Its about time we agree on,,,,

I agree with Inzamam’s sentiments on team performance so far.
These same boyz won us many laurels before and against good teams too, there’s no reason for fans to go overboard with criticism and call for drastics changes a’la carte.
Stretegic changes are fine, but to call for a complete overhaul from top to bottom is like giving Pakistan a ‘Test nation’ status anew.
We are quite muture in our cricketing senses but highs and lows of the game
will continue beyond this series.
I attribute these loses to the fittness problems of many online players who looked lacklustre in their fielding, skills or just sharpness efforts.
Either they are too busy controlling their diets to stay slim and smart or just that they have lost faith in importance of physical fittness via workout or at extrem the workout burnup that causes ‘In gym injuries’ which stay hidden and unpubllicised.
I myself is a victim of such injuries and my life has changed drastically eversince and I know how depressing it can get at times.
As an example the way Imran Farhat or any other young blood carry themselves in competition scenero always look so casual and un-athletic that you wonder if they are dodging the ball or attacking it ?
On the down side the players are not conditioning themselves to the ‘Test’ level. If this continues then we will always have sustained problems.

More than one skill or effort bundle is always required to perform well against the competition.

Your thoughts ?

Re: Its about time we agree on,,,,

I am still furious at our despicable and vile loss. You ask the reason, I will tell you.

Openers, openers and openers. Time and time again, we are fluxed with this disease and God knows the time when we actually settle with two decent openers with a long-term partnership in-between. Series after series, garbage statements are made on behalf of Salman and Imran and the sole purpose is to hand them reassurance from the empty-tank that regardless of whether they drop ten straight catches or preposterously fail to stay at the crease for longer than a bathroom break, they will be selected just because......well, your guess is as good as mine; Either we do not have a good supply of specialist openers from domestic cricket who are able to hold their position in the team or we are simply too keen on bringing back the likes of Farhat while slapping the rest in process.

As stated before, Inzamam-ul-Haq, I do not have any kinds of complaints when it comes to his batting. Captaincy, that is a whole separate issue and this topic has been tormented into pieces. It is clear that what Younis Khan has so far achieved in the field during his short-term captaincy reign is of much higher proportions than what Inzamam has accomplished. Test victories aside (which, again, was solely due to one man's show rather) but Younis Khan possesses a killer streak. There is something about him which makes you think that whenever he steps onto the field, something drastic is going to happen. All of a sudden, that street trash Sami will find a way to get his line and length back, Danish will be seen as a lively entity when bowling, someone who thrives to get wickets to satisfy his hunger. The players are energetic, the environment automatically gets filled with electricity, all because the captain leads from the front. From my point of view, I can safely attest that after Imran Khan, Younis Khan is the most animated, most frisky and most spirited captain in the palm of our hand. When that actual time will come, I am positive that the torch will be passed from one generation to the next.

I do not wish to see Inzamam go at all, neither do I want any axing of players who have at least put an effort in their performance by getting their performance upto par or above. My issue is simply this - Imran Farhat, the guy just does not have the temperament to stay at the crease for a longer period of time. He comes and goes as he pleases, drops catches like they are in fashion and just does not contribute his share at all. I have no idea on earth why he keeps getting selected overtime. This sifarshi will play for the next ten years and you just know that for the life of him, he is just not going to be any better than what he is today.

Even if he does gets to play, clueless, clueless Inzamam. Common sense would prevail, screaming into your right ear to have Farhat removed from that position and place him someplace else. Let another player take the role of a slip catcher. It is a known fact that most of the major team's front-line players and openers purposely take up that role because they want to see the bounce of the wicket. They want to access the situation better when it is their time to play. Their intention in mind is to evaluate and determine as to roughly how will the pitch play out. They are the first ones to get the feel for the pitch, after the batsman. This guy just does not get it, at all.

If he would have held onto those three catches and at least made an effort to score more than 33 runs, who knows. There is always one culprit in the team who simply takes it as his birthright to be in the team after a series of failures after failures. Mohammad Sami - I am speechless. One session does not, repeat, does not, and should not be a criteria for selection. It should be judged on the basis of the entire series. Apparently, his fifteen minutes of fame when he ran and bowled an over or two in the third test with the crowd's reactions of "Ooohs" and "Aaaahs" are being judged when picking the team for next test. "Extra baggage" does not even do him justice, the sifarshi of his calibre. Chamcha-geeri will continue to run amock despite the differences.

