JI’s Terrorist Wing; IJT

An innocent young Adnan student, of final year in University of Engineer & Technology Peshawar was beaten very brutally by 150 Trained Terrorist Students of Islami Jamiat-e- Talba, (IJT) an old offshoot of Jamaat Islam and was killed by those beasts. He was in ICU for one week, for he was in coma, for he was struck on head by some special instrument which created a straight crack and which was skull deep.
He died yesterday day (20/03/2010). Apart from his own loss of life, what will be his family conditions that can be asked from the deceased’s bereaved family? This is why I call Jamatees as giant termites for our religion, homeland and region. They are Jews of our country; they kill their opponents very brutally on petty issues. I know this Satanic Cult from very close proximity, and thus I feel no doubt whatever I say against them, for I am eye witness of their barbarity. Please also pray for the departed soul of the innocent Adnan and for the patience of his family to put up with the tragedy. Jamatees are the first in Pakistan history like Cain in the world history in killings, terrorism against their co-religion, co-region, and co-fellow.

Re: JI’s Terrorist Wing; IJT

IJT is a bunch of thugs, they shot one of our family friends and my sister's classmate at dow from point blank range. the ijt goon put his foot on the neck of this guy and shot him in the head, he was in coma for a few days and then passed away.

There are too many stories of these thugs causing harassment on campuses, I have not been to Pakistan in ages so dont know the situation now, but 80s and 90s, in karachi atleast, these guys were a lanat a scrouge a curse..and the fact that they had blessings of ppl like qazi and fazal of JI made it even worse

R.I.P that student.

IJT has also disturbed the peace of Karachi University from years. During my whole time in the university, this was the most problematic student political party. They had fights with all these parties: ISO (Imamia Student Organization), PSA (Punjabi Student Association), APMSO (All Pakistan Muttahida Student Organization), PSF (Peoples Student Federation), PukSF (Pukhtoon Student Federation).. and now please don't tell me all those student organizations were wrong and IJT was right.. I fully agree with the views of Abisafyan

sufi bhai u forgot NSf, or was it before your time? I think NSF was big in 80s and maybe early 90s and then with the rise of ethnic parties NSF just kinda phased out

I dunno about that party.. may be they are old.. I've recently completed my masters from KU and spent 4 years and all those phaddas I witnessed in this time period. It was only jamaatis who had problems with each and every other organization.

yar X2 and others

"Jamati" aik kaifyat ka naam hay (state of mind)
anyone can be a Jamati on any given day
once they find cures for HIV and cancer etc., I am sure they will find a cure for this as well

^^ James bhai… spot on :k:

J for Jamaatii, J for Jazbati and Jhil as well.. one of the most pathetically jazbati individuals I have seen… I wont say that APMSO ones were any saints. but these Jazbati Jamaatis were no good, even though they portray themselves to be a Islamic Party…

My Dad told me that these were the guys who actually brought real weapons in the universities in the 70’s, prior to that the only weapons used in universities were baton(lathi), glass bottles , hockeys or at the extreme knives. They actually brought pistols and guns to the universities.

This article mentions the student killed by IJT as described by th OP. His crime was playing music in his hostel room. Sickening indeed.

DAWN.COM | Local | Regaining cultural space

Mullah mentality is a curse and specially when it has political dimensions as well.

You name it, be it IJT, MSF, PSF, or any other combination of alphabets, they are almost the same, more the power, more they are violent...

The member of these so-called students political parties are nothing more than a tool to create disturbance by the political parties at when and where basis. Knowing IJT and MSF very well, i must say that, the poltical parites, groups and other things like these should be permanently banned from the educational institutes... in last 60 years we have not got a single leader from this practice (yes we got many notorious goons and dead bodies), moreover, the members of these organizations are (most of the time) are not even the regular students ( let the word bright stay out of the debate)..

Political parties are using educational institutes for their benefit and as we all know, they ( political parties) are least interested in any development of Pakistan, so they are trying their best and have succeeded as well to pollute the educational institutes with their garbage theories...

Ajju, u beat me to it, i was going to post the same article :aj:.
Adnan was beaten to death because** he was listenning to music** in his room!! A few weeks ago the IJT thugs also separated female and male students in punjab uni.'s cafe!! They also demanded that a wall be made so that female and male students dont mingle together.

So true!

Let's not forget the terrorist wing of MQM either. These are all Goondas.

It is such a shame that our country's education budget is so low, and then we have these goondas sucking the life blood out of the limited education resources.

It is time that we overhaul our education institutions. There is no way we can ever end the goonda gardi by the political parties. There is no way they will reform by themselves. Why would they let go of so called "parhay likhay bay-waqoof" terrorists that are always willing to defend the fatso politikos from people's piss party, Jhahalit e Islamist party, the Non-Muslim league, and the Mohajiron Qi Moat party.

These politicians are messing up our FUTURE, the educational institutions in the country.

The government owned colleges and unis are being destroyed under the stranglehold of terrorists.

Although we do see that when students pay for their education, they don't go for the terrorism as the terrorists wings are almost non-existent in private universities.

May be one should privatize the unis and colleges,

And if someone is worried about students from poor background, then give the scholarships for the amount that government is spending per student in the government colleges and unis.

but only if they maintain certain grade point and show some ikhliqiat to be in the college.

