Issues With Extended Families

so if a married women laments not being able to take off on her own to Mexico (without that ball'n chain of husband and kids) how many guys take off on their own vacation leaving family behind?

Does all that compassion for women not having nothing left in the bank of their hard work apply towards single-earner-head-of-the-household men too who pay for the expensive shoppings of the stay-at-home-never-earn-a-penny moms??

Does marriage and partnership and equal responsibility and sacrificing a little to raise your OWN family mean anything to anybody?

Wadi - this is just one of many places where you can get facts and figures:

How big is the problem of domestic violence?:
According to the latest FBI statistics, a woman in America is abused every 9 seconds. **In the South Asian community, we estimate that 1 in every 4 families have experienced some kind of abuse. **Sakhi receives approximately 30 new crisis calls per month. However, we know that for each woman who contacts us, there are more who either do not know about our services or too afraid to reach out for help.

What kind of men abuse women?:
Abusive men come from all walks of life - doctors, cab drivers, lawyers, restaurant workers, businessmen, bankers, engineers, computer programmers, shopkeepers, diplomats, and entertainers. They can be young or old, rich or low-income, and of all religious faiths and educational levels. They can be fathers, brothers, uncles, friends, and co-workers. What they share in common, however, is a belief that they can exert power over their intimate partners, and that this behavior is justifiable.

Can men be victims?:
95% of all victims of abuse are women. The small minority of abused men include men in gay relationships.

Are South Asian women in arranged marriages more abused?:
There are no statistics to indicate that South Asian women in arranged marriages are more abused than South Asian women in love marriages. Perpetrators of abuse marry women through both systems. However, forced marriages, including child marriages, are a form of abuse, and may lead to even greater violence against the woman.

More at :

http://www.apnaghar.org/dv/dvfacts.shtml

http://www.narika.org/newsletter/Narikaindex.html

http://www.dayahouston.org/abuses.htm

Soggy - more men than you think will leave their families and go off on their thrill seeking dates themselves. Men go on their hunting trips with buddies - do they take their families? They will fly off on office annual parties to Belize - which is a three day vacation basically - how many say they will not go if they can’t bring their families along? And if they do end up giving that trip up, they’ll sit there and seethe, wishing they were someplace else. Men go to visit their relatives and friends in a day long trip to DC, but won’t take their wives along coz someone will need to take care of the kids. MANY many more men are selfishly able to justify WHY they deserve a break, than allow a woman to justify it.

Men who are the bread-earners and undertake “expensive” shopping for their stay-at-home wives, usually can AFFORD it in this country. OR, they are egotistical and will not allow their wives to work - another oppression - or their wives are in the wrong and are too demanding. Women who do not work in US, do have a choice to take their life in their own hands. Women who do not work in Paksitan and India and other countries, usually don’t.

Marriage and sacrifice and equal responsibility to raise your own family means a lot - ONLY if BOTH partners are willing to do it, not JUST the woman.

Why are women always expected to be the ones to leave their home behind and go off to a new place after marriage? Why doesn’t the man move in with HIS in-laws and leave his family behind, and just maintain contact with them as his wife would have been expected to had she lived with his family - by phone, or regular visits etc.. ?

Why aren’t grandkids raised under the nana nani’s roof, rather than the dada dadi’s?

Enuf with these justifications already. Men have the whole world as it is. Our culture - not our religion - our culture - allows them marriage, divorce at the drop of a hat, every benefit, every credit, every moment is theirs. I’m not gonna shed tears for the minor slumps they face in life, in no way do their miseries compare with the plight of women.

Thank you for the references. I will look them up.

Your opinion. Never has it happened in my family or any of my friends families. So i guess I know perfect people, or maybe i just don’t know about it 'cause it all “hidden”.

Not always the case. I’ve seen many guys fall in to massive credit traps just 'cause they support their wives shopping habbits.

These men are worng. If the wife wants to work, 'cause she’s genuinely interested in a career, then she has the right to. However, if the woman is forced to work 'cause the man can’t sustain his family alone, then it’s wrong. The man has to work towards being the sole ‘bread winner’ but if the wife has career goals, then more power to her.

I agree with you, not just the woman. BOTH, BOTH and BOTH!

You got me on this one. Why wouldn’t men want to live with the womans family? I guess i am a pig after all.

