Have you had a chance to eat any of those ?
Have you cooked any of those ?
Did you like/enjoy eating those masoom janwar ?
Share recipe if you have any personal or family recipe for any of those desi delicacy .
Re: Kabootar , bunny , duck , teetar , batair , murghabi , deer.
I have had:
Pigeon - kabootar
Duck
Quail - Batair
Partridge - teetar
Pheasant - dont know what this is in urdu
all the above at restaurants - duck is my least favourite the rest are nice.
I have also had Venison - deer from my mamoos Shikaar
hmmmmmmmm I cant think of anything else
have eaten teetar and batair…
mujhay batair ko bataira kehna zeda acha lagta hai. ![]()
I have had all - mostly at Shikar , but thesedays you can get batair and duck at most of the restaurants here !
whats murghabi?
except rabbit, i've had everything else...we used to go for hunting trips on the river Ganges in December for two weeks every year for murGhabi...that's when they used to come to India from Russia. this trip was part of a month long program in my village where sport activities, mushaira, bait-baazii, qawwali, dinner, games, lunches used to take place. it was a fun-filled 4 weeks then...now, after the deaths of my dad, and his other brothers, this thing has come to an end. gaaoN kaa ab vo maaHaul bhii nahiiN rahaa...pen kii jagah logoN ne bandooqeN thaam li haiN :( sad!
whats murghabi?
Teal
Zalim loog.
but these poor things are so cute .. why would you guys want to eat them :(
because they are so yummy!!!!!!!!!!! :D
I always have Murghabi ka pulao... Whenever we go to our grandparent's village in winter...
the only thing from that list i've had is batair
So is chicken , but you love to make a biryani out of that poor thing. :@:
All animals we eat are cute , goat , lamb , cow , turkey and what not.
I've eaten all of the ones in that list.
And they've all been delicious.
I have a kickass venison recipe I always employ.
Last time I did was a couple of months ago though.
So basically we roasted some venison shoulder over coals. We stuffed it with some garlic, scallions and some other green/spicy stuff. Then we dry rubbed it you know with like cajun seasoning and brown sugar (You can add more things). Then you just smoke it on the coals for as long as it takes. Epic. Trust me.
^ I thought you were from england?
The only bird I'll stick to eating is chicken. I imagine the choices you've listed have a gamey flavor/taste to them...and I don't like meat with strong flavors. I don't even eat fish.
rabbit, buttair, teetar, duck, murghabi, deer, but no pigeon
some other stuff as well
shark, snake, alligator, crab, ostrich, etc
recipes... no idea, never cooked at home,
Eaten all except Murghabi and Kabootar (Though I am vegetarian now :-().
Mom pickled most of them and made the most delicious achar. (Esp. of patridge and pheasants). I'll try to ask her for a recipe.
never had any of them.. and i dont think i will :hinna:
and so tiny too .. Some people have sparrows & quails - They’d just be 2 bites for you, 3 bites? Oh that can so not be resisted ![]()