^ yeah i thought HSY too when i saw it... i think the fabric is probably silk jamavar for the bottom, and plain silk for the top. and the fabric is really the "shaan" of the outfit cos theres not that much kaam on it- just on the borders, the base of the lehenga and the kameez (as far as i can tell anyway). the rest of the lehenga or dupatta don't seem to have much. i think the thing too is the wearer of the outfit is a stunning girl- she carries it off with such grace. and she looks to be fairly tall. as much as i love this outfit, i know i wouldn't be able to manage with such a long train. but i still want it :p
^ yeah i agree completely about the girl - she’s beautiful, tall AND slim so she can totally pull it off… i wonder if it would still look as good on a shorter bride whose also a little more ‘healthy’ (to use pakistani language - uff how i hate that word when they really mean fat!!)
AND how would this look as a gharara (assuming this is a sharara and a gharara is still two legged but a lot more gher)? or is this already a gharara - i still don’t get the difference!!! it’s been brought up before but then everybody has a different definition and i get even more confused!
I am really loving the combo though (possibly for valima hmm :)) and then you can have a nice green set with it - which can go with so many other outfits… Your set was green right SGC - do you find you get to wear it a lot?
^ i married a gora, hon, and our desi social circle is sort of small and the ones we know are already married and on to babies, so social ocassions that call for dressing up are rather limited. we also live in toronto and i have little family here so i didn't go through the rounds of after-shaadi daawat's that girls in pakistan go through.
i don't think i'll wear that set again until my bro or my cousins get married and i pull out my shaadi lehenga. since its a very classic hyderabadi piece and one that my nani gave to my mom on her wedding day, i'll hold on to it anyway! :)
and yes, this peach outfit is a gharara. you can tell because its split in two, i.e. like really wide legged pants, and because the gote is at/slightly above her knees. if the gote was lower, at mid-calf point, it would have been a farshi gharara.
a lehenga or sharara will only have one leg, i.e. be like a skirt.
SGC - it sucks that you don't get to wear desi outfits and get all dressed up too much.... but i still say don't wait till your bro wedding to wear that set! at least wear the earrings! i think it's so nice that it was passed down from your grand ma - i wish we had something like that in our family.....
so back to our dilemna - so what you said, bride2b, makes sense about touching farsh = farshi gharara .... so then girls what is the difference between a lengha and sharara if they are both one legged?
and also about gote placements, i think i kinda of like it at the knees b/c if it's lower it makes you look short no? if it hits at the knees when you sit - it looks really pretty and you can see the kaam more. If it's too high, when you sit down it's on your thighs so you can't really see it in pics (unless you're standing of course)
SGC - it sucks that you don't get to wear desi outfits and get all dressed up too much.... but i still say don't wait till your bro wedding to wear that set! at least wear the earrings! i think it's so nice that it was passed down from your grand ma - i wish we had something like that in our family.....
so back to our dilemna - so what you said, bride2b, makes sense about touching farsh = farshi gharara .... so then girls what is the difference between a lengha and sharara if they are both one legged?
and also about gote placements, i think i kinda of like it at the knees b/c if it's lower it makes you look short no? if it hits at the knees when you sit - it looks really pretty and you can see the kaam more. If it's too high, when you sit down it's on your thighs so you can't really see it in pics (unless you're standing of course)
Also, what's in now in terms of gote placement?
sharara is two legs, no chunnat. like bell bottoms almost. or wide pants.
gote optional.
gharara is two legs, with chunnat.
gote mandatory.
lehenga is a skirt.
farshi in mei sei kuch bhi ho sakta hai. farshi is what trails and has a big gher.
gote from what i saw couple of mths ago are at the knee or slightly lower.
royal blue is a nice color..but looks out of place here..red and royal blue are strong colors..i dont think they should be paired up like that..too much contrast..Red goes nice with turquoise,olive green, or other pastels. I would play around with swatches and put them up against my skin…its easier to decide that way.