anyone know what this service is all about?
apparently you can watch several channels and it costs much less than cable or satellite.
Re: Jadoo
Its a streaming box that sits between your internet connection and your TV - like apple TV, only thing is that it also streams desi channels along with youtube and what not.
They have a very good selection of channels, but because the service is kind of not legal, streaming (or its quality) is not always guaranteed. Ignoring the legality of the whole thing, Jadoo TV is good for occasional desi TV viewers (cause its one time cost and no other fee so occasional viewers dont need to get into monthly payments) and not for the ones who like to follow every single episode of every other desi show as the service may or may not be there when they want to watch the TV
underline? Its illegal. OK no one is here to ENFORCE the law but my wife wont let me buy one (yeah her “zameer” is my raqeeb) She did not even allow me to put scrambled dish
If you are interested in inexpensive, legal desi channels get TV-DESI (www.tv-desi.com). They have all channels legally available. Pakistani package (10 channels) is around 20$/month (CAD). We have it from last 2 years or so and we absolutely love it.
Now one thing you want to keep an eye on is Internet Usage. Because Jadoo, TV-Desi etc etc are IPTV, they eat up the bandwidth so you better get Internet with higher monthly quota
But TV desi does not have ARY or GEO .. what's the use man.
TV Desi has GEO ($15 for Geo News, Geo Entertainment and Awaz TV) and I dont wana watch ARY crap anyway. HUM has best Pakistani dramas.
btw, AAJ is way better than GEO when it comes to news and politics and Islamic show. I got fedup of GEO's cheap indian song news-comedy so I got that removed from my TV-Desi package...
So far I have found TV-DESI the best (and cheapest) LEGAL way to watch Pakistani channels. Not to mention that I have been customer of Dish Network (in US) and Rogers in Canada so I know what I am getting for $25/month is best out there..
But TV desi does not have ARY or GEO .. what's the use man.
disclaimer: I am in no way associated with TV-DESI and neither I make commission on new connections :)
but with Desi tv... do u need to buy a new box or wud it work with the box provided by rogers?
TV Desi has its own box. Either you buy the box for 100 something or pay $4 rent per month...
TV Desi has GEO ($15 for Geo News, Geo Entertainment and Awaz TV) and I dont wana watch ARY crap anyway. HUM has best Pakistani dramas.
btw, AAJ is way better than GEO when it comes to news and politics and Islamic show. I got fedup of GEO's cheap indian song news-comedy so I got that removed from my TV-Desi package...
So far I have found TV-DESI the best (and cheapest) LEGAL way to watch Pakistani channels. Not to mention that I have been customer of Dish Network (in US) and Rogers in Canada so I know what I am getting for $25/month is best out there..
disclaimer: I am in no way associated with TV-DESI and neither I make commission on new connections :)
Decent, are you happy with the quality of the video on TV?
First of all none of the Pakistani channel is available in HD.
I find the quality of Jadoo no less than Pakistani channels on Rogers and Dish Network. Ok might be unees-bees ka farq but VERY GOOD over all. No crap like "free streaming links" that we see on different sites.
I dont have any contract and still have the service from last 2 years. Thats enough said.
First of all none of the Pakistani channel is available in HD.
I find the quality of Jadoo no less than Pakistani channels on Rogers and Dish Network. Ok might be unees-bees ka farq but VERY GOOD over all. No crap like "free streaming links" that we see on different sites.
I dont have any contract and still have the service from last 2 years. Thats enough said.
cool. thanks for the response. btw, by Jadoo, you mean the Tv-Desi service you mentioned, right?
also, did you buy your receiver from the website or did you go through a reseller?
Its a streaming box that sits between your internet connection and your TV - like apple TV, only thing is that it also streams desi channels along with youtube and what not.
They have a very good selection of channels, but because the service is kind of not legal, streaming (or its quality) is not always guaranteed. Ignoring the legality of the whole thing, Jadoo TV is good for occasional desi TV viewers (cause its one time cost and no other fee so occasional viewers dont need to get into monthly payments) and not for the ones who like to follow every single episode of every other desi show as the service may or may not be there when they want to watch the TV
How is it kind of illegal? If it is illegal, why hasn't it been shut down by now & why is t publicly available at stores & online? Just curious.
The box is not illegal, service is - so till you connect it to the service, there is no illegality involved in just buying it.
Every now and then, GEO or ARY or all of the channels stop streaming. There is no customer service, there is no refund. Reason why its still there is because of copyright or rather lack of copyright laws and control on illegal broadcasting of of Pakistani and Indian channels in general
cool. thanks for the response. btw, by Jadoo, you mean the Tv-Desi service you mentioned, right?
also, did you buy your receiver from the website or did you go through a reseller?
NO. Jadoo is totally service/box than TV-Desi. As TLK has mentioned above, service on Jadoo is Illegal but its Legal/Licensed server on TV-DESI and I ordered my box from the TV-DESI web site but then it was not available anywhere in Canada. Now i have heard that it has resellers in Toronto.
If you dont mind inconvenience of attaching computer/notebook to TV, more cheaper service of TV-Desi is available at JumpTV.com.
i have seen the jadoo tv quality and i dont like it.well heard about desi TV for the first time:hmmm: let me go through wid there website:)
I've seen Jadoo now and find that the interruption while the thing downloads sucks.
I don't know what kind of bandwidth one needs either......
acha tu yeh jado tv hai main samjah tha keh jadoo kay baray main baat hu rahi hai
I've seen Jadoo now and find that the interruption while the thing downloads sucks. I don't know what kind of bandwidth one needs either......
you need a minimum of 4 mbps in my opinion.
its not bad, but not that great either. Even if you have Verizon Fios (15 mbps) you STILL get delays on downloads, buffering etc. It is a little annoying but not that bad. It is only worth it if you really like Indian Movies/Desi drama songs etc. Otherwise blah. Anyone know of a legal mechanism to just get the basic channels like 2/4/5/7/9/11 & 13?
I have not noticed download issues but certainly the resolution issues. Images are way too grainy, especially if yoy are playing them on bigger screens. But I guess for the service being free, you cant complain a lot.
I hate this piece of crap, my mom has it running 24/7 and I absolutely hate Pakistani/Indian television.
Although I guess it's better than letting Rogers rip us off for the same channels.