Junoon live in Kalamazoo, Michigan! (2 hours from Chicago, hour and a half from detroit)
Date: Nov 15th, 04
Time: 8:30pm (sharp)
Venue: State Theatre Kalamazoo
Tickets: $10
Tickets On Sale: Ticketmaster
Junoon live in Kalamazoo, Michigan! (2 hours from Chicago, hour and a half from detroit)
Date: Nov 15th, 04
Time: 8:30pm (sharp)
Venue: State Theatre Kalamazoo
Tickets: $10
Tickets On Sale: Ticketmaster
Awesome!!!!! Junooon all the way ..I can't wait....Last year the kalamazoo concert was really good. I'm pretty sure Junooon as always will rock the house!!!
Anybody else coming?
spock ticket khareed raha hai kya? how far is kala ma zoo from chicago anyways?
My guess is somewhere around 2-2.5 hours away from chicago..
Kalamazoo is only an hour and a half away from IN
Shyte!!! I will be in Mich on Sunday and Monday but have to leave at 6pm as next day I am working
Its been long time since I attended their mega blast in 2001 @ Molsen Amphitheater in TO where no other non-white had ever performed. Junoon were the first Asian rock band to perform there and O boy, what an exciting performance it was. More than 16,000 ppl showed up in the jam pack lake front, all fibre-glass theater. The threater is one of its kind facility for rock concerts in the world and no pop or other genre artists are allowed there. On the other hand right on the next weekend the Indian Mega show staring Sharukh Khan and mega super star show couldn’t even pull a decent crowd of 7,000 in Air Canada Centre. However Junoon were late and performed only in the last one hour of the show, but together with four hours of non-stop Abrar’s performance (while cheering crowd was waiting for Junoon since afternoon) it was a brilliant show.
Now that was an achievement :k: :k: by Junoon which Pakistanis will always remember. It was milestone of Pakistani music appearance. almost all the newspaper in the GTA gave prominent coverage on main page of such a wonderful show.
Only if I knew they are coming, I would have take Tuesday off as well
I missed the Ann Arbor show in March as well.
spock, do you know whether they will come to atlanta or not. I am just dying to see them live. As ludicrous as it might sound, I have never seen junoon in a concert before. I would really love to attend atleast once before they break up. :(
you know that is the show that every pakistani in every forum i’ve been to seems to talk about and how fun it was. I thought it was just desi hype but it seems as if you guys really rolled up the red carpet for the paki performers and had a blast.
http://www.mlive.com/entertainment/kzgazette/index.ssf?/base/features-1/1100276514251880.xml
*Pakistani band Junoon still rocking for peace
Friday, November 12, 2004
By Matthew Jakubowski
[email protected] 388-8526
Two years after its “Passion for Peace” tour stop here rocked Miller Auditorium, Pakistani-American rock group Junoon is back in town with the same goal in mind: To use its music to unite people across ideological and religious divides.
The trio, consisting of founding members Ali Azmat on vocals, guitarist Salman Ahmad and bassist Brian O’Connel, plays the State Theater on Monday as part of its current U.S. tour.
Azmat and Ahmad are Pakistani Muslims, while O’Connel is an American Catholic. They formed Junoon, which means “passion” in Urdu, in 1990, but there were challenges from the beginning.
Ahmad was born in Pakistan, but moved to Tappan, N. Y., as a teenager, to attend junior high and high school. After he heard the music of Aerosmith, Led Zeppelin and Santana, Ahmad started playing guitar in garage bands, a move that scared his parents enough that they put him on a plane back to Pakistan, where they hoped he would become a
doctor.
But rock won out. O’Connel and Azmat later met Ahmad in Karachi, Pakistan, where they formally started Junoon
and began practicing and
recording.
In its 14-year history, Junoon members have become stars in much of Asia and the Middle East for their efforts to promote peace between nations, particularly between India and Pakistan. They’ve toured with Pearl Jam and Oasis, among others, received awards for their work from leaders of the United Nations, and recently recorded a remix of “Give Peace A Chance,” with Yoko Ono, using original recordings by John Lennon.
“It’s ironic,” Ahmad, 40, said via phone from New York City about working on the Lennon track with Ono, “in the sense that my first ever glimpse into Western rock was at a midnight-theater run of ‘A Hard Day’s Night.’ To see the Beatles running around goofing off – I thought, ‘That’s not a bad way to make a living, man.’”
Ahmad was one of several other artists who sang the chorus of the track, which replaced the original chorus with a religious anti-extremism poem by Sufi poet Babba Bulleh Shah.
“It was a huge honor to be asked to sing on this track,” Ahmad said. “You know, John (Lennon) counts it off in the beginning. It gave me chills.”
Ahmad has blended Sufi devotional music into Junoon’s sound for many years now. He spent two years studying with Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, a Sufi musician known for his work with Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder as well as Peter Gabriel. Ahmad’s aim as a songwriter is to reach the point where “Junoon’s music is just a natural expression of that joy,” he found in the music he studied with Khan, he said.
