IT and technology Project Management in Pakistan

This question(s) is for Irem and others who are working in Karachi and other parts of the country.

What is the scope of project management in IT in general or cellular industry in particular in Pakistan? Do they ask/recognise/value PMA certification? What if a person is UK graduate and worked for Urban development authority in Home office, UNICEF, Canadian Cellular industry etc? How much would be the pay if its contract/fulltime/permenant? What are the incentives they offer? Which companies (like KPMG, GE Capital etc) are active in Pakistan? Which area IT/contruction/urban development/cellular/engineering etc are the best for PM related jobs? Are there any multinationals that will hire a forien born Pakistani who also knows Urdu and have worked in these manageral posts? I need a detailed outlook of PM in Pak.

If anyone knows the same for Arabian penninsula, please provide details as well.

Thanks in advance.

Re: IT and technology Project Management in Pakistan

Smooth bhai the scope is really great in Pakistan these days from what I’ve seen since I came back last summer.

The IT industry here is booming and the markets are full of jobs for people with all kinds of qualifications. You just need to do a bit of dedicated searching though to find exactly what you are looking for.

I’m not too familiar with the cellular industry scene but I know that its hot and so is the internet service provider and tv channel scene. These three indeed are hot markets these days for IT folks. And then banks.

About certifications, people here have so many freakin certifications its crazy. Ever guy walking in for an interview has this certification, that certification blah blah. The thing that will distinguish you is your background in terms of schooling, prior work experience and so on. Foreign ka thappa works wonders. Fluency in English will give you an edge over others. Knowing fluent Urdu or local languages is not even required.

There’s lots of opportunities. The salary depends on which company you land in, your qualification/experience, and last but not least your negotiating skills with the interviewers…idhar bhee bargaining karni paray gi :smiley: acting like you’re too good for them, you’re in demand and bla bla :wink: will have to pull all that.

If you want, PM me your email address. I can e-mail you a list of companies.

Also, check out these websites:

careerpakistan.org

http://www.finaljob.com.pk

Dubai waghera mein bhee kaafi jobs haen I guess kyun k most IT people who have left our company have gone to Dubai, ye toh mein aap ko personal experience bata rai hoon.

Simply Seema can help u a lot in this case, i think she was doing PMA certification.

kuch baatein jin ka aap ne specifically poocha tha, lemi address those

How much would be the pay if its contract/fulltime/permenant?

person has UK degree and work experience right? i would say minimum ask for 35 thousand. absolute minimum. mid range can go to 70K plus car. us k aagar lakh plus and residence waghera.

What are the incentives they offer?

hmmm..
incentives depends on the company
choti companies wont offer much, max health insurance
big companies like a big multinational bank will offer all sorts of incentives like transportation, car, residence, health insurance, stock options ka idhar itna ravaj nai but i think some companies offer that too..., hmm what else...loan options, provident fund (thats what its called right?) and all that kinda stuff
basically the incentives totally depend on which company u r applying for

Which companies (like KPMG, GE Capital etc) are active in Pakistan?

ye mujhay nai pta. hmmm. google chek karein i think is k lyay.

Which area IT/contruction/urban development/cellular/engineering etc are the best for PM related jobs?

meri personal opinion ye hae k do what u r passionate about and then you'll always find a place to fit in. all of these r solid fields so koi bhee choose ker leyn. construction aur urban dev ka itna nai suna most prolly kyun k thats not my field. lekin IT and cellular ka toh sunNe mein aata hae aur khud bhee dekha hae k its hot hot hot!

true dat :k:

on this board she’s the best person to comment on Pakistani IT market i think. she’s got the most experience in the paki work market.

Thanks buddy :k: I appreciate that. irem, check ur PM.

anytime, my pleasure :)

got ur pm. kal inshallah aap ko email karoon gi with this excel attachment i have abt companies i got from a friend in IBA.

KPMG is still active in Pakistan but under different names and sister concerns. There are others too like Price waterhouse coopers, Sidat Hyder , Ford Rhodes etc. PMA certification is valuable and can come in handy but a lot of companies in pakistan really dont care about these certifications, they are concerned bout ur past experience or ur foreign degree . Banks offer benefits especially the private run one but done expect them to give u a car and house allowance right away even if u opt for a senior position.I am heading back myself and will be working as a Project manager too. The market especially the telecom and IT is really booming but the competiion is equally on the rise as a lot of people like me and ur self are going through transition and trying to secure positions in good companies back home so you got to keep this in mind. Pay Scale of a Project Manager based on experience can range from 40K-80K.
Apart from

http://www.finaljob.com.pk and careerpakistan.org , there are couple others sites which i cant recall at the moment and they are infact quiet helpful. If you are venturing into IT field , here is the list of pretty much all the software companies in Pakistan

http://www.pasha.org.pk/html_files/members_profiles.asp

Best of luck

^^ TK very useful post, thanks :k:

Salam to All
My question is for Irem as she is the senior one here and has good experience in job scenerios in pakistan.I am currently working in Washington DC USA for a government agency as Information Security Engineer for the last 2 years and before that I worked in few other companies in US , I also have really good teaching experience in US , in private as well as public sector.My speicaility is in the field of information security , I have my CISSP ( certified information sytem security professional) certificate and also few others. what is the situation there in pakistan for information security pros ,mostly in public sector and in private sectors mainly in mutlinatioanal companies. I would also like to know about the teaching prospects in various universities in pakistan to teach information security which I think is a relatively new thing in Pakistan.
I appriciate your reply .

RehanBashir,

walekumsalam :)

Luckily I saw your reply otherwise I might have missed it. Please feel free to PM me for such matters in the future if you have any questions to ask etc :)

Anyways, hmmmm....lemi answer your questions:

My question is for Irem as she is the senior one here and has good experience in job scenerios in pakistan.I am currently working in Washington DC USA for a government agency as Information Security Engineer for the last 2 years and before that I worked in few other companies in US , I also have really good teaching experience in US , in private as well as public sector.My speicaility is in the field of information security , I have my CISSP ( certified information sytem security professional) certificate and also few others. what is the situation there in pakistan for information security pros ,mostly in public sector and in private sectors mainly in mutlinatioanal companies. I would also like to know about the teaching prospects in various universities in pakistan to teach information security which I think is a relatively new thing in Pakistan.
<<<<

I think that the scope in multinational companies for information security is very good. The same things that I said to smooth guy apply to you as well. As for teaching, I'm not very familiar with that but I would think that since Pakistani unis try to keep at par with foreign unis and since this is an up and coming thing in foreign unis, it will also gain some importance in Paki unis soon if it hasn't yet.

I suggest you to go the websites of some top Pakistani IT unis like LUMS, FAST-NU, SZABIST and find the email addresses of faculty there and write to them about this asking for more information, as well as browse the sites of these unis for course offerrings. Personally I think that the teaching prospects in this field should be quite good as it is central in IT.

Generally though, teaching in the field of IT is a very good profession and IT professors are paid very well in most of the good institutions.

I hope whatever I wrote helped...Let me know if there is anything else you want to ask :)

wa salam
irem