I am sorry if this kind of thread already exists, i couldn’t find one. I want some guidance on gold jewellery. I don’t know a thing. What is kundan jewellry? Is it pure gold? Whats the difference between kundan jewellery and gold jewellery??
Re: Jewellery dilemma
Kundan jewellery can be made of refined gold but this is not necessary so don't be fooled. Just like any other design, you can find kundan design in costume jewellery as well.
What exactly is kundan jewellery? i mean if someone suggests you to have a kundan jewellery set on the wedding, should i go for it?
I’m no expert on jewellery…but if someone suggested that to me I would think that they are talking about the design of the set.
They are suggesting that I select something like this:
rather than like this:
See the difference?
Now whether or not they are suggesting you buy “real kundan” where the gems are set in pure gold or costume jewellery is entirely another thing…
i love kundan jewelry …white on white with maybe only gold …![]()
dont buy kundan jewelry i know it looks beautiful i was and still a fan of it ,it looks so tradational but my jeweller says its not a good sauda as in future if u plan to resale it it wont be advantageous all in all kundan doesnt have a good resale value so either go for polki cut or another style ...
I have heard the same about resale value of kundan.....mainly because the "lac" (hardened state of tree sap) used to fill the gold reduces its value.
Again.....please confirm all of this before you make a decision.
apparently this guy sells kundan jewellery online.
Nice but its in Khi
oh u said he sells online, i didnt see
i'm not sure if he ships abroad and also have never tried him. It's best to never wear jewellry online unless it's from a recognized brand.
Mariam Sikander’s work takes my breath away but she only ships within Pakistan and Dubai as well.
i'm not sure if he ships abroad and also have never tried him. It's best to never wear jewellry online unless it's from a recognized brand.
his designs r good but indian copied those r not original designs, but the real problem is the purity of kundan, 2 number mall bhi buhat hota hai milawat wala. and i agree with u regarding online purchase, peechlay dino mein tanishq ka diamond pendant lena chah raha tha, internet par research ki tu puray pakistan mein aik hi outlet mili, Khi mein Clifton mein, it wasn't actually outlet, he was importer.
I still don't understand what kundan is. Is it just a *style *of jewellery? Can someone post pics of the different styles of jewellery to make it clearer? I have no idea.
I remember I went to a jewellers and saw a set that looked similar to the one Muzna posted and asked if this is kundun - the lady said yeah, and so is this style - and she bought out some random looking thing that didn't resemble the set I was looking at at all. So yeah, I'm still really confused what kundan actually is....
I still don't understand what kundan is. Is it just a *style *of jewellery? Can someone post pics of the different styles of jewellery to make it clearer? I have no idea.
I remember I went to a jewellers and saw a set that looked similar to the one Muzna posted and asked if this is kundun - the lady said yeah, and so is this style - and she bought out some random looking thing that didn't resemble the set I was looking at at all. So yeah, I'm still really confused what kundan actually is....
its not a style, Kundan Jewelry is another blend of gold jewelry. highly refined gold (Pure Gold)
Ok, just to be clear, kundan is actually a way in which the gemstones are set. So when you hear terms like kundan polki, that means that polki (uncut diamond) stones are set in a kundan setting. Kundan I believe uses a gold base in which the stones are set into, like the one's Muzna posted.
Also the resale value for such sets isn't great, so not good if you're looking for a good investment. Even then, I personally would still go for a kundan set - they look gorgeous on traditional brides...
I am sorry if this kind of thread already exists, i couldn't find one. I want some guidance on gold jewellery. I don't know a thing. What is kundan jewellry? Is it pure gold? Whats the difference between kundan jewellery and gold jewellery??
I have read replies here and would like to post what I know. One term is used for two things. The kundan term was traditionally used for pure gold with no blends of any other metal. Pure yellow gold is 24 karats but most of the jewelry is made with 22karats gold and impurities are added so that gold becomes solid. If you are getting some ready made stuff that can be as low quality as 18karat gold. The reason impurities are added is to increase the melting point of the jewelry. That type of gold can be resold for the original price of gold. Generally all gold jewelry and all gold plated jewelry has the outer most coat in kundan.
There is another term called Kundan Jewelry. The base metal for that type of jewelry can be silver, gold, platinum or any thing else. Its the style in which diamonds or in case of artificial jewelry crystals are cut to make the jewelry (As some of the members have already posted the pictures). Their resell value could be really low.
Hope it helps.
There is another term called Kundan Jewelry. The base metal for that type of jewelry can be silver, gold, platinum or any thing else. Its the style in which diamonds or in case of artificial jewelry crystals are cut to make the jewelry (As some of the members have already posted the pictures). Their resell value could be really low.
Hope it helps.
thanks for the insight Eastern Dresses. So, as i understand if someone has to wear kundan it is best to buy artificial kundan as the resale value is very low of kundan sets made in gold.
And if someone is buying from an investment point of view, gold sets ( non kundan design) should be bought.
thanks for the insight Eastern Dresses. So, as i understand if someone has to wear kundan it is best to buy artificial kundan as the resale value is very low of kundan sets made in gold.
And if someone is buying from an investment point of view, gold sets ( non kundan design) should be bought.
You got that right =)