Journalist who published story of nexus between Navy and Taliban is missing/ murdered

Re: Journalist who published story of nexus between Navy and Taliban is missing/ murd

I am truly sad to hear of his death, where is Pakistan heading?

Re: Journalist who published story of nexus between Navy and Taliban is missing/ murd

Sad & tragic is the only way to describe it. Apparently, he was getting threats from ISI and he informed his friends that if anything ever happened to him the ISI would be responsible for it. Seems like he knew his killers.

Why ISI if they knew that his murder put blame on them?? an open target killing... shame on them if its true.

because they are law un to themselves, who can punish them? you? president? p.m.? who dares, shall get to understand very hard way.i.s.i. has been nurtured as small time criminal lords from hamid gul day,never had they shared responsibility like an agency of a responsible country. who so ever tries to control them or point a finger on them shall have to get dispatched like present journlist. it is more helpful for them because half of the population likes to blame others and foreign hand in everything right from the simple crime to bomb blasts. the same people who consider small time criminals as jehadi and holy warrior, even if they kill indiscriminately poor people of neighbour country , no doubt such mentality is bound to bring more calamity to these type of people who express happyness and rejoice in indiscriminate killing of innocent people.

Its truly sad and hurting to know that journalists are tortured and killed in such a away.

The other day i was reading a thread by someone in another forum saying that the journalists and tv anchors are against Pakistan, and they discuss and write on topics and issues that defames Pakistan, its military, its intelligence and its government, the gentleman was calling the journalists agents of other countries...

Now my question is, that what are the journalists supposed to do? hide the truth? or reveal the truth along with the facts, analysis and circumstances behind it. This is what happens to them when they try to reveal the truth only to let the people know whats going on within their country and in return what they get is death sentence. I have never really understood the actual role of the intelligence agencies... what exactly are they supposed to do? To protect the country with their brilliant intelligence and spying techniques, or to weaken the country by being uninformed or about the terrorist activities and whereabouts...? so confused!

In to a big big Mess ..... u reap what u sow

ISI faces more heat after journalist’s killing
By Reuters
Published: June 1, 2011

ISLAMABAD: Speculation that the ISI had a hand in the death of prominent journalist Saleem Shahzad has further discredited the organisation already facing one of its worst crises after the killing of Osama bin Laden on Pakistani soil.

Saleem Shahzad, who worked for Hong-Kong based Asia Times Online and Italian news agency Adnkronos International, disappeared from Islamabad on Sunday and his body was found in a canal with what police said were torture marks.

Suspicions immediately fell on the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) agency, bringing more bad publicity after the killing of bin Laden by US special forces near the capital.
The raid, which Pakistan failed to detect or stop, shattered the myth that the agency is omnipotent.

**“The ISI’s image had already been tarnished and it is under so much pressure,” said a former ISI officer.

“It’s never been as bad as this before.”**

**Shahzad was investigating suspected links between the military and al Qaeda. Human Rights Watch said Shahzad, a 40-year-old father of three, had voiced concerns about his safety after receiving threatening telephone calls from the ISI and was under surveillance since 2010.
ISI officials were not available for comment.

Analysts have not ruled out the possibility that he may have been killed by militants. Shahzad often wrote about al Qaeda and other groups.

‘Pushed to the wall’

Reporters say Shahzad’s death raises troubling questions about freedoms in Pakistan, which receives billions in aid from ally Washington and describes itself is a democracy.
“It means we are being pushed to the wall and losing space to tyranny if the ISI carried this out,” said Umar Cheema, a journalist who knows all about the risks of investigating Pakistan’s security establishment.

Last year, he was picked up by suspected intelligence agents, driven to an unknown location, stripped naked and whipped with leather and a wooden rod, he said.

“Pakistan is my beloved country. But nobody is safe in Pakistan. I live in what I call self-imposed house arrest because I am scared to go out,” said Cheema.

Shahzad was killed after he wrote a story that claimed al Qaeda attacked a naval base in Karachi last month after negotiations with the military to release two naval officials accused of militant links broke down.

That assault further humiliated the Pakistani military. Some believe that with its loss of credibility after the Bin Laden fiasco, and the naval base siege, the ISI may come under more public scrutiny for its apparent failure to tackle militancy and ease suicide bombings.

**“Fewer people believe that the ISI is this powerful agency. People will start asking tougher questions,” said Rifaat Hussain, head of the Department of Defence and Strategic Studies at Quaid-i-Azam University in Islamabad.

“They may be more willing to ask why the ISI is tapping the telephones of the opposition when it should be providing more security for the country.”

But equally likely is that journalists will think twice about writing hard-hitting stories after Shahzad’s death.**

Others have died in similar circumstances in Pakistan, the world’s most dangerous country for journalists, according to Reporters Without Borders.

“It is a death. The death of expression,” said Matiullah Jan, a correspondent with Dawn News television. “There is an apprehension in certain quarters that it’s meant to send a shut-up message.”

bhai ye kisne kehdia? casualties are far higher than reported even in 'free' press, forget cnn n fox.