In my opinion, grandkids are usually more influenced by nana and nanis. Just an opinion. :slight_smile:

Men have the whole world and you’re not going to shed tears for the minor slumps? Good for you, no one likes a perpetually peeved woman anyways :slight_smile:

if the woman is forced to work 'cause the man can't sustain his family alone, then it's wrong. The man has to work towards being the sole 'bread winner'.

I wish a lot more men would think like this.

grandkids are usually more influenced by nana and nanis

Not a good enough argument, sorry. Besides, it's not fair on the nana nani either. They gave birth, if you remember, to the woman who gave you those kids you call your own.

If your daughter were to go away to her husband's house and then your gandchildren gave preference to their father's parents as "grandparents" and learnt more from them than from you and spent more with with them than with you - how would you feel?

Better yet, I'll ask you this question thirty years from now, let's see what you have to say then.

no one likes a perpetually peeved woman anyways

I'm not here to be liked, it's not a popularity contest. I just state things as I see them. If people get ticked off, I can't help it. As someone once said - I am the female version of Micheal Douglas in Falling Down. I D.o.n.'t C.a.r.e!! :)

I hAVE only one question from ANA....

CAN U DESCRIBE HOW A PERFECT HUSBAND should be in your opinion??? without getting personal plz...

Thank you Ana thank you, u just made ma day. I have been crying all the time about the same behaviour towards females from men.

Some 'typical' men deserve to be shown that their attitude towards females is every thing other than fair.

how is the attitude unfair ms fair

*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
Thank you Ana thank you, u just made ma day. I have been crying all the time about the same behaviour towards females from men.

First, Plz STOP crying. THat's ANa's job.

*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
Some 'typical' men deserve to be shown that their attitude towards females is every thing other than fair.

so can u plz describe a "fair" attitude. This might be ur only chance to tell the "typical" man how they should not be so typical.

well, if u think abt it relgously…women is mad from man’s one “paslee”. If there is so much evil in one bone how much evil will be in whole men??

Can’t u feel the evil in u??

Saadia - :). I don't know really in all honesty to be fair, who deserves what. I just speak my mind, and if I seem belligerent or hostile.. well.. it just comes out that way. Some guys r genuine and don't deserve the all that censure... but sometimes you just feel like getting up and shaking each and every one of the opposite sex so hard they'll choke ....

AMA - perfect husband? That's funny. Anyhoo.. I'll try.

Someone who asks what color and style of wedding dress you'd like, and makes an effort to get it.

Someone who pays for his own wedding, even if it's just at the marriage registry; even if it's just a one-dish with three guests.

Someone who tells his family - this is the person who I'm going to marry, and she's as much your daughter as your others daughters.

Someone who tells your parents they're his parents too, and loves then the same way.

Someone who buys gifts for his sisters as well as yours.

Someone who your brothers can play Sega games with and beat, and still get treated to ice cream afterwards.

Someone who keeps good company that you approve of and that can have a positive influence on your family life, and who cares about the type of company he keeps when you're not around

Someone who has just a little bit of ambition to do well in life, and not too much

Someone who doesn't keep his wife waiting up all night for him to get home

Someone who, when he finally gets home, doesn't tell his wife "why didn't you eat, you have two hands, you shouldn't have waited", but instead says, "You know, I would have done the same if you weren't here"

Someone who doesn't talk about his work at home, or even bring his work home, and knows that family is always more important than work

Someone who knows that his wife isn't after money but just wants him beside her 24 hours a day coz she can't bear to be separated from him for even a second, which he can't do, but still...

Someone who says "Valentine's day is a non-muslim tradition", but still brings you candy, just coz...

Someone who sends money home to his mom and dad with the note attached, "from your daughter-in-law, with love"

Someone who takes you to the mall and says he has a stomach ache as soon as you enter the store, but still spends five hours picking out the perfect china pattern... and has a huge smile on his face when he lugs it all home

Someone who calls you at work at noon to remind you it's lunchtime so pls. go eat something

Someone who massages your head with oil and gets a "You don't even know how to massage properly" in return, and still smiles

Someone who takes you to see a doctor when you say you have a cold, even if you don't have one

Someone who occasionally does things for anyone who is poor in your family, without ever telling you or expecting anything in return

Someone who remembers what name you give the dishes you cook, and doesn't call daal "sambar" when it's not!

