Justice Saeed-uz-Zaman role in ousting ex-CJ Sajjad Ali Shah.

Interesting statement by the PPP. From what I have heard Justice Saeed-uz-Zaman openly sided with Nawaz Sharif in his struggle against the former CJ Sajjad Ali Shah, and which led to the Supreme Court being attacked by PML N. It appears that Saeed-uz-Zaman is not quite the neutral and respectable person we are led to believe.

**In a sign of the growing gulf between the PPP and former coalition partners the PML-N, Zia said PPP Co-Chairman Zardari had suffered eight years in jail for democracy, while the PML-N had forwarded the name of a candidate whose involvement in deposing of former chief justice Sajjad Ali Shah in 1998 was still fresh in public memory.

‘PPP CEC to decide Punjab govt fate’ -DAWN - National; August 26, 2008](http://www.dawn.com/2008/08/26/nat11.htm)

****He also narrated how “a Judge of this Court”, Justice Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui, had overstepped his mark by hearing petitions which he should not have heard without the authority of the Chief Justice, how he had passed administrative orders without proper authorization, and how he, with some of his brethren acquiescing, had deliberately caused a division amongst the judges of the apex court of the land. He asked the president to take the necessary steps for action against Siddiqui by the Supreme Judicial Council. **

DAWN - Cowasjee Corner; 08 April, 2001

Re: Justice Saeed-uz-Zaman role in ousting ex-CJ Sajjad Ali Shah.

Doesnt matter... Saeeduzzman proved his loyalty to Pakistan and its constituition was given the opportunity to bceome another one of Musharraf's henchmen in 1999, when everyone was thinking of Musharraf as some sort of messiah, but he said no and did the right thing, and was house arrested and antagonized by the military under direct orders from Musharraf.

Spock bhaijan. Are you saying that it does not matter that Justice Saeed-uz-Zaman played a leading part in the forceable overthrow of Chief Justice and that he colluded with Nawaz Sharif in this act.

Thanks for letting us know where you stand when it comes to the Judiciary. :)

You can concoct any roles up Aalsi (youre a master of deception), but the fact of the matter is, Justice Saeed proved his loyalty to Pakistan when he refused to take oath as the CJ under the dictator, the rest doesnt matter, not even some 'fake' allegations.

Justice Saeed proved his loyalty to Nawaz Shareef when conspired against Justice Sajjad and proved his loyalty to Nawaz again when he resigned in 1999. Now, he is being rewarded by Nawaz Shareef with nomination for presidensy.

Spock bhaijan. No need to get upset. I now fully understand where you stand with regards to the Judiciary, and you believe that it does not matter that Justice Saeed-uz-Zaman played a leading part in the forceable overthrow of ex Chief Justice Sajjad, and that he colluded with Nawaz Sharif in this act. Please Carry-on in defending the actions of Saeed-uz-Zaman

Aalsi, so how come there is no official charges or cases against Justice Saeed for what you are accusing him against? Keep in mind that Musharraf sent alot of people, even innocent people to jails, so why couldnt he dare do anything against this guy? You must try harder Aalsi bhai, its not working I know you are still devestated with the resignation :hehe:

He upheld the constitution, hence he proved his loyalty to Pakistan.

Ajju bhaijan. Absolutely right.

Aalsi bhai, aap ki nazar me tu jis ney bhi musharraf key per nahee chohey, woh ghaddar hai :hehe:

This is what ex Chief Justice Sajjad had to say about the attack on the Supreme Court and Saeed-uz-Zaman’s leading role in helping Nawaz Sharif in the shameful episode.

No wonder Nawaz Sharif has proposed Saeed-uz-Zaman’s name for the Presidency.

Behind the Chairman’s Door | A Defining Moment for the Judiciary - Sajjad Ali Shah

A Defining Moment for the Judiciary - Sajjad Ali Shah

Nobody talks about the attack on the Supreme Court in November 1997 and how it happened and what was the conspiracy between certain judges and the government. The judges followed the directions of Justice Saeeduzzaman because the government gave its nod. These are the circumstances to be considered while evaluating the judgment in Malik Asad’s case. None of these 10 judges regretted the attack on the Supreme Court.

