Junoon's Peace Concert

The audience who came to listen to Junoon and Tajuna better speak some urdu. it wasn't Reshma and Pathanay Khan they were hosting. Waisay Pathanay Khan speaks very eloquent Urdu. And he is not even 8% of Pakistan.

I could only watch five minutes of it...itna bay-sura hai gunja..tobah! I feel like shooting people who compare Junoon to U2

^ bay suray hongay app! :hoonh:

i love junoooon.. they are awsome!

It always amazes me when people say they love Junoon. How can you call that music? The lead singer sounds like he's being tortured. And as a result so are the rest of us.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
It always amazes me when people say they love Junoon. How can you call that music? The lead singer sounds like he's being tortured. And as a result so are the rest of us.

I agree! :D

Yeah Mehnaz it does my head in! I keep reading that this group has a huge fan base in places like India and normally sensible Guppies raving about them here and I’m like…what?

Are these people on LSD? :mudhosh:

hahaa...extremzy..my sentiments exactly..and on top, they call themselves a "rock band"..am sure a lot of original rockers would be turning in their graves..

I always thought I was the only Pakistani who couldn't stand Junoon. I do like Pappu Yaar ... it's annoyingly catchy. :p

Me too Mehnaz. Esp cos one of my cheapoo cousins nick name was pappoo! So I love every bit of the song :D

Outz,

Rock band? Yeah right. Well rock bands actually play rock music as well usually. If growing your hair long and moaning like a hyena with diaorrhea could pass as 'rock', i could get the same effect by putting a wig on an ass and branding him with a hot iron poker :D

Oh you blasphemous bunch!!! :mad: Where is AliBeta?

Those of you that don’t like Junoon, need some serious help! Help getting off the LSD that is! hmph.

I resent having this thread split so that it seems it’s by me. :mad:

As far as that peace concert goes, I caught five minutes of it and that was all I could take. Some bands are just not meant to sing live.

And what I resent even more!! is the nerve on X to compare ali azmat with a Gadha!!! I mean good grief X, at least azmat eats his carrots from the right end.

You dont know jack about vocals, or Pakistani music for that matter… Ali Amzat is the best Pakistani vocalist at present by a long shot. Most of the people here who dislike them, comparing them to western rockers are actually bigtime gori chamri wannabes. Junoons music has been exceptionally good, songs like Sayonee, Jazba-Junoon, Lal Meri Patt, and now the experimental Ghoom Tanna is enough to prove that. I am sure 90% of the people in this thread havent even heard them, they just look at the bands image (like how this extreme uncle envies salmans hair, and limits his opinions based on clothes and hairstyles), and based on what they think is their knowledge about Pakistani music make judgements. And yeah, same goes for other banks, like Noori, Fuzon, and those that are trying to compare them with western rockers (you know who they are). And Mr. Outlaw, rock/pop does not have to be in angrezi only, samjhey? :rolleyes:

And finally, I need not mention Inquilab, Azadi, Talaash, or Parvaz, the recent sales of Deewar is enough to shut people up. Oh yeah, they played to 60,000 two or three weeks ago in India, at the anti-globalization rally. Eat your hearts out! hah

Hes the tour promotor for the USA Deewar 2004 this year, and is administrating the official junoon site and forum.

*Originally posted by teeni_meeni: *
yeah live music doesnt come out good on tv but i went to junoon's concert in chicago and it was pretty loud and fun..and then i had a headache for two days..i think the show is still on but my mom i watching sum pathetic indian drama..

waise i liked ahmed jahanzeb singing live yesterday..

In your previous post you were waiting for Stereo Nation, dont you remember what happened in Chicago last time, when Junoon and Stereo Nation had a joint concert? Everyone booed stereo nation (which was not even live) outta the stage, with chants of 'We want Junoon'?

I wasn’t waiting for stereo nation, I just thought that in Pak India concert stereo nation would follow junoon.and yes I do remember wat happened in Chicago. majority audience was Pakistani so naturally they all wanted junoon.

*Originally posted by teeni_meeni: *
I wasn’t waiting for stereo nation, I just thought that in Pak India concert stereo nation would follow junoon.

Wesey they are a British band.

and yes I do remember wat happened in Chicago. majority audience was Pakistani so naturally they all wanted junoon.

Well think about it, both stereo nation and junoon were performing, so why was the crowd still pakistani? Speaks alot about what Indians think about their most popular band? Stereo nation didnt even play live, came in, no one cared, and did you see the huge pop when Junoon entered? Faraq saaf zahir hai. They did the best damn 'jazba' version ever in chicago 2003.

spock, i don't wish to derail this thread, but i think the era of rock is over as far as the music goes; and it's not easy to find artists who can really jam with a mix of blues. If there are some, then they re rare gems....and you also need to be an appreciator of the music in order to distinguis.. ;)

All, the rest like janoon are only imitators; although, i may be biased to some extent since i have never listened to them. But, i sure know these homos ain't no where close wheb it comes to being rock artists..

Outlaw bhai, I think your love or appreciation for music has died, as for Junoon, they are still making music, and trust me, you would be very dissapointed when you read about their skyrocketting sales for their most recent album (let alone their first few ones). As long as the people love them, music aata rahey ga.

Firstly, you need to spell their name, its Junoon, and not ‘janoon’. Youve never listened to them, and you make a judgement. :rolleyes: Does that mean all other musicians you havent listened to are imitators too? Who did they imitate when they mixed tabla, bass and the guitar along with punjabi vocals? As for your homos comment, how would you like it if someone calls you one? Lastly, they are rock stars, they live like rock stars, they are adored like rock stars, and lastly and more importantly, they have been making quality music, despite all the bans, threats, rumours…