Is Jamali’s resignation good for Pakistan?
- Yes
- No
Discuss as well.
(Requested by Zakk)
Is Jamali’s resignation good for Pakistan?
Discuss as well.
(Requested by Zakk)
well i dont think that it makes a difference...there's no democracy in pakistan, and this step only vindicates that stance...
NO. because it betrays the puppet master democracy imposed by our dictator. takes away what little we had to protect ourselves from global attention.. something that these days is a very dangerous thing.
if we cannot have democracy, we need as much realism in the simulation as possible. this doesnt help.
Mushkil sai government nai thora bohot kaam karna shuru kiya tha aur ab ye… ![]()
yeah… but umer bhia… i heard the new guy who is probably gonna be out next PM is way better than jamali..he is our financed minister and did a great job..(sorry if i am wrong) because one thing for sure…jamali didnt do much for the country… ab tak jitna bhi hum ne taraqqi ki it was all because of musharaf…
i really hope the new guy would turn out to be outstanding… if not that good atleast not less the jamali ![]()
Bad bad bad. Jamali was a puppet, but the manner he was removed is shameful. Under a parliamentary form of govt, the cabinet and parliament are sovereign. But here the GHQ/Presidency establishment were playing puppet master.
In addition, I have serious concerns about installing a person with US citizenship (Shaukat) as PM.
he is a US citizen??/ thats strange… then how can he remain as Pakistani citizen… i am sure we have a rule that only paki citizen can be on the giv ![]()
If it would have been for political expediency, then people might not have questioned it. But he shouldn't have been removed like that. As for Shaukat Aziz, being the finance minister is no gurantee that he would be able to deliver and knows the art of realpolitik.
Anyone else amused by the fact that in this debacle of democracy the Prime Minister is already announced even before he even ran for the job? ![]()
Sadly in Pakistan, it doesen't matter whether the Prime Minister is good , smart , intelligent or not. The problem is whether the army chief is good or not. Whether it is shauat aziz or sartaj aziz, they are just puppets since on earth musharraf has been given power on the land called pakistan.
No
Nahin, Nahin aur phir Nahin. Is sab dramey sey siraf sab ko yeh maaloom hota hai key asal hakumat musharraf key qaaboo mein hain. Pakistan mein siraf jiss kee lathee uss kee bhains key mutabiq hakumat ho rahee hai :(
Someone was telling me that Shaukat Aziz is ahmadi. Is that true? If it is, then his being a foreigner and all takes a back seat to a welcome development in righting the wrongs of the Zia days. :k:
What does Zia have to do with his being a Ahmadi. It was in Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto’s reign that Ahmadi’s were declared non-muslims. Anyway I thought that to become prime-minister or president one must be Muslim. I don’t see how Shaukat Aziz IF he is a Ahmadi would be able to become prime-minister unless the constitution is amended to suit Musharraf.
well this is a useless debate
the democracy of Pakistan had been controlled by some where else before this and in the future we dont see any near signs of a true democracy in Pakistan
it can be said that the resignation is actually the failure of the democracy ... all was done cause Jamali couldn't kome up to the expectations of the General [Jamali's Boss]
and not to forget the resignation of Ali Mohammad Meher that was also a part of the series which has not kome to its end yet ....
let me tell u without any source yet its just a prediction to be proved by the time .... the Balouchistan CM Jam Mohammad Yousuf is also going to resign and jamali's Brother is going to take his place
Hang onnnn ...........
Shaukat Aziz is born in Punjab and grew up in Karachi - he’s a son of Pakistan’s soil and that can’t be denied.
His actual citizenship does not matter for election to the National Assembly and thus being PM. His being a US citizen would only prevent him from being President, or being elected to Parliament.
In either case, it’s not as though he’ll be the first non-Pakistani citizen PM we’ve had. Moeen Qureshi, who was Prime Minister in 1993, was not a Pakistani citizen.
*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
Shaukat Aziz is born in Punjab and grew up in Karachi - he's a son of Pakistan's soil and that can't be denied.
His actual citizenship does not matter for election to the National Assembly and thus being PM. His being a US citizen would only prevent him from being President, or being elected to Parliament.
In either case, it's not as though he'll be the first non-Pakistani citizen PM we've had. Moeen Qureshi, who was Prime Minister in 1993, was not a Pakistani citizen.
ur second paragraph has a contradiction in itself
first u say that his actual citizenship does not matter for election to the national assembly and thus being PM and then u r saying that his being a Us citizen will prevent him from being elected to the parliament
what do u mean by his actual citizenship
however , he is contesting election for the national assembly without that he cannot be the PM
^^
Good point!!! I did contradict myself! ![]()
It is neither here nor there whether Jamali resigns or gets booted out of office as he was never a legitemate Prime Minister to begin with. Rather he was a muppet who did what he was told but looks like he wasn't even competent to do that.
No. The simple reason: Its with the supremacy of the parliament that one can hope of democracy taking its roots. Jamali, (even though he was installed much in the same way as Chaudhry has been installed at the moment and Shaukat Aziz is being proposed to be installed), was a Prime Minister who grew with his experience just as Junejo did. At some point in time everyone realizes the responsibilities of the posts they hold. Its this realization that irks Puppet Masters. Knowing that a moment may come when their will may be undermined, they seek removals and change-overs.
Besides, even though Shaukat Aziz has delievered on the economic front, I am afraid that he would not be fitting in the PM's slot which invloves much more than the Finance Ministry. Mueen Qureshi did not do any thing good for this country and so wud he be leaving the scenario without delievering. The very question of delievering is immersed in the mystery that Military has created for their own good. Unless, Military is weaned away from the power, things are less likely to improve. I curse Ayub for the whole crisis.