Ahmad also recently finished work on a new, as-yet-untitled documentary film for BBC TV, which will eventually be shown on PBS in the United States, after its U.K. run next year.
“It looks at the Muslim-American community in the U.S. with a backdrop of the U.S. presidential elections,” Ahmad said. Interviews with Muslim-Americans were filmed in several Michigan cities, as well as Washington, D.C., and other cities on the East coast.
Ahmad is in front of the camera for this project, talking with various Muslim-Americans, which he found illuminating.
“One of the things that I found out was, unlike the Middle East, the Islam that’s practice there – it’s restricted, almost strait-jacketed. I find that the Muslim-Americans here in the States, they’re able to practice without any restraints … they’re developing a modern identity for themselves. … It’s too early to say, but (the film) might be a good vision for people in the Middle East and other parts of the world.”
He found that Muslim-American opinion regarding the 2004 general election was quite diverse.
“The difference (in the outcome) is that passions won out,” Ahmad said. "Whatever you may think of George (W.) Bush, during the course of this film we found people who were passionately for him. There was a family in Denver who created a ‘Muslims for Bush’ Web site.
"Then, there were other people we met. This lady who lost her son on 9/11, her son was a paramedic, saw a plane hit the building and he immediately stopped, ran over and volunteered. He lost his life there. … She thought that a Bush
re-election would be
catastrophic."
Ahmad has worked on just one other film before this – excluding Junoon’s work on various soundtracks over the years – a PBS documentary titled “Rock Star and the Mullahs,” which aired about a year ago.
“The documentary is an extension of Junoon’s music,” Ahmad said. “With our music we ask questions. I found the experience to be quite a joy.” *
Once again an amazing performance by Junoon! Two songs that they never played live before! PM me for more pics!
[thumb=H]tn_DSC029297227_8836113.JPG[/thumb]
Opening Acts:
Salman - NFAK Covers
Malung - Meri Laila
Kraze (Pakistani Female Band)
Main Event - Junoon:
Lal Meri Pat
Pappu
Dosti
Garaj Baras
Ghoom
Muq Gaye Nain (For Alibeta)
Mera Mahi
Sayonee
Khawab
Sayaein
Yar Bina
Khuddi
Sajna
With or Without you by U2 (Salman)
Chori Chori Aaja
*Medley (Allah hu, Billo De Ghar, Chief Sahib, Long Gawacha, and some others) *
Azadi
Jazba
National Anthem
http://www.mlive.com/entertainment/kzgazette/index.ssf?/base/features-1/1100622027106280.xml
*Band Junoon fuses traditional sounds, rock
Tuesday, November 16, 2004
By Mark Wedel
Special to the Kalamazoo Gazette
The passion of rock blended with the passion of qawwali – traditional Sufi music of South Asia – is a very heady mix.
Pakistani/ American band Junoon delivered that passion for nearly two hours Monday night for a small crowd of enthusiastic and mostly Pakistani fans.
Western Michigan University’s Pakistan Student Association brought Junoon to the State Theatre. The crowd packed together at the front of the stage had the same reaction one would expect from homesick American students in Pakistan treated to a concert by Bruce Springsteen: They rocked out.
Junoon – vocalist Ali Azmat, guitarist Salman Ahmad and bassist John Alec – are huge in Pakistan, India, and much of South Asia. The band began in 1990, and grew from being upstarts with songs critical of the Islamabad government to performing on stage last August with President Pervez Musharraf.
Joined by drummer Jay Dittamo at the State, Junoon sounded at times like a great, if slightly dated, western rock band. Songs here and there had an expansive, anthemic and upbeat sound like early U2 or '80s bands The Alarm and Big Country. Elsewhere Junoon had a harder edge, near-metallic, with a sound dominated by the sharp guitar of Ahmad.
Ahmad could do everything from hard blues-based rock to Eddie Van Halen squall. But Junoon is more than a rock band from another land, thanks to singer Azmat.
He is schooled in the style of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, late world-famous qawwali singer of Pakistan. Qawwali is a soaring, passionate style of singing that can turn into a rapid rollercoaster of microtonal syllables. Azmat’s delivery of the Urdu lyrics truly showed “junoon,” the Urdu word that can mean either “passion” or “madness.”
As he sang, he would get on his knees in front of the fans at the edge of the stage to sing in their faces, or just leap about as if he were trying to shake off demons.
Concert review *
What was the turn out like?
y didnt i c dis thread before ![]()
Today was the last Deewar North American concert in Pittsburgh, Ive lost track, I think it was the 16th concert in North America this year... Way to go! Largest US tour so far for 'em. Next tour in April.
I also got time to talk to Sal and Ali in my kalamazoo gig about the new Junoon album, its underway, and its coming out in February.
Spock tell them to come to LA too.
Ill make sure the house is packed :D
PS: House of Blues on Sunset Strip would be a good venue.
Yeah, I hope they perform there again. The strange thing is, this was the biggest US tour by any Pakistani band/artist so far, but most of the concerts were in the mid west. If they do a show in LA, Ill be there!