.. for Chicken Roast … I have been told a few times that , that the spices jamaicans use are pretty strong but and they get really well absorbed in the chicken pieces during marination.
But no aunties out there are willing to tell me where i will get them from or what exactly is it called …
anyone here knows what it is that i am refering to?
I dunno really … I went to this desi aunty’s place and she offered us roast chicken … and she said she used the jamaican spice mix .. but she wouldnt tell where i can get it from or what exactly it is
Chicken biryani, I don't know what it is...I was raised in a predominantly Afro-carribean/Jamaican neighborhood and I just can't stand the food. Ajeeb si smell hai.....
I have tried a couple of Jamaican seasoning...and they're ok.Think they are from Schwartz or some such..may be in a jar,but it was nice...quite spicy.Trying to think of the name...their smelly food may be the dried fish they eat.Their rice n peas is a bit boring tho'.
oh yes i want to throw up on her. its not just fish that smell. she doesn't eat fish everyday. i find all the time smelly.. oh i m goin to puke :(
Sorry...but can't help laughing :D...do you find her personally smelly??..'cos I think they use a certain type of oil too...sometimes I can't bear to stand near them.It's because their hair is so dry...ugh!..now that I think about it..
CB....yeah,should be able to get it in Asda....Perhaps you can also try the Schwartz dry one...or another one is Levi Roots own recipe one in a jar called Reggae Reggae (sp)...that one is hot.These are the ones I have tried.
Sorry...but can't help laughing :D...do you find her personally smelly??..'cos I think they use a certain type of oil too...sometimes I can't bear to stand near them.It's because their hair is so dry...ugh!..now that I think about it..
CB....yeah,should be able to get it in Asda....Perhaps you can also try the Schwartz dry one...or another one is Levi Roots own recipe one in a jar called Reggae Reggae (sp)...that one is hot.These are the ones I have tried.
:p no she isn't smelly. i just find her food smelly
Oh,hey no probs.CB…will do my best :)…look down the ethnic aisle…there should be a selection.There used to be a really nice spicy ketchup too,which I can no longer find.But that was from Tescos.
@same…think I have different smell cells to you,or maybe I just haven’t smelt proper Jamaican food…and judging by the remarks I don’t think I want to.Sounds nauseous..*shudder…*pity you have to sit with her every day.
I just love Jerk chicken. try this recipe... you can add more spice to it if you want. Basically its sweet/spicy seasonings with black pepper, scotch bonnet peppers, cinnamon and nutmeg which give it its "Jamaican" flavor.
1/2 cup ground allspice (Black Pepper)
1/2+ cup packed brown sugar
6 to 8 garlic cloves
4 to 6 Scotch bonnet peppers (very spicy), handle with care
1 tablespoon ground thyme or 2 tablespoons thyme leaves
2 bunches Green onions (scallions)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons soy sauce to moisten
bit of Ginger
1/4 Cup of Browning 1 Onion
1/2 Cup of Olive Oil
Pulse this all in food processor/blender until smooth. Use it to marinate chicken/fish and enjoy.
you can store this in the fridge for a long time. If you can't find scotch bonnet peppers, any other spicy one will work...haberneros, green thai chili etc.
try just marinating chicken drumsticks and have a bbq, or roast in oven. If you cook on stove, the smoke from peppers gets to be too much...so be careful or you'll be coughing!