The whole offensive was filmed by hidden cameras fixed on the premises of the Supreme Court and was seen by the president, the prime minister and the COAS. Photographs were published in newspapers showing federal ministers leading the mob. I sent a reference to the president against Justice Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui on grounds of misconduct but the prime minister refused to act.

Aalsi, since you value so much that former CJ Sajjad Ali Shah says, take a look at this and let me know about your views. Please dont just leave this thread like you usually do now:

Let sacked judges be restored

By Sajjad Ali Shah
PAKISTAN was born 60 years ago and we are still at the elementary stage of learning the art of Constitution-making. To preempt the subversion of the Basic Law by military rulers, the architects of the Constitution of 1973 incorporated Article 6 which deems a person abrogating the Constitution by force to be guilty of high treason.

When General Ziaul Haq suspended the constitution and imposed martial law in July 1977, the Supreme Court validated the move on the ground that the Constitution was not abrogated but suspended for a short time. This was treated as an extra constitutional step that was protected and validated by the parliament by the eighth amendment.

Thus the Supreme Court validated the violation of the Constitution as an extra constitutional step on the ground of state necessity, ignoring Article 6 completely. Then, the parliament elected with the backing of the military government in power gave this act constitutional cover and made it a part of the constitution under the eighth amendment. So this is how the practice of introducing patch-work in the constitution was initiated. It was judicial surgery followed by parliamentary surgery that attempted to validate the military’s move.

Blame can be equally apportioned to the three pillars of the state, namely, the executive, the judiciary and the parliament in their pursuit of power sharing. I have always wondered whether the “suspension of the Constitution”, though temporary in nature, is not the subversion of the Constitution. If not, then why have the words “the subversion of the constitution” in the Basic Law?

There should be a proper debate in the parliament on the language used in Article 6. Suspension of the constitution amounts to mutilation rendering it non-workable and inoperative for a considerable time, which is easily covered by the article on the subversion of the Constitution, open to punishment.

The moot point is whether an act done outside the constitution is a violation. If yes, then it cannot be condoned on the ground that it is for a short time only and justified as an extra constitutional measure on the basis of the law of necessity.

In Oct 1999 General Pervez Musharraf, the army chief, suspended the constitution and imposed martial law. The Supreme Court validated his action in the Zafar Ali Shah case following the precedent of the Begum Nusrat Bhutto case. Elections were held and with the active assistance of the MMA, one of the opposition groupings, the parliament passed the 17th amendment giving constitutional cover to all extra constitutional steps taken by Musharraf.

Musharraf thus continued as chief of army staff. He wanted to be elected again as president for the next term by the same assemblies. It was a matter of necessity for him to wear both his caps and continue in uniform as he drew his power and protection from the army.

He was, however, not eligible for election as president because his uniform came in the way since a serving general could not engage in politics until two years after his retirement. He was not elected by the electoral college — that is the federal legislature and the provincial assemblies — as required by the constitution. Other options, such as the referendum and a vote of confidence by assemblies, were adopted.

The term of office of the president under the 17th amendment was to end before the term of the assemblies expired. Hence the president wanted to be elected by the same assemblies for the second time. Meanwhile the Supreme Court launched its programme of judicial activism and gave bold decisions on the sale of the Pakistan Steel Mill and initiated proceedings on tracing missing persons allegedly in the custody of the intelligence agencies. This was a blow to the government’s ego.

It was then that the decision was taken to teach a lesson to the judiciary and get rid of Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammed Chaudhry. He was suspended, maltreated and taken into custody and a reference for his removal was filed before the supreme judicial council. The lawyers, journalists, civil society, and political parties came out to defend the Chief Justice.

The media played an important role in highlighting the minute-to-minute proceedings against him. Lawyers were beaten up and TV channels were attacked. Ultimately the Chief Justice was reinstated by his brother judges on July 20. This was a great victory for the judiciary and the government was crestfallen.

When the election of the President by the same assemblies for a second time was challenged in the Supreme Court, the court did not grant a stay order but restrained the chief election commissioner from issuing the final notification.

The emergency was declared by the chief of army staff — not the President as empowered by the Constitution — and the Constitution was suspended. The Provisional Constitution Order (PCO) was issued with the idea of sending Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry home along with several other judges. The act of dismissing 50 judges in one go was the biggest blow the judiciary has ever known in Pakistan. A seven-member bench dismissed all the petitions against the President, confirming that his election was valid.

