It's time for a change

So here we go again… yet again we have a new Pakistan captain who steps in not becasue his predecessor retired or left captaincy under normal circumstances but stepped down in a controversial manner. It may look like a positive change but overall doesn’t reflect well on the state of Pakistan cricket. If not mistaken this is the 20th time Pakistan cricket has seen a change in the leadership after Khan Sahib retired in 1992. Compare this to any other team in world cricket and you will get an idea how inconsistent we have been when it comes to appointing captains.

Each time when a leadership is switched in this manner, it sends a team back to square one. Once again Pakistan is back where they started after coming back from the World Cup 2007. At that point porbably they were evenly matched with Indian team. Now look at their performance.

It is about time that Pakistan board, Pakistan team and everyone else should realize this. Things are already not too easy for Pakistan when it comes to getting competitive games due to the political situation.

Its time that we should start rebuilding our cricket. Not for the world cup or champions trophy or series against Australia but for the future. PCB should seriously think of bringing young blood in the team and for that they have to make tough choices. We need to get rid of free loaders.

I expect to see some news changes in the team (both for the ODI’s as well as for Tests). No more Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Akhtar and Shoaib Malik in the Test squad. In my view these 4 are the biggest liabilities we could have in our Test squad. As far as ODI goes I am ok with them minus Kamran Akmal.

This thread in no way means that I am unhappy with the sacking of Malik as I have strongly opposed him as a captain as well as an automatic selection in Pakistan test squad. All I am saying is that PCB should learn from their past mistakes. Hopefully I am not hoping against hope…

Re: It's time for a change

We hope so too. PCB and selectors need to get their act straight. We hope to see a competitive side not players playing because they are the senior most players and friends.

Re: It's time for a change

Pakistani cricket is known for 2 things :

(1) INFLATED EGOs
(2) KNEE JERK REACTIONS

Pakistani team is like a faction-ridden free-for-all democracy which is in dire need of a charismatic leader to rally it under one umbrella. Imran Khan had that charisma. All the other captains after him (including otherwise gifted players like Akram) fell short.

Also, I don't understand why such a big deal is made out of ODI defeats like this. I mean what is the point of these SENATE HEARINGs. It is not as if it is the first time a team got bowled out for a 2-digits score. And this is the same Pak team that defeated Sri Lanka quite comprehensively in the 1st ODI a week ago.

Sure Malik does not have a leadership temperament and making him the Captain was a mistake. So go ahead and change him....but all this hoopla.....and drama.....after a defeat.....senate hearing...mud-slinging.....finger-pointing.etc....just leaves too much bitterness all around.

And knowing Pakistan cricket....this is not the last we have heard on the subject.

I always thought if ever the recommendations of senate committee hearing have been followed? The answer is never!!! The only purpose of the committee is to throw mud or bash the PCB administration not because of their poor performance but mainly because of their political rivalaries with them either at the party level or sometime at the personal level.

This is sad but true and its pretty common in south east Asia!

When did Pakistan move to South East Asia ?

South Asia yaar , dont utaroo baal kee khaal ... I am already depressed due to Pakistan's cricket situation and on top of that entertainment k leyee tv on kia tu SRK kee movie Anjaam aa rahee hai .... madhori khoon per khoon keyee ja rahee hai :(