it's my shaadi and i'll cry if i want to

i know this one couple who got married maybe a month back. This couple is not an “orthodox” Pakistani couple - whatever that means. Who is? The families of both parties lived far away; there had not been a proper family reunion in the sense that not everyone in the family had been in the one same city for a long, long time partially b/c everyone was wrapped up with careers, visa restrictions, work permits, etc.

Long story short: prior to the wedding, they sent out invitations by mail since most friends/family members live abroad. Some parties received the invitations earlier than others. Some recvd personal phone calls from the bride&groom, some did not. Some recvd e-mails as well, with detailed information regarding the hotels/addresses/pickup times/itineraries from the airport etc etc. Some did not receive those personal e-mails. At the shaadi itself, some felt they were not given enough attention from the bride and groom.

WWIII has erupted amongst all the parties. Why? Because some family members/friends felt as though they had been ‘snubbed’ because they got their mail invitations later than the others. Some felt snubbed b/c the bride&groom did not take the time to write out “Assalaamu Alaikum Dear [xx]. Aap log zaroor a rahain hain, na? We are all missing you desperately. Shaadi nahin ho sakti aap logon kai baghaair. Lots and Lots of Love and Kisses”.

It had become a competition to see which lucky individuals had got the most personalized attention from the bride&groom. If you got your invitation first in the mail, then that was a trump card you used to flaunt it in the faces of the others. Everything became so petty and trivialized. Family arguments from one century ago, about whose grand-grand-grand-parents had done what to whom, flared. Best of all, the couple was talked about behind their backs by the community, laughed at for their unorthodox ways, but infront of them - it was all lovey-dovey.

It’s as though the community was getting married, not the bride&groom. Everyone made the wedding their wedding. Exactly kiss ki shaadi ho rahi thi? There was no concept of just being happy because two people had decided to share their lives with each other. Yeah right. It was more like bicker, squabble and fight over stupid little details. Now different parties are not talking to each other because of their stupid jealousies…i.e., the bride&groom talked to [xx] more at the wedding than me, so i am not talking to anyone.

i mean, is this for real ??? Albert Einstein once stated, “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.” i mean, people, jab kissi ki shaadi hoti hai, there’s a concept of just being happy for the bride and groom. Just be happy and bloody well put your differences/insecurities behind your back. Just be happy for those two. But noooo - all the family fights/quarrels from a century ago had to resurge and spoil the mood. Why do human beings, who have placed themselves at the apex of the pyramid of all living creatures, behave in this extremely pathetic manner?

People can be so freaking petty-minded and shallow. And then we wonder at the moral decadence in the ‘west’. Yeah look in the mirror. When two people get married, just be happy for their sake and leave your crybaby-tantrums for another time.

u’re so right nadz, and some ppl’s attitude really spoils it for the bride and groom too…thats so selfish of them

Funny in a sad sort of way.

I recently attended a wedding where the DJ had done an awful job playing music on all functions. He had the lovey dovey ones going on the mehndi, the groovy ones on the wedding and God knows what on the valima. So the day of the valima this one elderly gentleman, if I may dare call him so, says to the DJ, ‘oye ullu de pathay gaana tay sahee laa’ to which the DJ must have appropriately responded. The DJ stepped out of the hall for a bit and the elder gentleman caught up with him and they got physical i.e. maar kutaai. So all hosts went outside to settle the fight. The beating stopped but verbal abuse continued. Gradually the procession started moving back towards the hall where all people involved exchanged niceties right in front of the guests and bride & groom. The lousy music was stopped, the elder guys daughter or daughter-in-law or something jumped in to save him some grace and shut him up. The elder guy was asked to leave by the guys father but he stayed thru to the end of the party or whatever was left of the party.

Even though the DJ thoroughly deserved a beating for having tortured the guests for three days, I think the baba ji should have waiting till all guests had left before beating the DJ up, maybe caught him in the parking lot or something, especially since the fight delayed dinner. Inconsiderate idiots! :rolleyes:

Oh and the groom was dead cute. Too cute. Like totally!

i,ve never attended a proper desi wedding in my life :(

from the looks of it,,, must be mad fun!

Awww Kaka. Family politics during weddings is very common whenever relatives are attending I believe but this maar kutaaee was a first for me. Hopefully the last.

i love the food and the pictures :blush: i lub da beddings

Family politics .... sigh .... :(

i love the family fights at such occasions....provide much needed drama.

Hmm. I´m glad, kay meri shaadi pai koi aisa jhagra nahi hua. :)

ahh weddings. even though i have no attended one in a long long time, but have heard about them, and the tales that revolve arounf them, just in my family, i find them very interesting and the whole fun psychology behind them.

weddings in our culture are just not a union between a man and a woman. it is joining the whole family together. two different sides of the spectrum even. like a conservative side of the family being united with a non-conservative, whatever that term means. and also, weddings are an excuse to bring people together. so you can meet and greet them and judge them and make some memories so you can recall them and tell to everyone when you are old aunties. (yea, my khala still recalls weddings that happened when she was like 7 years old, and she is mashallah 60+ ) so anyways, back to my point.

since weddings are like an excuse to bring people together, it also means, to the people, not to the bride and groom, it is a sort of indication of whether the family likes you or not, or how close you are to each other. therefore every little tiny detail can become a huge thing and a baat ka batangar. i am sure that the bride and groom did whatever was convenient to them, but to our aunties and uncle that isn't the same thing na. to them it must feel like that ok, they are not as important or as close to the family as they thought they were. which can be devastating to think i am sure. but it is just stupiod. i mean who cares how they invited you, kam az kam invite to kiya hai na. agar na bhi kartay to kya kar laytay? ghar main baith kar buraiyan hi kartay na. to ab jab bulaya hi hai to banday ko itna nazraz to nahin hona chahiyay, kay lo ji, hamain to is tarhana bulaya hai. pata nahin kyon log baat ka batangar bana laytay hain.

but i guess it is stupid human nature. it sux, but u have to admit, this way, this would be a wedding to be remembered. (my lame attempt at humor )