Someone who brings you home a calling card to call your parents without you ever asking, even if you just talked to them two days ago

Someone who takes you for a short drive all the way to India Town in the next city - just to buy you that new dress you never asked for

Someone who holds the house mortgage in his name, but tells everyone "my wife owns this place, I'm just the houseboy"

Someone who cares that you have something constructive to do while he's away at work or on a business trip

Someone who will stand up to his parents and siblings when he knows that they are wrong

Someone who won't let his wife or her family be hurt even a little by anyone, just like he won't let anyone hurt him or his own family

Someone who takes your brother aside and lectures him on partying all night and how worried his parents will get if they find out, but does it in a really nice way and you never find out they had that little man-to-man talk

Someone who doesn't know how much his wife makes, and even if he does, tries consciously to forget it

Someone who gives up his own career to support your move

Someone who protects you from people's idle gossip and discourtesy

Someone who cares about your appearance, and tells you how beautiful you look atleast once a day - even if it's not true

Someone who tells you all his deepest darkest secrets - and who you can tell everything in the world to - and never get taunted for them

Someone with whom secrets are safer than in the depths of the earth's crust

Someone who talks to you, when you talk to them, and even when you don't

Someone who guides you religiously, morally and emotionally.. through all your phases, through all your idiosyncrasies, and through all the times that you tell him "I hate you".. and he never leaves your side for even an instant

Someone who you can look to for comfort and understanding, because his values are solid like a rock

Someone who puts your welfare before his own, and all he really cares about is how to keep you happy

Someone who talks to your parents more than you've ever spoken to them in your whole life, and about everything under the sun

Someone who buys you toe socks on Eid day... from Nordstrom.

That's a perfect husband. Not comprehensive, but it's a start. :)

Ana: I think...... Plz dont laugh..... I really do...................... think I have all the qualities that a perfect husband should have. But ofcoarse, u should wait till u goto heaven. :)

i'll say it again.. women are so self contradictory it's not even funny anymore.

*Originally posted by Asif M. Ali: *
well, if u think abt it relgously....women is mad from man's one "paslee". If there is so much evil in one bone how much evil will be in whole men??

Can't u feel the evil in u??

o bhai jaan women are not made from man's puslee shuslee.. yeh christianon nay urrayee hay aur musalmaanon nay lapaytee hay.

yeh inherently evil shevil kuch naheen.. acchay amaal honay chahyain that's it.

Sogzamogzy - aren’t u a woman? :confused: I thought u were…

*Originally posted by Soggy: *

o bhai jaan women are not made from man's puslee shuslee.. yeh christianon nay urrayee hay aur musalmaanon nay lapaytee hay.

Sura-e-Nisa Ayat 1 -

"O people, observe your Lord; the One who created
you from one being, and created from it its mate,
then spread from the two many men and women.
You shall regard GOD, by whom you swear,
and regard the parents."

The above sura "agrees" with the statement in Bible. I'll try to find more reference to justify the statement.

bad cookie,,,, very bad cookie!!

*Originally posted by Soggy: *

Yaar is ko kitna sikhaoo gay, kya kya sikhaoo gay yeh tu abhi anday say bahar bhi nahi nikla. Hud hay yaar, buhut hi masoom hay.

*Originally posted by Wadi: *

Yaar is ko kitna sikhaoo gay, kya kya sikhaoo gay yeh tu abhi anday say bahar bhi nahi nikla. Hud hay yaar, buhut hi masoom hay.

Ana jee ne anday se bahar aaney se pehle hee itna dara diya hey ke ab nikalne ka dil hee nahee kerta !

sheraz-first of all, what part of my culture would you like me to keep? i can speak urdu. I respect my elders. I try my best to follow my religion (which by the way-in pakistan, the culture and relgion are often tied. in case you forgot a major reason of WHY pakistan was formed. And hun, he Asif asked abt the religious part.) Around my house or to functions i wear shalwar kameez , if i feel like it. And anways, i was born and raised in the west-that means that that is also part of my culture. I call myself dual cultured. And u’re talking abt some great parts that u can’t forget. Are you implying, that the things i said are abt losing culture. Its interesting, u selected only part of my quote. So that’s the part of culture u think is so great that u can’t let go of? you didn’t answer my questions.

and doll, no offense, u seem like a nice enough person otherwise, but i can’t handle total male dominance. I don’t believe there is anyway that it is right.

Ana-mashallah, you are a smart and wise woman. Keep it up doll. :kiss:

whats wrong with these cookies?