It is just one or two players that disrupt the entire team. In this case, unfortunately, we have more than just one or two. Farhat, Butt, Sami, Kaneria, the beloved Afridi and yes, at times, Iqbal. In the moment of madness, I was about to be ready to hang Akmal as well, and I admit, he has been brilliant for us in the past. The sloppiness was pretty much due at this stage, but others......Salman Butt, I mean, when? For God's sakes, tell me when? When will he learn? Why he hasn't made a tiny bit of progress? One bad test, and the management is ready to sack him at the expense of forcing Akmal move to the top order. That was such a bad, bad mistake in the second test. Akmal at opening, nobody dreamt it in their wildest dreams. Absurd and nonsensical, if anything.

If the things described above could have gone the way they were supposed to in the first place, we could have seen the 'fighting unit'. There was this element missing, most knew and pinpointed exactly what it was. Trash management, continuous garbage selections and sifarshis enjoying the beaches while the home-grown merit talent is left behind. The ship has already been burnt, no point of going back. Tell, where have their brains been dislocated to?

Bah. Off-topic most likely, but I just needed a suitable venue to lash my distress and anguish out. In the manner we have ultimately now lost the series was completely shameful, no more, no less. Disgraceful, abominable and atrocious behaviour was on display from the above individuals. Yes, they need to be hanged straight away!

• Merged with another thread *

Maybe we shouldn't blame Inzamam's captaincy. Team unity is very imp and at the moment, only Inzamam can keep it up.
We all know the stupid politics, players being angry at each other issues.
He has a calm personality and we need that in our team.

Dhobi bhai, you summed it up well!
It seems a wrong time to call for any captaincy change but I know you are only
refering to Inzimam's way of captaincy and not neccessarly asking for a change, but please remember the circumtances in which he was made the captain and perhaps PCB's hidden agenda was/is to appoint some one with non political mindset and with humble attitude. Inzamam or Younis or Yousaf fit this bill of PCB's agenda as I see it (Comparing ofcourse to; Imran-Miandad-Sohail-Waqar-Moinkhan-Rashid etc,,,)
I strongly believe that PCB has been persuing a 360 turn on the team to ensure they have 100% brand new players and the coach, and this ambitious plan has fallen on its face like several time in the past 17 months.
But a general look at the current situation shows that Mushi-Azhar-Asim-Yaser-Moin-Rashid etc etc are still in the game but not in the national squad.
Why? Because they were made controvercial one way or the other, which must have pissed off the Chief Patron himself?
Pakistan has the neccessary talent but not deployed in the field for various reasons. hence my thread,, I like to know damn it !

Re: Its about time we agree on,

Well contrary to those statements, Inzi has said in his column that Sri Lanka had better results than Pakistan because they played as a unit and had a gameplan.

^^ skhan bhai all Inzi did is resort to an excuse, he had to come up with something after the loss, if he was so aware of this (team didnt play as a unit) that can only mean one thing, there is another disagreement among the players which caused the breakdown and eventually lead to ths loss of series.

Stating that Srilanka had a gameplan, is slap in the face of Inzi and touring party think tank, why? coz he is implying that they went clueless in the park as to what to do when they had cherry or willow in their hand.

^^ yeah, not a good excuse from Inzi. Game Plan comes from the captain and a coach.
SL won because of their batting plus Murali. WE didn't have any main bowler. Besides except 3 batsmen, we don't have any one reliable (Razzaq actually can be considered a reliable batsman when needed).
Overall, our batting failed. 3 people can't handle the whole game

Yes those are very serious allegations indeed by Inzy. Maybe shifting the attention from the glaring batting failures? I cannot understand all this post mortem. Even a village idiot can just read the score cards and pinpoint the primary reason for defeat. Only 2 batsmen in the team of 11. Even if they score double hundreds every time they bat, it will not save the team from the eventual defeat.

There is simply no long-term planning. No concept of future development, arrangement and preparation. Even though none of the supposed reliable openers currently fit the bill, to top it off, the selectors have shown no mercy whatsoever. The likes of Butt are dropped likes bees the moment he fails to score a decent amount in one innings. One innings, and that’s all it takes for them to recall Taufeeq and similar trash from God knows where in Pakistan. Why have we failed to stick to the gameplan? It is not even rocket-science, if we look at the bigger picture.

