I find that usually when I’m doing namaaz with a group, my mind drifts off easily and I end up not even reciting the prayers, but instead thinking about other things. I don’t do it on purpose, it just happens. So I’ve learned that I tend to be more focused if I read namaaz on my own because that way I have to really say the prayers.
When my Dad calls everyone in the house to do Maghrib namaaz together, I instead just do namaaz in my room by myself. My Dad sometimes gets angry because I don’t do namaaz with the rest of the family, and when I tell him that it’s really hard for me to focus when I’m reading with everyone else, he just doesn’t understand and thinks I’m making excuses. =\
So I just wanted to know if it’s actually wrong to prefer doing namaaz on your own even when you have the opportunity to do it with a group.
I also suffer from it. Mind starts wandering in all direction during jamat or prayers. Which is quite sad state of affairs
One totka to repel unnecessary thought (it not some perscribed in religion)
Once you feel that you are not concentrating or paying attention and thinking about other stuff, try looking at the tip of your nose. this will wipe out all the other thoughts for the moment… But one cant do it often as it hurts
One ironical joke ( not a joke but actual incident maybe) once a jamat was held in masjid after it was finished one man stood up and said that Imam sahab prayed 3 rakat instead of 4. Most people didn’t notice this they started arguing, as most of people where not sure as they were not attentvie either ( sad but true ) so they asked that man howcome he is so sure abt 3 rakats. The man told them that he is a businessman and owns 4 shops, when he comes for prayers zuhar asar he quickly reconciles the sales of each shop in each rakat, and he just finished 3 rd shop
I had the same problem but could solve it upto 50% at times, 20% or none. Depending upon my frame of mind, here I am stating my concentration during prayers.
The best advice, would be any Surah you read in the Salah. I kindly request you to know the meaning of the Ayat you are reciting the only benefit is after reciting you pause and think about the translation.
Well this is only regarding the Qiyam, but during bowing and prostration, know the translations and again pause till you can translate this to your mother tongue.
My conclusion, is the same goes for the entiry Salah, wel the truth is its really hard and there is a Prophetic hadith only 10% of the prayer we can concentrate, I will get the source because they are few additions to the above Hadith.
Even during the jamaat atleast concentrate(translate the Arabic to you mother tongue, Insha Allaah this will help you great deal) for Surah Al Fatiha, during ruku, sajda, for tashahud and what else Salah is over by then.
When my Dad calls everyone in the house to do Maghrib namaaz together, I instead just do namaaz in my room by myself. My Dad sometimes gets angry because I don't do namaaz with the rest of the family, and when I tell him that it's really hard for me to focus when I'm reading with everyone else, he just doesn't understand and thinks I'm making excuses. =\
So I just wanted to know if it's actually wrong to prefer doing namaaz on your own even when you have the opportunity to do it with a group.
do you live in Pakistan or somewhere else
why you people don't go to mosque
sorry for these question
because its come first to my mind reading these
it is afzal to pray in jammah ......dont leave jammah no matter how you feel.The reason why you don't feel like praying in jammat is bcoz of Shaitan.He does'nt want one to pray in jammat and when one leaves jammat satan try to make one forget or miss its salaat.
Ibn Omar said that the Messenger of Allah SAW said, "Prayer in congregation is 27 grades in excess of one's prayer alone."
Praying with your family is beautiful and you're very lucky mashaAllah to have a family who wants to do that :) I know many who would really really appreciate that kind of environment in their homes. This problem of concentration is applicable to those who pray in jamat in mosques or homes.
May Allah make praying with your family easier for you and give you strength to push the shaytan out of the room, not leave the room yourself :)
Think about this question- you don't have to answer, just think about it : When you pray and you're trying to achieve khushu' (concentration), are you thinking about Allah or are you thinking about yourself? It's an easy place to get mixed up :) Of course you should be thinking about Allah and yes, most likely Shaytaan is tempting you away from receiving the rewards of praying in jamaat. In order to get proper concentration, make sure you do your wudhu and make your niyyah with concentration.
I feel like when I pray in jamat, it is difficult, but I feel like my ego is totally crushed... I am surrounded by others believing and worshipping the same as me- I am not better or different. SubhanAllah, an ego-slap :) So, although I 'prefer' to pray alone, I actually prefer the ego-slap :)
If you still feel the need to pray away from your family, then there is nothing stopping you from praying extra nafl by yourself in your room, and you can then take as long as you want to take care in your pronunciation and making your dua during sujood.
Remember, you are blessed to have that privilege to pray with your family, mashaAllah- it's not difficult for you to harness the rewards inshaAllah :) Try not to overthink the situation and don't let ash-Shaytan ar-Rajeem mix you up :)
Abu Huraira said, "I heard Allah's Apostle saying, 'The reward of a prayer in congregation is twenty five times greater than that of a prayer offered by a person alone.'
--- Hadith Sahih al-Bukhari, narrated by Abu Salama bin Abdur Rahman (1.621)
Yes, we do have a local musjid, but it's kind of inconvenient for the whole family to get up and go for Maghrib namaaz on a school night (we've got homework and stuff). Yea I do read namaaz at the Musjid over the weekend, though.
I think understanding the Surahs is a good idea because then I know what I'm saying. During Ramadan, the Imam at our local mosque does really long tiraawees and I almost collapsed once because I was so exaughsted. =\
Yea I do when I’m really trying but sometimes it just happens all by itself and then suddenly, in the midst of my thoughts, I realize it and then I snap out of it.
There is a simple way to bring your focus back to where it belongs during Salaat....
Allah (SWT) has said to our Prophet (PBUH) and the Hadith as I remmeber it states: When a person stands in Prayer, it is like they are knocking on my(Allah's) door.
**and stated furthur that when ever you knock on Allah's door, the door always opens..................:) **
**Need I say more.....................:) **
**During Salaat you are as close to Allah as Musa Elehi Salaam was on Kohi -Toor...:) **