So is jhappi a punjabi-only term? In which case, what’s the urdu version? Lipattna? Now that definitely sounds gay, so I’ll leave that to Matsui and Thappo. :french:
Lipattna is cuddling.
I'd say the urdu word for it is 'gallay lagna'
Ok so I could be wrong, maybe jhappi isn't a punjabi-only word?!
no in urdu we call it GALAY MILNA
I don’t like the sound of galay milna either. I think we should incorporate jhappi into the urdu language. All in favour say aye.
aye :k:
True Xtreme, galay lagana sounds so motherly! Jhappi has a casual sound to it, ideal for use for a friendly hug.
The difference between gora people's jhaphi and desi one is that with goras it's a gesture and with us it's an expression. Our jhaphis are very warm and affectionate and there is nothing sexual about it. With goras, it comes with the underlying mentality that two males should not express too much warmth with physical closure.
Roman bhai is right. For goras it's a gesture of love, in Pakistani culture it's a gesture of friendship or acquaintance but is also used to express love.
U ignorant people:o in urdu jhappi is Mua’anqa:yukh: (sorry gallay maiN Qaaf phans gayaa thaa
)
ﻪﻘﻧ ﺎﻌﻣ
Nothing wrong with two guys hugging.
If I saw a male friend or relative after a long time we would have a good old manly hug.
Who gives a rats ass about what goray think???
Unn ki society meiN sex hee sab kuch hai. AngrezouN ke apney demaagh gand se bharrey hotay heiN aur woh yeh samajhtay heiN ke sab loag unnheiN ki tarhaaN aesay dirty minded hein… they can’t understand brotherly love…
Everyone here does it, both BBCD’s and FOB’s, especially at Eid when if we see someone who we don’t know that well we still hug each other, goray give us strange looks but who gives a f… about them? If they have a problem with it they can jahaaN se niklay heiN wapis wahaaN ghuss jaeiN…
Hey Saif-ul-Islam, look at your signature and mind your lingo please. You should have a certain level of respect for even gasp non-Muslims.
sadzz i'm offended! How can you think taira maira about me? :(
Re: Jhappi Paana
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
I'm talking about guys here, and I know it's a bit risky what with all the homo talk flying around but what the hell. I met an old friend from uni recently who has moved away. Hadn't seen him for so long I just gave him a big ol' hug and it's like the most natural thing in the world. Now if a gora witnessed all that they'd get some pretty weird ideas.
And what will te goras say about the groom hugging EVERY bashar available after nikah....!! Poor dulha!!
jhappi paana i think is very sweet and it just comes naturally...i have seen some arab men, and they not just hug each other, but they also kiss each other on their cheeks, in our culture too when we meet an elder lady or aunt or cousin or a friend after a long time we always hug and kiss on cheeks...i think all these actions are very sweet and a sincere and warm expression of feelings...such a nice part of our warm eastern culture..
Jhappi pana, I like it but it should be a light embarace not that tight ' ja main nahen chadaan ga/ge' whereby u end up feeling all suffocated and feel the other person's sweat on your clothes.
Its all good if one is in the land of the pure. I mean one never feels or entertains any such wierd thoughts but once you know that there is another connotation to it too ( the pont when u r masoom no more :( ) then even one feels a bit hesitant irrespective of whether its ur lovely young cousin or that six foot handsome dude no matter whether he is younger than you.
Xtreme might have talked abt guys here but in my experience I felt a change in my attitude after I was exposed to all such information and saw it with my eyes. I did not appreciate my cousins advances, I mean we are pretty much huggy kissi bunch of people YET I felt wierd for the first time in my life and ran away from her whenever she would try to hug or kiss me.
Re: Re: Jhappi Paana
*Originally posted by gooni_2000: *
And what will te goras say about the groom hugging EVERY bashar available after nikah....!! Poor dulha!!
Yeah, now that's a different thing. It's not spontaneous but obligation and customary. More of an ordeal than affection.
Anyway, was browsing through KK and came across this picture and it's quite topical. Hockey's not my game but this looks like a good clinch, plus it's celebrating a spanking of India so has to be worth a mention.
[thumb=D]hockeyhug.JPG[/thumb]
The Indian guy looks more disappointed than Matsui on a vacation in China.
Re: Re: Re: Jhappi Paana
Yeah that's a good one..!!