There are reasons, you see. Some don’t prefer to even step an inch above the paddle and provide their fair share to the team. Let’s take a tidy example of Sami. Ideas and information has practically flowed from all quarters and every person on the block has offered his hand as a means of help and assistance, but it is the mentality level that refuses to budge from the typical age-old methods. Less than half the level of commitment is showed on almost everyday basis. When one is committed and emotionally attached to someone or something, you tend to see the reflexes and facial expressions far too often. Kamran Akmal, for instance. Every time he has dropped a catch or has failed to gather the ball neatly, we can clearly notice that he is genuinely disappointed. Emotions have ran through his face and at times, he has displayed valid anger, not only at the pathetic umpiring but towards himself as well. That is sincerity in every sense. The likes of Sami, well, what can I say. The position of the stumps seems a foreign concept to him. Half-volleys, the ones which he hands over to the opposition numerous times in a space of six to eight balls, is his fashion signature. On top of it, Lord knows what happened to his pace. I rarely recall any ball of his that even touched the 90 mph barrier mark. Almost all wicket-taking deliveries were round-about ~83-84, which is seriously disappointing. If he is in the team for matter of pace and pace only, then what happened all of a sudden? Short run-up and haircut seemed to have done the trick. If he were to be thrown out by an exterior force, next morning’s newspapers will be filled with headlines claiming “the smell of injustice” by his biggest chamcha in the name of Bari who holds the parchi that Sami brought with him three years ago. It is still doing wonders for both. Sifarish is indeed the roadway to success. No wonder.

True, and sad. Do we see it getting better any time soon though?

And I agree with your assessment of Kamran Akmal's poor performance compared to Sami's... you can definetley tell that Akmal is a hard working person and does everything he can to be good. He's highly motivated.

Perhaps this is because he knows that there are others itching to take his position and he needs to constantly step his game up to prove his worth on the team.

It seems Sami doesn't have to prove jack sh!t to be on our team. There are PLENTY of players in the domestic circuit that yield incredible results-- how come we don't see selectors jumping at including them blindly based on domestic results? Why is it only Sami that seems to be assessed based on his sub-par domestic performances?

There's definetley something odd about it, and it's sad that nothing is done about it.

Nonetheless, I agree that we HAVE been a really good team in the last couple of years. You win some, you lose some... I'm sure we can use this positively in the future. InshAllah.

After seeing Shahid Nazir, I'm convinced we have very good players at home that get overlooked for the likes of gul, sami, rao. its all politics that these players will never play for the national team despite their domestic performances.

That's how we all react.. we want win win and win. I think the reason why they are acting like this is not why we lost but the WAY they lost. no fight back...

I agree that we are all mad because of the way we lost the series.

Had we shown fight like the Sri Lankans team before us, who lost the first test really bad and then came back fighting to level the series. We lack that heart, that drive to be that fighting team.

We have great talent in reserve in Pakistan but who can never make it due to politics and not having enough influence in the upper management of the PCB or otherwise victims of politics.
That's the sad state of affairs in our criceting structure.

Good insight Dhobi! And I can add on to the off-field scene that such scrutny as this is quite normal when we see such devastating performnces, and also when they matter the most.
We all know that if given time and persistance in selection shown then we could have a reasonabley well harmonized opening pair out of 3 regulars.
Instead we have seen Kamran-Shahid wild card still in use and prolonging the agony much further.
Bob Woolmer, I do like but apparently he's gone bit stray from his assignment and now he seems more anxiouse to prove a point to his boses.

Here are some further points to note;
At present there's hardly a player who can play a hook shot with confidence.
At present only shoaib and Rana are capable of using slow ball as variation
At present it seems a DEAD ART of bowling 'Yorkers' let alone line n lenght
At present only Kamran minus this series has looked compact enough a player
At present NO PLAYER can claime to be a reliable fielder in any position

If we look at it closely we can attribute our recent past successes, and can say that Pakistan won those matches by virtue of 'Poor Performances' from the competitors and no kudos to our players or coach.
I wish I could say the same for the Sri Lankans who have emerged as die hards of the game and have given stiff resistance where they loose a game.

So whats the difference here?
What is it that we use to do and don't do any more ?
I guess we all know now,,