must repent, and make sure no more prayers are missed.
....people usually pray same amount of farz namaazeN with each namaaz...like 2 extra at fajar, 4 at zohr, 4 at asr, 3 at maGhrib and 4 at ishaa.......
KKF a small addition if i'm allowed... the extra (other than farz) number of rakat you mentioned with these prayers is sunnah, because there is a understanding/ rule in shariah that if qaza is due for some farz, any extra prayer offered will be taken as qaza first, then for wajib and then sunnah and nafil... even if someone has no qaza to offer the above mentioned sunnah are highly recommended
As far as i know, there is no "Kaffara" for missed prayers (as we know it in for example in the case of missed fasting, or a promissed not fulfilled etc)
for every missed farz prayer, its qaza must be offered... we tend to miss even qaza and may not be able to offer all of them, so along with offering qaza, we must repent, and make sure no more prayers are missed.
KKF a small addition if i'm allowed... the extra (other than farz) number of rakat you mentioned with these prayers is sunnah, because there is a understanding/ rule in shariah that if qaza is due for some farz, any extra prayer offered will be taken as qaza first, then for wajib and then sunnah and nafil... even if someone has no qaza to offer the above mentioned sunnah are highly recommended
EXACTLY! thanx for the addition...yes, nawaafil compensate farz, waajib namaazeN if any of those are missed...thank you bro :)
Just to add to what everyone says ..(dont know if someone already said that)
you can offer Kaffara for the one who has passed away. If I remember correctly, the amount is the same as the amount of fitrana (one fitrana per missed prayer)
^ TLK i would like to know more about it, can you please post reference of some renowned source... not because i doubt you, but because i may want to follow it with more confidence and recommend this to others...
Aceones bhai, please check with a proper aalim on that. I belong to Hanafi school of thought and the ruling might be different for other school of thoughts. Nevertheless, I will try posting the reference inshallah.
**once a person leaves this world, all his acts of worship cease. the loved ones of the deceased can NOT compensate for his missed prayers or siyaam or other faraiz except Hajj, qurbanii which can be done for sawaab ONLY...also, living next of kins should pay any debts that are left unpaid by the deceased.
as far as i know and as far as faraiz are concerned, once a person dies all ibaadaat...he/she receives only sawaab that is remitted to his/her account by the sadaqaat/sadaaqaat-e-jaariya he did in his lifetime and/or the sawaab of acts of azkaar, sadaqaat sent by his/her next of kin or anyone else on his/her behalf.** [iisaal-e-sawaab to bheje jaa sakte haiN magar faraaiz anjaam nahiiN diye jaa sakte]
if we miss a couple of our namaz during the day due to school, work, etc...can we offer them all as kaza with isha? and is there a specific way each kaza namaz should be done?
sure...qaza must be done ASAP and it must NOT be done as a convenience. one must strive to do prayers on time but if for some reason he/she can NOT do it then it must be done as QAZA soon as possible. qaza namaaz can NOT be done between asr and maGhrib or at the time of sunrise and sunset or at zawaal [midday] if one does asr namaaz then he can NOT do qaza namaaz until after maGhrib at the earliest. one more thing...qazaa is due only for farz namaaz and according to some waajib namaaz as well but no qaza for sunnat.
Aceones bhai, please check with a proper aalim on that. I belong to Hanafi school of thought and the ruling might be different for other school of thoughts. Nevertheless, I will try posting the reference inshallah.
**once a person leaves this world, all his acts of worship cease. the loved ones of the deceased can NOT compensate for his missed prayers or siyaam or other faraiz except Hajj, qurbanii which can be done for sawaab ONLY...also, living next of kins should pay any debts that are left unpaid by the deceased.
as far as i know and as far as faraiz are concerned, once a person dies all ibaadaat...he/she receives only sawaab that is remitted to his/her account by the sadaqaat/sadaaqaat-e-jaariya he did in his lifetime and/or the sawaab of acts of azkaar, sadaqaat sent by his/her next of kin or anyone else on his/her behalf.** [iisaal-e-sawaab to bheje jaa sakte haiN magar faraaiz anjaam nahiiN diye jaa sakte]
Thanks TLK and KKF, I'll INSHA ALLAH find out more on this with some aalim
Ok so I kept saying kaffarah. What I meant was Fidyah
Question Detail:
I want to know whether there is any kaffarah for missing salat by a deceased person owing to his/her sickness till his/her death. If there is any what is the rate or price of that kaffarah in kind or in cash.
Answer :
In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful
Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatoh
If the mayyit was incapacitated to the extent that he/she could not perform the salaah by way of Ishaarah (performing the postures of Salaah through signs/movements of the head), fidyah will not be necessary. Fidyah will only become necessary if the mayyit had missed salaah that he/she was in the position to perform salaah even through Isharaah (head movements)- (Tahtaawi Page 464/5)
The amount may be given in cash or kind.
And Allah knows best
Wassalam
Muhammed Zakariyya Desai,
Checked and Approved by:
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah
Yes you should offer them as Kazaa. There is no specific way. Just do the neeyat and offer the missed Farz. You can do it before or after Isha prayers.
^ jazakallah TLK
sure...qaza must be done ASAP and it must NOT be done as a convenience. one must strive to do prayers on time but if for some reason he/she can NOT do it then it must be done as QAZA soon as possible. qaza namaaz can NOT be done between asr and maGhrib or at the time of sunrise and sunset or at zawaal [midday] if one does asr namaaz then he can NOT do qaza namaaz until after maGhrib at the earliest. one more thing...qazaa is due only for farz namaaz and according to some waajib namaaz as well but no qaza for sunnat.
that....
intentionally / negligence missed prayer is gone........... if u have valid reason...offer Qaza ASAP........
and i thnk.......u can't really pay yourself out of not-praying if you didn't pray due to negligence etc
As far as I know, you make qaza for whatever you've missed. It would be best to check with an aalim on what to do if you don't know exactly how many you've missed.
Peace All,
In reply of OP's question, Prayers (namaz) are mandatory (Farz) on us since the age of 7 and its nearly impossible to track down all those missing prayers since the age of 7. So the best solution is that we offer 'Qaza prayers (farz) with each fard on daily basis with intention that we are offering 'Qaza Prayers' hoping that Almighty Allah will accept it.