[INDENT][INDENT]ISI denies role in journalist’s killing

KARACHI: Pakistan’s main intelligence agency issued a rare media statement on Wednesday to deny it was behind the abduction and killing of a journalist who was investigating terrorism.

The Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) agency also threatened legal action against media outlets that were reporting speculation the spy agency was somehow linked to the slaying of Syed Saleem Shahzad.

His body was found on Tuesday showing signs of torture. He was buried on Wednesday.

The ISI statement, in the form of a story carried by the state-owned Associated Press of Pakistan, quoted an unidentified intelligence official.

“It is regrettable that some sections of the media have taken upon themselves to use the incident for targeting and maligning the ISI,” the official was quoted as saying. The agency’s operatives occasionally brief journalists, but do not normally release information through APP.

[/INDENT][/INDENT]It clearly looks a desperate attempt by ISI to come out in open and deflect some of the heat it is facing. Has it started to feel answerable to the nation? We don't now yet.

Dont really know what to believe. It's hard to believe that Pakistan security agencies would be wasting time going after journalists when they have other more important issues at hand. I wonder if this is an attempt to demoralise the public further and lower the credibility of our defense agencies in our eyes. Divide and conquer? Other side of the coin people?

I am talking about the armed forces, as contractors know the risks they take for the $$$.

Who knows if our security forces also need a reset like our political clan to get their heads out of their rear and practically move to the reality of 2011?

We still do not have any solid proof on the point that ISI may have done it ...

We must realize that today's war element doesnt involve direct attacks anymore ... its more like attack the organs of the body one by one .. derails them , make them fail .. so much so that when its time to kill the country , no resistance comes from within ...

Thats what is happening to us and our country ... THEY want us to hate our armed forces , point fingers at our intelligence services, consider the system a failure and what not ...

In a nutshell , it is still armed forces and our intelligence services who will come to a common man's aid when we are under attack ... our intelligence officers and armed forces have to live in Pakistan , they wouldnt want to kill pakistan ... so they cant be working against the country .... or would they??????

also please note , ISI is a strong agency , why would it play kachi goli's by killing a journalist knowin that the blame will go on ISI ??? doesnt make sense ... ISI or armed forces may feel the embarassment that they are being infilterated by Taliban terrorists , but that still doesnt make a convincing ground to go about openly killing people ... I still believe Taliban and Al Qaida and those forces working against the integrity of Pakistan , are the ones who will beneft the most by killing those who give away their chuppi huwi identities ....

And those who say its the armed forces or ISI , what solid proof do you have ? and if you do , then you as citizens of the country have responsibility to lodge a formal complaint against the departments/people you think are involved in this crime ... if you dont have proof to stand by , then no point in constantly insisting that intelligence services did this or that ...

President of APNS, Hameed Haroon, on ISI’s denial:

President of APNS confirms that Saleem Shahzad’s emails were not ‘baseless’

A leading newspaper publisher in Pakistan and the president of the nationwide newspapers body has reacted sharply to charges by the Inter Services`Intelligence Agency (ISI) that allegations by Human Rights Watch of the intelligence agency’s involvement in the abduction and murder of Pakistani journalist Salim Shahzad were “baseless” .

I wish to state on record that the e mail in the possession of Mr Ali Dayan, the monitor for Human Rights Watch (HRW) stationed in ,Lahore Pakistan, is indeed one of the three identical E mails sent by Mr Shahzad to HRW , his employers (Asia Times Online) and to his former employer, myself . I also wish to verify that allegations levied by HRW at the Inter services Intelligence (ISI) are essentially in complete consonance with the contents of the slain journalists E mail “

Although I also am more inclined to believe that this is an ISI hit job, however, I seem to think that there is about 50% chance that the US is behind this as well. The objective for them is simple. To create more frustration against the current setup and to further the CIA's claim that Pakistan is almost a failed state. (forgot where they left off, did they say it is a failed state or is heading towards failure?)

Well said. Bravo!

I don't want to sound a pessimist but do you think Pakistan was a 'successful' country 20 years ago? 15 years ago? We have been on decline in 70s, every passing day/month/year.

Really? Is that where they lived in 1970/1971? Did they live in same Pakistan when hundreds of Pakistanis just vanished into thin air? They don't "live" in Pakistan until they "retire", even then they don't have to live with "bloody civilians".

Exactly for the same reason so people would think "threat emails were already out, why would ISI really do it"

Solid proof? Do we have "solid" proof against any of the politicians we call corrupt day in and day out?

captaan sahab, you make perfect response! thank you!

chicken biryani, civilians die left and right by army bullets, please keep up with news. unless pahari, villagers and poor are not considered civilians then ok. defense walay to martay nahi to army k lye taalyan, shabash.

That is what they get paid to do, but this does not seems like its their primary goal these days.

Yes you are right the iraq war was a fiasco for the Americans about 4700 NATO soldiers were killed there whereas 2500 have been killed in afghanistan. 219 have been killed in afghanistan in the first five months of 2011 as compared to 220 in the corresponding period last year.