Jinns invade our campuses!

if true and no reason why not, this is a very sad state of education affairs and that too at our most elite campuses. this is as alarming as it gets. what is the hope for pakistan when such nonsense is prevailing in our best education institutes, some examples:

The head of the biology department, in an email to the entire Lums faculty, excitedly claimed that reciting or listening to certain holy verses “can control genes and metabolites” and suggested that specially equipped audio-visual rooms be made in hospitals to treat terminally ill patients. Astgarfullah

Last week, a workshop titled ‘Jinns and Black Magic’ was organised in Islamabad by the department of humanities at the COMSATS Institute of Technology (CIIT), one of Pakistan’s largest universities.

The Institute for Business Management (Karachi), for example, organised a meeting on ‘The last moments of a man’. The poster showed the grayed hulk of a man slouching through a graveyard. Students (again a full auditorium, I’m told) were given graphic glimpses into life in the next world. The source of this information, probably secretly SMS’ed from inside the grave, was not revealed by the speaker.

Jinns invade campuses - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

Re: Jinns invade our campuses!

and interesting comment from an indian reader on this artcile....looks like our whole region is plagued by superstitious attitude questioning scientific principles.

Ajay Parghi
*about 8 hours ago

• There is a similar regressive argument going on in India accusing the westerners of stealing technology from hindu mythology! Rational educated academicians like the author should join cause with Indian rationalists to prevent a return to the dark ages in the subcontinent.Ancient mythology be it hindu islamic or greek can be equally harmful to enlightenment and progress*

I thought it was the Chinese students all named Jinn.

This would be funny if it was not so sad.

What lies next is to be seen. Perhaps CIIT could go for creating a jinn-based telecommunications network. Another promising direction could be radar-evading jinn-powered cruise missiles. Jinn chemistry, a research subject activated in the Ziaul Haq era, could be another growth point. CIIT could also pursue a proposal from the 1970s, initiated by a senior director of the Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission, to replace fossil and nuclear fuels with jinn power.

I can help them to get those jinns out of the campus, but it will cost them...for LUMS it is after all discounts it would be Rupees One Hundred Thousand per hour...it may take me 2 weeks to perform my "Amal". If not successful then have to do it for 40 days..
And yes, one black goat, which have right horn bigger then left shall be sacrificed daily.

Waiting for reply,

(All money to be paid in advance)

What

Someone is still sour at LUMS. :smiley:

but his reference to LUMS in this article seems legitimate or otherwise LUMS can sue him easily…what kind of university is LUMS where the head of biology is such an idiot :smack: and not only he is an idiot himself, he is suggesting to spread his idiocy as well…

How can u call him an idiot, he is decent and civilized guy, we is providing an opportunity and if u can help me crack the deal with ĹUMS i ll pay u 2% commission.

Think about it

lol..you wont believe it but i actually thought about it....to help you strike a deal with idiots at LUMS and get a commission from you...but 2%...give me a break.

Ok, lets make it 2.5%...
its lots of money...

"Perhaps to underscore its determination to shift away from Western science, last month Lums ousted Pakistan’s most highly regarded and respected mathematical physicist from his tenured position. Fortunately, he loses nothing since Harvard, Princeton, or MIT (from where he received his PhD) will welcome him with open arms"

Any idea who this is?

^ He is an atheist. He can easily get job in a foreign university but it seems he wants to preach atheism here.
mausoof tableegh k maqsad se han.

Most of the scientists are open minded about paranormal existence. But this fascist wants pakistan believe his atheism not what most of the scientists thinks.

forget what his religious inclincation is....pls tell us if you support all of the things hoodbhoy mentioned in the article such as reciting or listening to certain holy verses “can control genes and metabolites” and suggested that specially equipped audio-visual rooms be made in hospitals to treat terminally ill patients.

You have raised very difficult question. In a society, where due to lack of health facilities, people get used to visit pirs for 'dum kia pani' for diseases as severe as cancer, hepatitis,etc this is a very difficult ( and in a way rude) question.

I was recently reading a book 'God's Philosophers: How the Medieval World Laid the Foundations of Modern Science' and there is a whole chapter on why people in 13th century Europe, preferred local healers and witch doctors for their health issues. It was all about lack of health facilities and affordability.

You will find people quoting 'waza'if' that reading this verse or that name of Allah (this much time after every namaz) will bring solution to problem. The punchline 'khuda ke naam aur kalaam main barkat hai' can't be denied. But no one want to visit or try to ask references for such wazaif from original sources like Quran or Hadeeth. I mean its okay if you are advised to recite 'Ma'oozatein' or 'Ayat ul Kursi' for getting refuge of evil things. But while we got voluminous literature on Tibb e Nabvi, I never came across with authentic sources (ahadees and quran verses) where verses were suggested for healing purposes.

i think it is a slightly different topic. Asking allah for help in trouble, doing some wazifas, tasbeehs, reading quran's certain verses are all absolutely fine but using them to avoid scientific research and to inculcate them in young students mind as a viable alternative to research is indeed a very different topic.

I see nothing wrong in discussing *jinn *in educational institution. We should analyse scientifically if there is some truth in these claims. We should give every scope for discussion on such things with logic and rationale. Earlier we would pray and offer sacrifices before deities for rain but now we study scientifically the phenomena of *mansoon *now we have explanation how rain occurs. We heard some people were able in sending messages through brainwaves ie telepathy now we are studying telepathy and working on brainwaves, got some results and findings. We are studying principles of healing, whether sound of certain verses have some healing effect on patients at the same time we must not ignore logic and scientific tests, experiments based on facts and data. We should strive to investigate and test every things which is believed for so long in order to see if there is some truth and if not we can show that this is a false claim. We proved that earth revolves around sun. My point is to develop scientific temper. Recently in India, there was a science conference to see indigenous development in science and to see if there is something new for R&D but unfortunately some scholars took this as an opportunity to glorify ancient text. So my opinion is to provide scope for investigation and development at the same time uphold scientific techniques and principles.

I think the holy verses are to provide moral or mental strength as human beings are guided by emotions. Some poets wrote motivational sher for instance Dr. Allama Muhammad Iqbal wrote "khudi ko kar buland itna ke har taqdir se pahle, khuda bande se khud poochhe bata teri raza kya hai" Dr. Rahat Indori wrote " bahut naaz hai dariya ko apne hone par, jo meri pyaas se uljhe toh dhazziya udd jayein". So I think holy verses do the same thing. Again this is what I think and not based on any data and fact or any scientific analysis.