jang callls junoon as “biggest band of asia” in today newspaper on page 6…we should all proud to be junoonis..this is a slap on faces of anti junoonies
junoon rulz
man whats the big deal
its good for them..i just dont enjoy their music but who cares bout that either? some will like them and some wont
janooni = jazbaati ?
good for Junoon…
now was this really necessary? ![]()
Dude, time to look up the definition of "bigot", k? Calm the hell down.
wow, jang used to be so much against Junoon! Kher, its obvious. Junoon is the biggest band of Asia, no doubt about it (jang can stick that), nothing even comes close in terms of fan following, popularity, brilliance in music, and success. And yeah, in these few months, all the Junoon bashers have dissapeared, after some of the new kids on the blocks started making cheesy videos and some split up after one song; fans have realized it takes alot to be there standing there for a decade, and still making top sales in the country.
RT sahi kaha bilkul.
Junoon might be the biggest band of Asia. Great musicians indeed, from an ignorant and emotional nation. tsk tsk tsk......
*Originally posted by Spock: *
wow, jang used to be so much against Junoon! Kher, its obvious. Junoon is the biggest band of Asia, no doubt about it (jang can stick that), nothing even comes close in terms of fan following, popularity, brilliance in music, and success. And yeah, in these few months, all the Junoon bashers have dissapeared, after some of the new kids on the blocks started making cheesy videos and some split up after one song; fans have realized it takes alot to be there standing there for a decade, and still making top sales in the country.
I agree spock with the sales and popularity. But will you agree that the Deewar album is no where near to Junoon's first three brilliant and wild albums. Junoon's music back then was like 10 years ahead of its time. Not many ppl liked it, but Junoon made ways into the heart of Pakistani pop listeners and developed the taste for rock music. They are indeed the pioneer of rock in Pakistan and will be ranked right beside VS as the greatest band from Pak. I am in love of Junoon's music since its very first album, we used to bang our heads back in 90-91 on Junoon's raw music when soppy songs lovers were addicted of VS and Ali Haider type music. (I like VS as much as I like Junoon). However, Junoon were not same or I would say I didn't like their Sufi stuff at all. They waisted their 5-6 years of their peak in that crap. Having said that masses accepted Junoon because of their then NEW wave of spritual rock genre. But in my personal opinion it was a sudden change to get popularity among oridinary Pakistaniz. And they were successful in this too, not only teenagers but everyone start noticing Junoon because of Awami stuff.
Regarding Deewar, its all sounds techno to me. Junoon has become a Metal band rather than Rock. The album sucks at sound engineering and druming big time. They could have done a lot better. They need Mikhaal Hassan type buddy for technical expertise. Deewar sounds like they recorded in a basement somewhere in Newyork.
Correction, some people online didnt like it, and most of them were mainly Noori fans, those in Karachi, Lahore etc loved it, which explains why it had the fastest sales in Pakistan music history. I personally love the album, alot more than their previous work. Tracks like Ghoom Tanna, Tara Jalla, Sapney, Barish and Deewar are too good to be contained in just one album. And these critics are the same ones that predicted the fall of junoon after inquilab, azadi etc
They say junoon sold out when they turned sufi when they did that, and now when they release a non-sufi album, they are saying the opposite thing. They just need want to criticize the band, no matter what. Salman even once told me that these are the same people that were spreading rumours of the band splitting up two years back.
Well if you dont like the sufi stuff, what do you like? Their non-sufi stuff includes deewar which you dont like? They didnt waste their peak years, Azadi, their first true Sufi Album had soaring sales and established them as the best band in Asia. Did you see the success it had in India? You said compared to their first three albums, this one was nothing? That proves to me you dont know much about their albums. The fisrt one, even Junoon admits it had just two hits songs, otherwise they wouldnt have made another album.
If songs like Tara Jalla and Ghoom Tanna are recorded in basements, then please, shut down all the recording studios and everyone should move to basements. ![]()
Another thing, most of you come up with explanations on deewar. There is more to the band, it has big international tours abroad, and they play their best stuff, songs from ‘Junoon 1, inquialab, azadi, parvaz, deewar’ etc. Its not like they have let go of their old stuff. If you witness ‘Sayein’ live, you will know what I am talking about. As for VS, yeah they started it in a time when Pak music was at an all time low, but they werent this big or original ever. Plus, they never showed the dedication that Junoon showed, which explains what happened between them in such a short time, and the way they parted terms. If all goes well, Noori shall become the second best Pakistani band of all time, pretty soon. As for this article, why do you guys have such a hard time admitting Junoon is the best band of Asia, their biggest critic, aka The News just said so.
