Jung Group

Jung group is alway playing with the dirt trick in their sleeves. they have been doing this for last fifty years. Today they have report that Justic Dogar is being made CEC I am sure even government does not knwo about it.

It seem Jung Group hate Pakistan as much as Pakistan Army and JI.

Re: Jung Group

Thats a pretty big accusation, I'd be nice if you back it up with some proof my friend.

if a media group is always vilified by the establishment/ruling party id say they're doing their job.

Pak media (like Pak politicians) is immature in general. Or perhaps us the members of the society encourage our media to play with the very stability of Pakistan.

In developed countries, media in general is "nationalist". They may make jokes about their Film actors etc, but they stop when it comes to their national institutions and the stability of their nation.

There could be many reasons but one particular aspect stands out. That our media is ready to milk Islam for its own benefit, even when it clearly is dangerous for the country.

I am not sure about CJ Dogar's new appointments, and it may not be that significant in the larger scheme of things. But there are plenty of other examples where our media acted irresponsibly.

Lal Masjid fiasco clearly showed that our media ended up making the burqa-wearing Mullahs as heros, while our army jawans were painted as aggressors.

Media freedom is seldom unlimited, and media should know how to support national stability.

Oh come on. The people of Pakistan are 100% behind this media. When something wrong is being done by the Govt, its the media's job to highlight the truth, and thats exactly what they do. They cant be little yes men and blindly praise the Govt while they sell out. Thats called yellow journalism, something that got uprooted thanks to the last 3-4 years.

Justice Dogar may become CEC after retirement

Monday, January 05, 2009
By Tariq Butt

ISLAMABAD: Supreme Court Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar is likely to be appointed the chief election commissioner (CEC) after his retirement in March this year. The incumbent CEC, Justice (retd) Qazi Mohammad Farooq, retires in mid-March after completing his three-year constitutionally mandated tenure.

“In spite of the deep lingering controversy over the unique jacking up of the FSc marks of her daughter by the Federal Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education, Justice Dogar is still hopeful that he would be made the CEC if, at all, his tenure as chief justice was not enhanced by three years,” a source told The News.

According to him, Justice Dogar has been hinted by the high-ups that he would be nominated as the next CEC as this appointment falls in the discretionary powers of President Asif Ali Zardari under the Constitution.

The source made it clear that there were not even slight chances of bowing the chief justice out before March 21, his retiring date on reaching the superannuating age of 65 years. He said that those who thought that the government would dump Justice Dogar during his present stay at the highest judicial office or even after retirement were sadly mistaken. “Thus far, the government has proved that it fully stands with the top judge,” the source pointed out.

Qazi Farooq was appointed the CEC on March 15, 2006 by the then President Pervez Musharraf. He had replaced Justice Dogar, who worked as the acting CEC for more than a year. Even before, Justice Dogar had gotten a long experience of working with the Election Commission as its member from Sindh because of his position of a judge of the Sindh High Court.

If Justice Dogar’s appointment materialised, he would be the second chief justice of Pakistan to become the CEC following his retirement after Justice Irshad Hassan Khan. About him, it was always sarcastically stated that Musharraf gave him three years to serve as the CEC in exchange for the three years that Justice Irshad had accorded to the military ruler while discarding the challenge to his unconstitutional Army takeover of October 1999 by presiding over an enlarged Supreme Court bench.

The source said that Justice Dogar met all the requirements and criterion laid down for the appointment to the office of the CEC. “There will be a chief election commissioner . . . who shall be appointed by the president in his discretion. No person shall be appointed as the commissioner unless he is, or has been, a judge of the Supreme Court or is, or has been, a judge of a high court, and is qualified . . . to be appointed a judge of the Supreme Court,” Article 213 of the Constitution says.

“The commissioner shall hold the office for a term of three years from the day he enters his office and the National Assembly may, by resolution, extend the term of the commissioner by a period not exceeding one year.”

Either that or they just like to tell the truth & you can't handle the truth. Jung Group has been in conflict with every govt since ZAB. I remember during NS era they were almost shut down on some phony tax case & Mushrraf knocked GEO off the air for almost 4 months last year.

Jung group now have one of the finest pool of investigating journalists like Hamid Mir, Ansaar Abbasi,Rauf Klasra and now government is jumping up and down when they unleash the hidden camera stories.

Come on guys, every one know Jang group always had hand in toppling & making governments. Its become so powerful that it can dictate its own policies, we already saw the trailer of this when Women Protection Bill was in parliament.

^ Again, just like the PTI thread, you are making baseless accusations here. Jang Group toppling Govts? They have every right to criticize the Government, and they are doing a fine job.

Did i said anything about criticizing government? I said they are so powerful to dictate their own policies for which we see the example when Women Protection bill came. Majority of population was against it, but coz of their influence of media power they turn it around.

In the western world or developed world this kind a tactics never accepted even by so called democratic governments. Even in USA media get dictation from Pentagon & Stage Department, can you deny it? So my friend Pakistan mein bi "media ko chitter parney chahyia aur koi rules & regulations honi chahyia".

I do not mind News paper use it influence to mold people opnion. What Jung Group do is put up stories that is out right lies. Take the stroies of CJ Dogar being appoint as CEC. PPP is political party I do not think that after march PPP would even invite Dogar to their drawing rooms.

Its called "Anti-Government Opposition-Favored" to save ass plus make money. No wonder they are one of biggest & richest group of Pakistan !

Please explain to me how news of appointment of Dogar as CEC after his retirement from CJ post is an "anti-government" news, thanks.

I am not saying it is anti-Government what I am saying it is out right lie.

Yeah, yeah, inaddition to X-files and men in black.

Thats give the govt a prove to go and sue the group, why govt is not doing so...

Its private media, and private property.

If you dont like what they're saying stop watching their channels and reading their papers. If you feel others must be saved and dont trust them to adopt your own good judgement, then start your own channel or newspaper.

If it is a lie then let them keep lying they'll lose their credibility and run out of business, don't you think? Or if you want to raise a voice against this lie then use your own media/channel to expose their lies.

changez Bhai, that is the basis problem in Pakistan. Their is so much talent out side Pakistan who is ready to back to Pakistan. Would you go and invest in Journalism? I am sure the answer is no. Can you name one news paper in Pakistan which has leaning toward left.