Now the president has nothing to fear from the judiciary. It is going to be smooth sailing for him. On Nov 3, Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry heading a bench had issued an order restraining the government from proclaiming an emergency and issuing the PCO but this order could not be implemented. So the main purpose of the PCO is to punish the judges for dispensing justice according to the law.

The latest order of the newly inducted Supreme Court which gives a clean chit to the President has once again followed the rule laid down in the cases of Begum Nusrat Bhutto and Zafar Ali Shah that considered the action of the president as merely extra constitutional on the basis of the law of necessity.

The Supreme Court has validated the move that now has to be validated by the next elected parliament. The western powers, including America and Europe, want President Musharraf to continue as president with an elected secular government so that the war against terror continues uninterrupted.

Many political parties have entered the polling campaign for the Jan 8 election. The president has announced that the emergency and the PCO will be withdrawn and the Constitution restored on Dec 16. But there is no talk of restoring the judges, who became victims of the PCO.

**Are we going to forget them? I feel the political parties should not participate in the elections if the sacked judges are not restored. If the judiciary is honest and independent, the system will work successfully. Power-sharing is not a substitute for democracy. It is time to save the country and its system, which can be done through democracy, transparent elections and the elimination of martial law.
The writer is a former Chief Justice of Pakistan.

DAWN - Opinion; December 05, 2007

Spock bhaijan. I am happy now that you are also quoting ex CJ Sajjad Ali Shah, and I have no issues with the former PCO judges being restored if the government so chooses. What are your comments on what Sajjad Ali Shah said about the role played by Saeed-uz-Zaman in the overthrow of the Supreme Court, and the overthrow of the ex CJ Sajjad? :)

Glady, but after you present your comments about what Sajjad Ali Shah had to say about the largest and most severe blow to the judiciary in the history of Pakistan by an illegitimate dictator.

Spock bhaijan. So you do not want to discuss the role played by Saeed-uz-Zaman in the overthrow of the Supreme Court, and the overthrow of the ex CJ Sajjad? As I said, I am happy that you are quoting Sajjad Ali Shah, and I fully support the restoration of the PCO judges if the government so chooses.

I fully understand your frustration with regards to the topic of Saeed-uz-Zaman being found out to be the enemy of the Judiciary, and not the hero as suggested. Please carry on with defending the role played by Saeed-uz-Zaman in the storming of the Supreme Court, and the overthrow of the ex CJ Sajjad? :)

Justice Saeeduz Zamaan will turn into great president after Quid-e-Azam if by chance he becomes the president of Pakistan. Hay naa Aalsi bhai?

AQ bhaijan. If elected, I am sure he will, as long as he keeps away from conspiring against the Judges and trying to divide themand getting involved plots that lead to the storming of the Supreme Court. :)

Quid-e-Azam was Governrr General of Pakistan, note it, A GENERAL, hence a dictator. Justice Saeeduz Zaman will lead a DEMOCRATIC country in much better way than Quad-e-Azam did. :chai: Even an Indian Ex-Soldier would run country better than anyone if he comes farward and claims that he fired a shot on Mushy in 1971 war. :halo:

Wow is this all true??

If this is , then no body is spared of corruption in Pakistan. NS rewarding Saeed-uzzaman Siddiqui for his loyalty, he even being the ex-CJ of Pakistan.

I am not really interested in whether you support the restoration of judges or not, as we all know where your loyalty truly lies. I just want you to admit that it was the biggest massacre for the judiciary of Pakistan by a dictator, when last year in November, all those judges were removed out of office. This is what Sajjad Ali Shah believes too, since you were so fond of bringing him into the limelight today.

I fully understand your frustration with regards to the topic of Saeed-uz-Zaman being found out to be the enemy of the Judiciary, and not the hero as suggested. Please carry on with defending the role played by Saeed-uz-Zaman in the storming of the Supreme Court, and the overthrow of the ex CJ Sajjad? :)
Frustration tu un ko ho rahi hai jin ka beloved EX-dictator aajkal akela bhet kar scotch pee raha hai aur apney akhri din guzarney ki tyari mey hai, PAkistan sey bahir.