^ How many hours have you wasted trying to tell people what to think? Calm the hell down.
whoz aamer:confused:
i saw junoon on geo and ali azmat and salman ahmed threw their hat aur kehtay hain " aamer ko deydein.. please aamer ko deydein "
is it zerocool or sumone else we knw on forums:konfused:
juss curious
and congratzz for being biggest band:D
*Originally posted by RT Wolf: *
^ How many hours have you wasted trying to tell people what to think? Calm the hell down.
RT Wolf, you have a problem if I state my views? I am not replying to you, but smooth guy, and theres nothing offensive in my post. If you still have a problem, take it up with the admin alright, and dont think you run this place alright?
Zerocool is Talha, not Aamir.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
RT Wolf, you have a problem if I state my views? I am not replying to you, but smooth guy, and theres nothing offensive in my post. If you still have a problem, take it up with the admin alright, and dont think you run this place alright?
I have a slight problem with watching a fellow human being trying to, as I said, tell others what to think. As far as not replying to me, you're posting in a public board. It's like shouting a secret into a party and being upset that people heard. I know I'm not admin, and I know I don't run this place, but, as a member of this board, I can express my views as well. I also have no plans to take it up with admin, because, frankly, I don't care about you doggedly persueing the idea that Junoon is the alpha and omega of all music and to believe otherwise is a crime, or at least a gross error which must be corrected immediately. Live and let live mate, and I know that I'm breaking what I just said by saying that, but every human being has a limit. On that note, I'm also not posting on this matter again, it seems overly childish and reminiscent of when I was younger and got into arguements with my fellows about who's father is stronger. Calm the hell down.
*Originally posted by RT Wolf: *
I have a slight problem with watching a fellow human being trying to, as I said, tell others what to think. As far as not replying to me, you're posting in a public board. It's like shouting a secret into a party and being upset that people heard. I know I'm not admin, and I know I don't run this place, but, as a member of this board, I can express my views as well. I also have no plans to take it up with admin, because, frankly, I don't care about you doggedly persueing the idea that Junoon is the alpha and omega of all music and to believe otherwise is a crime, or at least a gross error which must be corrected immediately. Live and let live mate, and I know that I'm breaking what I just said by saying that, but every human being has a limit. On that note, I'm also not posting on this matter again, it seems overly childish and reminiscent of when I was younger and got into arguements with my fellows about who's father is stronger. Calm the hell down.
RT wolf, this is a discussion board, I can discuss whatever I want, and did your fellow human being smooth guy object to my post? Now, if you have nothing meaningful to add than 'calm the hell down' to me, I suggest you shut up, alright?
wohi murghi ki ek taang....
70% of all discussion on ShorSharaaba is...Junoon sucks..Junoon rocks...Junoon sucks...Junoon rocks
Umm... this is so immature.
This reminds me of when i was 13 and our class would split into 2 groups: Awaz lovers and Vital Signs lovers.
Please grow up..
I dont mind carrying out a discussion, but if some fruitcake gets personal and asks me to shut up, then yeah, I have a problem. Same happened in the other thread too, they cant bear us talking about our band. This thread is about Junoon, not VS. VS is dead.
^yaar janoon na ho gaya..bachi ho gaya..marr mittay jaa rahay ho :)
*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
^yaar janoon na ho gaya..bachi ho gaya..marr mittay jaa rahay ho :)
haha, junoon ki khatir yeh ho raha hai tu think about bachi ki khatir kya ho ga?
Spock, thnx for the reply. As far as sound is concerned, Deewar (tital song) and several other songs including Tara Jala are not upto Junoon’s standard. Anyone can tell the difference from Salman’s earlier productions that its not the same quality. Heavy use of Keyboard and digital precussion snatches away the rock spirit of Junoon. They sound more like a metal band.
BTW, I like Ghoom Tana. Its different composition and very touchy.
Tere Mere Sapne is also a very good number. It has original Junoon’s soul.
As for what I like is the original raw and wild rock that Junoon stormed Pakistan with.
Talaash,
Khoi khoi aankhein
Husn walon
Neend aati nahi
Chori chori
Jogia
Mera Mahi
Meine Kabhi
Heeray
Woh
These were the best of that time. Can you compare them with any of Deewar’s track??? you are calling Deewar much better than these classics. I don’t think so. Having said that I respect your opinion and choice, but the early day music was way better than the last two. Parvaaz was a total crap. I would listen to it twice and will keep it in the shelves. Same is happening with Deewar. However I still listen to the above mentioned songs and never get annoyed.
And yes, Sufi stuff is what took Junoon to the top (and its still on top). But how many songs do they play from that era in live performances. Not more than 2.
P.S: Those who think that I am Junoon basher or something like that, check my posts in Noori, VS and other threads. Discussing goods or bads of your favourite band/artist doesn’t harm. Its just to share your own perspective with other fans of the same band/artist. I just post whatever I like and don’t like of my fav band. Junoon is no exception. I think I have attended more Junoon’s concert than any other artist, even Abrar.