Jealous mother in laws

Hi

As soon as I start slimming and get into shape my mother in law puts cakes and biscuits in front of me as she knows that is my weakness.

Yet she is a health freak and is very particular about what she eats.

And I hate this, as I can’t be rude and reject the food she puts in front of me, then she always says girls need to be chubby so they look like mothers.

She can be really jealous and spiteful. How do I overcome this as now I feel like I can’t truly lose weight as she will make sure of that.

AAARRggghh

Re: Jealous mother in laws

My MIL says “bass ab tum kabhi slim nahi ho sakti”. I think she’s the best motivator in the world. After meeting her I really get the motivation for my work out.

lol next time she serves u all this…make sure u ask her if she ate…and if she says no..then say “aayein mein aapko apnay haathon sey khilaati hoon” :yahoo:

i don't have MIl and FIL i wish i could have both with me :(

well you can join some slimming center or when your Mil serves you biscuits and cake just have one or two bites don't eat much :D

Just tell her you have been told you have diabetes - its very believable as most Pakistanis become diabetic.

Alternatively, you could just say no! But clearly you are a bit on the weak side...so Plan A (deception) might be your only saviour

Count yourself lucky!

Is she quite educated? Tell her that if you eat too many sweets you can't get pregnant and give birth to nice, big, healthy boys.

Let's see how quickly she stops tempting you.

:omg: keep the issues coming girl …love to read every single non-issue … oops i mean issue :slight_smile:

im sorry, but how does this correlate into her being jealous. maybe she is worried your too thin now. see, we dont know your weight. maybe you are not eating thats why your slimmer. could be a million reasons. and if your own mother feeds you cakes, would you think oh shes jealous of me thats why, noooo.

mrsshy, thats true. same does my 65 year old mother and bhabhi. as soon as they see I start walking and doing exercises, they put deserts, kababs and all that obese stuff. They get jealous of me as her own 4 kids have gown up. My mother fully supports her becuase she is my khala's daughter too. They caused my divorce as well because my wife was an outsider with full backup of my sisters (family politics). my own mother does black magic on me.....she is talking revenge from my 75 year old father nowadays by creating fasad in whole family. being youngest my father loves me.

Guy's always obey your fathers and give them happiness.

I TELL YOU WAT ANNOYS ME

when an aunty jee either knows/suspects/assumes your dieting just because she sees an apple in your hand. and then feeds you cakes and choccies and says kaa lo, kuch nahi hota and im thinking kyun, normally kya hota hai....

i dont see how this is ur mother in laws fault to be honest... how is she going to make sure u dont lose any weight? shes hardly pinning u to the sofa and shoving cakes down ur throat. u have said urself that biscuits and cakes are ur weakness so either say NO and speak up or just take a biscuit and snap it in half and nibble on it if she really is insisting and u feel u cant say no.

OMG its a very serious problem…:rolleyes:

No offense,but really…???

You are the one creating an issue. Not your MIL. Seriously, this is so pathetic.

Mehnaz if this is so pathetic then why did u bring yourself to joining into the pathetic post, just mind your own business.

Nadz123 i would not have mentioned the issue ‘jealousy’ if there wasnt other reasons behind it…for why my mother in law does this. I am not underweight, my mother in law is obsessed with keeping fit and dieting, and now that she is looking a bit healthier she wants to make sure her daughter in laws don’t look slimmer than her. Nway I am not having a *****ing session about my mother in law so i dont need to write and back myself up with other examples.

And yes she is educated, and god forbid I am not going to say I am diabetic. And i already have a son so I cant say I can’t have kids.

Nway I am with child these days so niot dieting :cb:
But I am thinking ahead of wot to do with my body and dieting once my child comes.

You guys made me laugh and I am glad I made u laugh and others made me :mad: but its all good. life goes on…

I do say no but she’s very persuasive. When she invites us for dinner, she makes us parathay then makes herself roti with no butter and doesn’t give the choice of what we can eat.

mustanamalik - I am very sorry to hear your sad sorry, its heartbreaking when a marriage ends, u should have fought for your wife. May allah give u subr, and u keep faith and pray for your mother that she changes her ways and tell her to remember the hereafter.

She cares for you, she thinks its good for u ,so she does it....Mummies often think once a gal gets married she must gain some weight/should look chubby.
You ask her politely to stop doing that n ask her to give you fruits instead:)Make her learn abt "junk" thiny n all.If she really cares, she will definately understand.There's always a solution(im not saying it necessarily is a solution to ur pro sis)

Mods please create a poll with question

My SAAS is:

1) good
2) OK
3) bad
4) worst
5) My sphygmomanometer just broke after reading the word SAAS

option 1 is there just for the sake of it. Looking at the posts at GS, I dont see anyone choosing that option!

If you don't think you should eat that stuff, then avoid eating them. It's a matter of your own self-control really. If she is doing it out of jealousy (like you say), then eventually she will get the hint that you will not eat it no matter what and would stop.

Definition of INLAWS:
"A group of unwanted people"