Spock..hehehe its ok..ermm i don't know her..but i will find out..
yeah PakistaniTiger i was refering to the laughter..
Spock..hehehe its ok..ermm i don't know her..but i will find out..
yeah PakistaniTiger i was refering to the laughter..
I checked their site the other day. It doesn't say anything about LA anymore?!! Does this mean they are not gonna come here?
Also if there's anybody here in LA drop me a line. I dunno that many desi people around here and would like to meet more.
*Originally posted by waqas72: *
I checked their site the other day. It doesn't say anything about LA anymore?!! Does this mean they are not gonna come here?
Also if there's anybody here in LA drop me a line. I dunno that many desi people around here and would like to meet more.
I think it got cancelled or somethin...
do go to junoons concert...........there was one here in Jersey yesterday
it was awesome...........I had sooo much fun......Ali shaved his head.....he is hot!!!!!
*Originally posted by shoaib akhter: *
Hey.. Junoon concert New Jersey main bhi ho raha hai.. Friday - OCT 11, 2002. If u need more information on that plz PM me as soon as possible.
you were there??????
Question or Anees bhai, if you guys are going to the concert please do record it and put it on your ftp server so I can watch it.
Hey Crazy .. u were there too..??..
I was there.. i know. it was really really cool..
Ali is looking COOL ![]()
which one was You Crazy larki.??
I hope, u r not the girl who was looking totally crazy!!! ![]()
were u standing up or sitting!!!
i think, u probably saw me somewhere in there.. cuz. i was like every where.. i was dancing, making stupid sounds and wistling with a silver wistle.. also i was wearing a RED shirt and *red thing around my head… ![]()
I had a lot of fun there. i was cool..
Junoon aren’t coming to L.A ![]()
how did it go .. ? anyone coming to chicago one.. AliB?
Junoon rocked the house!!!
I just got finished with sending the band back to the airport, and will post pictures!!!
Junoon Rocks Kalamazoo MI
The Concert was just awesome! I have been to several Junoon concerts and met the band. But working with them backstage was just a whole new experience. Salman, Ali, Brian, Sherry, Ashique, Jay and Masoor all are magnificient people to work with!
Insha Allah Pictures coming soon.. This time with a different perspective... How things work behind the scene!
You lucky ...... :D
Article in Kalamzoo Gazette
All the different articles for the Kalamazoo concert will be posted here...
The first one is published today in the Kalamazoo Gazette
Junoon offers songs of peace
Wednesday, October 16, 2002
BY JEFF PLEGGE
SPECIAL TO THE GAZETTE
Fans dove toward the stage eluding frustrated security guards, races were intermingled and feelings of both tension and exuberance flooded the crowded concert hall. No, this was not a scene from Altamont in 1969 it was merely the highly anticipated arrival of Pakistani rock band Junoon on Tuesday night at Western Michigan University's Miller Auditorium.
Junoon, which has occasionally been deemed "the U2 of South Asia," took the stage before a crowd largely made up of members and supporters of the Pakistan Student Association.
After a rousing and highly patriotic slide show showing the wonders and elegance of Pakistan, the three-piece band, backed up by a thunderous drum and percussion section, emerged from the darkness and began what would be a two-hour celebration of pride, peace and unity.
As guitarist Slman Amad struck the first chord, scores of young Pakistanis erupted from their seats and barreled over the short wall that separated that audience from the stage. The small dance floor was soon swarming with motion and, by the third song, the band was nearly invisible among the waving arms and swirling dancers. These actions set the tone for what would become a wild and jubilant celebration of the Pakistani culture.
Junoon, which means "passion" in Urdu, is currently on a U.S. tour titled "Passion for Peace." The band is playing an integral role in showing that, despite recent hostilities between countries, Islam is a religion devoted to the ideal of peace and love, not hate.
Aided by the PSA, Junoon was able to deliver that message in full force.
The crowd responded to this message with unbridled enthusiasm and happiness. Hugs were given, smiles exchanged and a general feeling of happiness filled the auditorium. Rarely is such excitement seen with even the biggest of American bands. At times, audience members twirled in a careless whirl, oblivious to their surroundings and often ignoring the helpless pleas of the small stage security force.
As the music continued and more fans ran to the stage, anxiety flashed on the faces of security. Due to the hydraulic lifts beneath the dance floor, only a small number of fans could be allowed on it for fear that the stage would collapse under the weight. Despite increasingly heated warnings, fans continued to hop the barrier toward the stage and, at least once, a wily fan was wrestled back into his seat with a well-executed full-nelson. This caused moments of tension between fans and security. But all was well, as members of the PSA struggled to keep their colleagues at a respectable distance from the stage.
In spite of these occasional tensions, the overall performance was a show of good will and class. Although nearly all of the songs were performed in Urdu, more than one English-only speaker could feel the emotion, not through words, but through the dense array of soulful pop harmonies, traditional folk percussion and through the pure energy of Amad, vocalist Ali Azmat and bassist Brian O'Connell. This was a show of cultural celebration and unity, a proud culture rejoicing, with Junoon acting merely as the catalyst.
Between high-energy pop songs, Amad spoke to the crowd.
"Those of you who don't understand the language, these songs are about freedom, spiritual and philosophical freedom. The theme of Junoon, we try to liberate," he said.
The fans were indeed liberated, at least for the night. Junoon sounded like a unique mixture of Western rock and traditional South Asian music. This combination led to an altogether different sound than is usually heard pounding through the local airwaves. They could be introspective, spiritual or aggressive, but no matter what the mood, Junoon united a group of college kids through the most common of all languages Music.
CONCERT REVIEW
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Junoon has performed several times in LA and San Fransisco
That was quite entertaining eh? but if busharraf was present at that moment, please tell me how entertaining it would've been?
He isn’t from michigan.. he is from busharraf land. ![]()
Ukhalil, go away, youre ruining this thread... We dont want you here, carry out your taliban campaign somewhere else...
Sherrybaba on the news paper!
Our own Sherrybaba drove all the way from OH for this concert and I just wanted to let him know that he is on the Kalamazoo Gazette picture for the concert!
Sherrybaba! Nice to puta face on a name! Bas tumharay doston nay thora maslaa create kiya. I will scan the photo and put it on here!
Pictorial coming soon!
Lets start with one pic.. More will follow.. This photo was taken while dropping Junoon off at AZO.. Seriously guys.. The more I become closer to Junoon and their music.. The more I love them!
Salman, Ali, Brian, Jay Aashiq and Sherry are the greatest!
From left to right..
Aiman, Ali Azmat, Ali’Beta’, Aizaz, Salman Ahmad, Ali Haider, Jay, Spock and Brian
Brian has gained weight, hai ke nahin Ali!!!!
Ali Azmat is hot !!!!!!!! The tind kinda suits him