Javed Miandad - GEO TV

Re: Javed Miandad - GEO TV

Yaar dhobi bhai lagta hai tum kapray khoob dil liga ke dhotay ho gay. Kya lambi lambi post martay ho wo bhi dhobi jhatka de kay.

Wow at dhobi_bhai’s post. Man you know stuff…thanks for your effort, really appreciate it. :k:

Thank you to both for providing your valuable contributions in Cricketnama with your priceless service of continuous video streams of different matches as well as constructing insightful and intuitive posts throughout on various ocassions. Makes it for a very nice stay for all of us. :)

One other thing which completely slipped my mind that I do like to add is, one of the stand-out things that Javed mentioned in his entire interview was the fact, he indicated, a team should look at and access the situation(s) in a more closely manner not only in losing streaks, but most importantly of them all, in winning combinations! We have this usual habit of brushing up our victories under the carpet as soon as the last wicket is taken, and do the victory dance everytime the boys are joyous, but very few instances do we see that a call is made for an immediate last-minute meeting, while everyone is invited and the entire management sit together in a round-table conference and further analyze on the tactics that were used in the match, the field placings, batting orders that (still) require some mental support from the captain, and things of that nature, because as per the theory (and what Javed's lengthy analysis also present) is that looking at your decisions that you took on-the-field on a winning day are far more precious when the conquest is set on stage, coupled with a trophy and that magnificient check. Only then, and only then, is when a team is able to come back much more strongly at the opposition next time around, with a greater amount of fierce raw power and a hunger to set things straight at that point in time.

Points like these played very minor part in the overall presentation. I wish Yahya would have discussed this particular instance in depth.

Dhobi for coach. Great stuff man :k:

The most hilarious moment in the current test match was when Manjrekar asked Chappell who he thought was the better captain, Jayawardene or Inzi? Chappell’s response: “It’s a no contest, Jayawardene is by far the better captain and he has only been doing it for four games.”

Regarding Javed'c comments: I hold him in the highest regard possibe as a player with never-say-die attitude. He was a very hard-working coach too. He invented new ways to teach our players how to counter extra bounce and movement by bowling to them standing on a chair. Yes its a desi way but it was a nice effort. He was totally commited to job and was passionate about it.

But listening to him on GEO puts me off. He likes to take credit for every good thing currently in Pakistani team and blames the coach, captain, PCB for negatives in the team. For example, he takes credit for the development of Yasir Hameed, Shahid Afridi and co and blames coach for the failures of the likes of Mohammad Sami etc. Afridi's best years in international cricket came under Woolmer. So why would he take credit for that? Mohammad Sami has been around since a while now, he was as inconsistent under Miandad as he is now, why blame Bob then?

He claims that unified and spirited impressions of the team are not as strong as one percieve it to be. I would like to ask him the number of fractions in the team when he was the coach. He was a good hardworking coach but there were numerous complaints regarding him never appreciating a player's good performance and instead coming down hard in case of a failure. His pure stubbornness against use of technology was a big turn off. Yes he has a master brain but other lesser mortals do not have that luxury and they might be required to analyze their mistakes rather than miandad yelling at them cursing left, right and center.

I dont like the shuffling of opening pair myself (who does) but did Javed solve it when he was there? Did he stick with two openers for three consecutive matches in case of a failure? Answer is big fat NO!!! He praises Aamir Sohail sitting with him in the program for the brave selectorial decisions aamir took. But what happened when both were at the loggerheads and demanded each other's removal? Did it not completely screw up the team spirit?

To me, both are working on a one-point agenda (i.e. only negative criticism) I dont hear much praise from them when we win and it is really sad. If you want to analyze, dont concentrate on negative analysis only. Whats more annoying that host of the progam is totally clueless about cricket and he is only concerned about sucking up to both of them. His face turns red when a caller asks a daring question to miandad and Sohail.

p.s Nice post dhobi.

Both Saby Bhai and Dhob_Bhai have hit the nail on its head. Agree with both of you and can't say more as you have covered them.