If it isn't the accent then I don't know what your uncle is talking about. We managed to get through my sister's wedding without letting any of the vendors know that we were from faaran. We only let them know in the end so that they could give us back the pictures, DVDs etc before we flew back. They don't have a built in radar to tell you're a foreigner unless you dress, act or speak differently.
That is not true. My cousin once introduced me to his friend in Pakistan. I was visiting pakistan then and my cousin's friend goes "Oh yaar yeh America sey tou nahi aya, is ko tou mehnay pichlay saal wahan dekha tha". It was a bit disconcerting because I was trying to act all western but I guess I don't look foreign enough.
Virtually impossible for them not to know. No matter what you wear and whether you utter a word or not. They just know like Ahmed said above how we know when someone may not be born here or raised here.
It's the way you dress and carry yourself. Even if your accent is perfect and you're dressed normally, if you're too agreeable and polite, a shopkeeper would probably notice and assume you're not from there. It's small things like that.
Body language. When you have been born and raised in a particular environment, all your movements and interactions will reflect familiarity and more importantly, confidence. You know where to go, how to converse, how to bargain, all the ins and out, the best deals and the traps. You can't be easily fooled because it's second nature to you.
For a person who visits Pakistan every several months or years, the natives can spot your hesitation, confusion, surprise, lack of awareness. It'll manifest itself in your facial expressions and words. Of course your clothes and accent will give it away as well. It's a combo of all these things.
Yr uncle is right. They can easily figure out you are from abroad, especially western countries. And IGR is right, its a combo of multiple things and you should be very good at hiding all of 'em.
haha^ my dad loves going to Pak and he dresses exactly like the locals obviously speaks perfectly like them as well so when once he got in a taxi in Rawalpindi and starts chatting away to the driver about everything and anything going on locally and the driver goes to him ’ Are you from abroad by any chance?’ and my dad laughs and goes ‘nah I wish. I’m from such an such village and work for my brother’ so the taxi driver goes ‘Hmmm ok I’ll believe you for now but there’s something about you and I cant put my finger on it.’ Again dad laughs and changes the subject. anyway so the journey resumes and at the end dad gets out the taxi and hands the driver his fare and walks off. Driver shouts out ‘bhai u forgot your change’ it was ten rupees and dad goes nah its cool you keep it. Driver laughs and shouts back 'see I knew you were foreign haha No Pakistani has ever let me keep the change even if its just one rupee. Dad lol’d and goes ‘well if that’s what you want to believe then I can’t stop you.’ Sweet story nah? Anyone who met my dad has nothing but nice things to say about him and yet Pakistani people still managed to make his life hell by cruelly taking advantage of his genuine good nature. :hinna: