Joining Pak Army

Re: Joining Pak Army

http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/7636/pmsikhcadet8jr.jpg

mara mamo army ma han or un ka juzbaya hubul watni itna hai ka bacho ko urdu bolni nahi ati din bhar wo tv par indians films dakhtay han or amerca ki tareef ma zameen asman ak karta han is ka ilawa mazhab sa ilkul dur ho chuka han (mukhtarasan ya k admi jub tak choti kursu par betha hota hai tub tak us ki neyatsaf hoti hai jasa hi us ka rank badta hai niyat ma ftoor a jata hai)

It is very good to join army as an officer, apart from better pay and other benefits, people in the army get plots in DHA (10 million) and a house in Askari of same rate and often a commercial plot too. After retirement they get pension and other jobs in military commercial empire with handsome salary with fringe benefits. In other words if your are recruited in army " panchon unglian ghee main aor sir karhai main" :D

Pretty lame.
A job in the army is a 24 hour a day, 7 day a week job. Even on vacations, you are on call, and can be called back any time, which happens quite frequently. So if they get better pay, its because they work better. Look at the motorway police, and why they are better than your regular thanedars.

People in the army dont GET a plot in DHA. They BUY it, though at a discounted rate.
They dont GET a house in Askari. They BUY it, though at a discounted rate.
After retirement, they get jobs, because they are more disciplined, honest, well trained, and nicely qualified.

Now, how is this different from Wapda colonies, and Railway colonies, and GORs? Civilian departments cannot maintain order within their housing authorities, which is why their values are not nearly as high as those in DHA and askari.

For the original post, please learn to differentiate between 1 or 2 generals, and rest of the army, which consists of more than half a million officers and soldiers. If you are let down by the army, dont lump all hard working, selfless soldiers with the select few, who have used the force of the army for personal gains.
That is the same logic people use for leaving Pakistan, and never wanting to go back. Just because our politicians are corrupt and inept, doesnt mean that all hope is lost.

^ the 24/7 mentioned above is simply a hoax and the "toughness" of the job is just that they have to be up at 7 in the morning. Thats it !! just plain punctuality and nothing else. On the other hand, if you try to measure how productive they are, you would be laughing out loud.

What's not to like? no fighting, no worries, you get nice pay check, 3-4 plots by the time you are colonel and a nice 2 crore finished house with all the fittings done right to the shower knobs when you retired hopefully as a brigadier. And in the lifetime of the career, the bonus is to harass civilians all around you whenever you damn please. Plus, you don't have to pay a dime for telephone, electricity or gas bills, your kids get admitted in good schools and colleges and eventually universities at quarter the price and at quarter the merit level. Moreover, you get to play two innings. That is, when you retire, you will not only get your pension check every month, but you will likely be re-employed in some national organization.

^^ Oh and the "discounted rate" mentioned above is around 2 lakhs for getting a 1 kanal double-storey finished house worth 2.5 crores.

Seriously, whats not to like ?

so you wont accept any Govt job then either? (federal, provincial and city govt) right?

most of the contractors (thaikedars) who get contracts from Govt are corrupt, so you wont work at their place either

list goes on and on.

and secondly, you can not put aside the jazba. Thats first thing that get people associated with Army.

Its a hoax for a civilian who has never set foot inside a cantonment. Midnight patrols, route marches, round the clock defense exercises are routine matters. You are talking about a select few who have cushy posts in GHQ, but other than the COAS, VCOAS and JCSC, all other GHQ appointees get posted out as well, to hard areas like Siachen, Pannu Aqil, Sibbi, Pishin, Gwadar, Sui, Waziristan, you name it. In all these places, you are on your toes 24 hours a day. Try it.

What's not to like? no fighting, no worries, you get nice pay check, 3-4 plots by the time you are colonel and a nice 2 crore finished house with all the fittings done right to the shower knobs when you retired hopefully as a brigadier.

Like I mentioned before, in case you missed it, the guidelines are pretty straightforward, which are parallel to what exist in civilian departments. If you do not know the details, please dont post bogus stuff.

Lt. Col and below are allotted one 10 marla plot, and one 10 marla house.
Cols. and Brigs and up are allotted one 20 marla plot, and one 20 marla house. I dont know what Generals get.
The cost of both (plots and houses) is fixed by the Defense housing directorate, which is paid by all of the officers out of their salaries. It is not free! *Their cost is jacked up by the civilians afterwards who run to them like leeches in order to snap up these houses and plots, because they know that these areas have a good reputation, good security, with neat and disciplined people living there. *

And in the lifetime of the career, the bonus is to harass civilians all around you whenever you damn please.

Couldnt come up with anything worthwhile?

Plus, you don't have to pay a dime for telephone, electricity or gas bills,

Where are you getting your information from? Banana news?
Soldiers and NCOs dont pay bills, as they live in barracks. JCOs and Officers are billed by Wapda, PTCL and Sui Gas at the same rate as everyone else, and their supply gets cut off on non payment as well. Load shedding is as common in military units as is in your homes.

your kids get admitted in good schools and colleges and eventually universities at quarter the price and at quarter the merit level.

Military kids only have quotas in the Army Public School System and Garrison Academy System, which is their right. Other than that, they do not get any extra marks for being the son of a Major while applying to LUMS, nor do they get any discount in fees.

Moreover, you get to play two innings. That is, when you retire, you will not only get your pension check every month, but you will likely be re-employed in some national organization.

Per capita, they are far more qualified, and disciplined than their civilian counterparts. You must have seen ads of many civilian organizations specifically looking for retired army officers/soldiers. There is a reason for that.

^^ Oh and the "discounted rate" mentioned above is around 2 lakhs for getting a 1 kanal double-storey finished house worth 2.5 crores.

Stop spreading misinformation. It sounds rubbish from the get go.
A 10 marla house currently costs almost 50 lacs to an officer. And civilians gladly come up and buy these houses from them for 70 or 80 lacs.
A 1 kanal house currently costs almost 1 crore to an officer, and civilians happily leech it off of them for upto 1.5 crores.
It is these leeches who are reselling these houses at the 2.5 crore price that you speak of. Please get your facts straight.

*Its a hoax for a civilian who has never set foot inside a cantonment. Midnight patrols, route marches, round the clock defense exercises are routine matters. You are talking about a select few who have cushy posts in GHQ, but other than the COAS, VCOAS and JCSC, all other GHQ appointees get posted out as well, to hard areas like Siachen, Pannu Aqil, Sibbi, Pishin, Gwadar, Sui, Waziristan, you name it. In all these places, you are on your toes 24 hours a day. Try it. *

Please tell me which major or colonel carries out midnight patrol? I've been to pishin, it is a peaceful and quiet place with almost zero crime rate. Whats so "hard" about being posted there? the only guys who have to do the hard work are the sipahis and thats it.

*Lt. Col and below are allotted one 10 marla plot, and one 10 marla house.
Cols. and Brigs and up are allotted one 20 marla plot, and one 20 marla house. I dont know what Generals get.
The cost of both (plots and houses) is fixed by the Defense housing directorate, which is paid by all of the officers out of their salaries. It is not free! *Their cost is jacked up by the civilians afterwards who run to them like leeches in order to snap up these houses and plots, because they know that these areas have a good reputation, good security, with neat and disciplined people living there. *

The fact that you use the word "leeches" for civilians tells a lot about the typical mindset that people like you have. Don't forget that these same leeches earn money by working and pay taxes which makes up the bloated salaries of "civilized" officers like you.

there are people making far greater contributions to pakistan who DON'T get a plot.

Military kids only have quotas in the Army Public School System and Garrison Academy System, which is their right. Other than that, they do not get any extra marks for being the son of a Major while applying to LUMS, nor do they get any discount in fees.
Are you really gonna tell me that military kids DON'T have quotas in institutions like NUST and I am talking about a quota of thousands not hundreds? And are you gonna tell me that they DON'T have to pay a quarter of fees than civilians.

Per capita, they are far more qualified, and disciplined than their civilian counterparts. You must have seen ads of many civilian organizations specifically looking for retired army officers/soldiers. There is a reason for that.

you are kidding right? If not then, please read Dr. Qadeer's views on the "qualifications" of people like musharraf.

I think you are taking the discussion to a wrong side. My point is that the most luxurious job ensuring that you become rich is to get a job in army. If you have any argument against THAT, then please continue, otherwise I don't have time for meaningless banter.

Oh and of course, there are amazing, competent and brilliant people in army as well like in any other institution.

Please tell me which major or colonel carries out midnight patrol? I've been to pishin, it is a peaceful and quiet place with almost zero crime rate. Whats so "hard" about being posted there? the only guys who have to do the hard work are the sipahis and thats it.

Each company is commanded by officers, and wherever there is a soldier on duty, you can rest assured there will be some officer commanding him as well. Its a matter of chain of command. In times of strain, like in Waziristan, or Kashmir border, officers are fully in charge, aware and alert along with soldiers. Pishin is a remote area, and civilian life may be peaceful and quiet, but not military life.

The fact that you use the word "leeches" for civilians tells a lot about the typical mindset that people like you have. Don't forget that these same leeches earn money by working and pay taxes which makes up the bloated salaries of "civilized" officers like you.
there are people making far greater contributions to pakistan who DON'T get a plot.

I am a civilian myself. As far as taxes are concerned, army officers pay taxes as well. As for military salaries, they are set by the civilian govt, not army. Army officers, JCOs and NCOs are paid based on the BPS of the government. Do read up before assuming that army lives and works under a different set of rules.
As for the leeches comment, it is so true, because civilian real estate agents routinely lap up these houses and plots at rates higher than normal, only to resell them at exorbitant prices, making it sound like army officers are getting million dollar houses and plots for peanuts.

Are you really gonna tell me that military kids DON'T have quotas in institutions like NUST and I am talking about a quota of thousands not hundreds? And are you gonna tell me that they DON'T have to pay a quarter of fees than civilians.

You need to read up before you argue. NUST leases campus facilities from several military institutions (PNS Jauhar, Naval Engineering College, EME college, Army college of Signals, Army Medical College, College of Aeronautical Engineering, and many more ) and all military cadets qualifying for NUST get educated for free from these institutions, and all children of military employees get educated at a discount, because hello, they belong to the military!
And as far as I remember, the total number of seats for all disciplines in NUST is no more than a few thousand, so I dont know how they are able to accommodate the 'thousands' of military kids on quota basis, and still take in thousands more civilians.

you are kidding right? If not then, please read Dr. Qadeer's views on the "qualifications" of people like musharraf.

Dr. Qadeer? Is this the same guy who sold out our nuke plans to seedy buyers for big bucks? No thanks.

As for the direction of the discussion, it does matter, if people start blindly attacking an institution that is clearly the cleanest and least dysfunctional in Pakistan. If all people can do is blame army for making decent salaries, and having decent lives. then blame the motorway police as well. Blame all well paid workers in Pakistan.

Civilian governments have had billions of more money than the army could ever have. Yet they have done nothing but destroy the institutions they ran. For now, there is no comparison. Good people exist every where, but pound for pound, armed forces are the most balanced in Pakistan.

^ NUST is a mixed plate, as you have rightly pointed out most of the students are cadets (hence their education is free plus they get paid for doing the degree), and then there are civilians who pay full fees, there might be some people who come in between who are civilians but children of army men. I am not sure how much discount they get or how many seats are reserved for them. There is nothing wrong in this, go to any government university and there are reserved seats. In the university where I studied there used to be seats for the teachers’ children.

According to Wikpedia, there are 24 seats for paying cadets in Military College of Signals. And these cadets have to work in the army for three years after graduation.

Yep, quite hard playing bingo at the club.

^ lolz. I think the "hardest" part of their jobs as claimed above is to arrive early and thats it. No real contribution. Just good with timings.

@Silaaj I am keeping the nasty stuff out of the discussion, but if you are so convinced of your views, please write a book responding to Ayesaha Siddiqa's book.

But this isn’t answer of the question I asked or I am missing something??

i thought you were asking about sikh in pak army? :konfused:

no I was asking pay of Havildar in army of Pakistan, not about sikh soldier or officer in the Pakistani army:)

Come on lads, this is not fair. An army officer’s job isn’t exactly a bed of roses.

And Silaaj, I thought I said “an organization that is lead by corrupt generals” , I didn’t say the entire organization was corrupt. And why are some people saying that I’m telling everyone to abandon Pakistan? Hadh hai yar, post 15 mein kya likha tha maine, was it that ambiguous? :naraz:

I applied for the army 2 years back and couldn't get in. Was really bummed. I wanted to get in for two reasons, one because of the benefits and secondly because I wanted to serve the country and I fit the preliminary criteria they needed and I had a chance so I decided to go with it.

Secondly the ones who are talking about NUST schools here, let me tell you as someone whose a civilian and studying there that the Military has quota in NUST schools because more than half the funding we get is from the Government and Army, whether it's our projects or sending us for international conferences and seminars. We have students from the Army in bachelors level with a equal ratio between civilians and cadets. We have GC's and PC's who come from PMA and are bound to serve the army after they graduate. I don't think there's anything wrong with educating your officers to serve better.

You nanni si jaan applied for the army?! :hayaa:

Yes I did!!

And I applied for the Air Force too. But that’s a whole different story because I CLEARED every single test and still couldn’t make it for this intake. =(

I have first hand experience of close family and friends 'serving' in the army. Those in Medical and Engineering corps do have things to do. Those in infantry, formations and stuff, not much.

The benefits, are much better compared to what they have to do and highly skewed towards officers. The soldiers don't get much, that's given. Silaaj (who is supposedly defending the perks they get) in post #27 has already mentioned the plots and houses given to the officers. Which other government service provides that? Do doctors, teachers, engineers, etc working for government get land in prime locations? Do they get subsidies on utilities, rent, education of children, medical expenses, subsidized travel on rail and air, domestic help (this benefit has recently been reduced), club memberships, etc.?

About the claims of military using its own resources.... ummmmmm... where do those resources come from? Either land grabbed from government property or our taxes. Is military producing its own resources? Who funds fauji foundation? Find me example of any military from any country that is running a housing scheme as large as DHA? Things get very messy if you dig deeper and we better keep that out of discussion.