Down with the goondas and terrorists

Dawn editorial on this.

**The closure of the University of Peshawar and all the educational institutions situated on the campus ought to be taken as a serious warning about the manner in which the country’s youth is splitting along ideological, ethnic and other faultlines. **
The closure was announced on Friday after violence broke out following the death of a student, Adnan Abdul Qadir, who died after being severely beaten by members of the Islami Jamiat Talaba. Upon hearing of Qadir’s death, members of the Pakhtun Students Federation and the Bannu Students Federation launched protests against the IJT which, unsurprisingly, turned violent and ended with protesters smashing their way into the rooms of the students nominated in the case and damaging university property.
Such loss of control on the part of supposedly educated university students is certainly a cause for concern. But more shocking is the reason why Qadir was attacked: he had been playing music inside his hostel room. The case is indicative not only of the manner in which increasingly extremist rightwing groups are consolidating their self-appointed position as ‘guardians’ of their peers’ morality, but also of the general citizenry’s frustration with this state of affairs. It does not help that in such incidents of harassment, the state and other authorities are seen as doing little. Cases of intimidation, both minor and severe, on university campuses across the country are common, after all. And the IJT has over the decades emerged as a powerful and increasingly violent rightwing body operating in this sphere.
If measures are not taken to arrest this trend, it could spell disaster for the future. Arguably, Qadir’s peers would not have resorted to such unbridled rage had they had the confidence that his assailants would be brought to book. The police charged nine IJT students for the initial assault, and reportedly a murder case has also been registered after Qadir’s death. All the persons nominated are absconding, though; if justice is not served, this will be taken as further evidence that citizens have no method other than violent agitation of airing their resentment against intimidation and harassment.

DAWN.COM | Editorial | Campus intimidation

[FONT=Times New Roman]Pakistan’s educational institutes produced several eminent political leaders, who got their first training from colleges or universities and still student unions playing their role in nurturing young generation for the future. But at the same time some students unions playing dubious role, as they are driving young generation towards extremism, the clear example is Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT), what they are doing in Punjab University is dreadful. Once again, the Islami Jamiat Talaba (IJT) is in the news for all the wrong reasons. Their list of offenses is long and exhaustive, and their thug-like hold over the Punjab University (PU) has devastated this once premier institution.
[FONT=Times New Roman] In increasingly intolerant societies such as ours, educational institutes hold the only remaining vestiges of liberal culture and reform. With a mafia like the IJT virtually reigning over the campus, all efforts at producing an enlightened, contemporary generation of professionals bites the dust. However, the PU administration has yet to do anything substantial about this state-within-a-state situation. we must now acknowledge that as a nation reaping the misery of fundamentalism, it is now unacceptable to endorse or even overlook the IJT and their mafia rule. From beating up students whose only crime is talking to the opposite gender, opposing recreational activities and maliciously countering every attempt at progress and modernization, the IJT is a medieval throwback. It is time the PU authorities and the government cracked down on an organization that is as radically motivated as the very Taliban who are bombing us to kingdom come.

I was opposer of privatization of educaitonal institutes back in 90s but i see that there is less violance and no political garbage and right students in the campus, LUMS, FC ( after being privatized) are prime example of the same, FC used to be the one of the strong hold of IJT but not anymore ( as far as i know)

The govt should permanently ban these student-terror-program, the media should play vital role in bringing awareness about this poison....

IJT badmashs asked for my and my first cousin's ID card to make sure last names of our fathers are same and warned me about the consequences beforehand. Our crime? we were eating kabab roll in Karachi University after submitting her admission form at admin building. I being the student of CS department, knew all the places/office so she asked for help and I accompanied her. I saw 2 other no-so-lucky guys getting a beating for the crime of sitting with "na mehram" girl.

and that was pretty their everyday business ! (1994-1997). I consider them no less badmash/ghunda than APMSO, PSF, PPSF, PukSF, PSA and others .... may be even more as they try to disguise with their "islamic outfit"

So true!

You are not alone bhai.

Many people with gentle souls and kind hearts felt that private education would be bad, as it will put the poor students out of colleges and universities.

However what we should do is to divide up the total funds given to a government college / uni with the number of students (lets say 3 lakh Rs per year per student).

Then we can give 3 lakh rs / year as a scholarship to every student who gets on to merit,

and then maintains good grades and good behavior.

Anyone who slacks off, or gets in trouble with police (like getting caught carrying an AK-47) should lose 3 lakh for that year.

So this way there is some accountability on part of the student and he/she knows that

Education is not FIREEE,
but
the nation is paying him/her as a scholarship from its hard earned money in the national exchequer.

It may work in future, but similar bans have not worked even when enacted by the big name military rulers.

The reason is that students themselves have to change.

And they will only change when they know that they are paying from their pocket or they are getting a merit scholarship.

If they no longer are a merit student, then the scholarship will go away and some other deserving student will get the money.

Hope this explains why it is important to privatize the unis and colleges while replaced government funding for the unis to scholarships for the students.

Well said!

Which particular leaders are you referring to?

And which unions played the "nurturing" role? If possible please add the college campus or the union name or both.

Thank you.

How harsh it may sound but you have nailed it right, its not only govt's responsibility, students have to change, if they know they'll loose something and/or they are paying from their pockets to study then yes there are more chances of change in the approach and behaviour..