Islamophobia.....

To all those pakistani guppies , who think by living in america they have become americans …and keep repeating like a parrot …
Hail great america …
Hail george bush…
Hail macdonalds… :hehe:

I quote this from todays dawn letter to the editor.

). I am a Pakistani student at the University of South Alabama. After the beginning of summer this year, Pakistani students have stopped coming here. Before 9/11, this university probably had the largest Pakistani student population in the state of Alabama. However, everything has changed. Nowadays, instead of Pakistanis, there are lots of Indians and Koreans coming to the US.

Moreover, it is becoming more and more difficult to find a job anywhere in the United States. Those students who have graduated complain that the recruiters have some kind of ‘Islamophobia’ and they’d rather not hire a Pakistani.

There’s a complete freeze on Pakistani students entering the United States. I can’t help but think that this is part of a planned strategy to keep Pakistanis away from the US universities and filling them up with Indian students.

Muslim community leaders’ worst fears are coming true: all the patriotism in America after 9/11 is translating into racism and Islamophobia. The detention of three medical students for a full day on a fake charge is just one example.

The Ashcroftism of today is dangerous for any country, especially the United States with its extremely diverse population. The other day, former President Clinton made a comment on a late night television show to the effect that the United States should in fact allow more Muslim students to enter the country in order to increase international contacts.

The Pakistan government should take up the issue with the US government and ask for an end to this blatant racism. If there has to be more investigation before the issuance of a US visa, it should cover everybody and not only the people with specific nationalities.

Alabama, USA

end of quote…

Kawa chala haans ke chaal
aapni chaal bhe bhool gaya :rotfl:

Re: Islamophobia…

*Originally posted by Poodenay_Ki_Chutney: *

I quote this from todays dawn letter to the editor.

*. I am a Pakistani student at the University of South Alabama. After the beginning of summer this year, Pakistani students have stopped coming here. Before 9/11, this university probably had the largest Pakistani student population in the state of Alabama. However, everything has changed. Nowadays, instead of Pakistanis, there are lots of Indians and Koreans coming to the US. *

there are always more Indians and Koreans at Universities, larger populations, larger number of students. Not a new development.

**Moreover, it is becoming more and more difficult to find a job anywhere in the United States. Those students who have graduated complain that the recruiters have some kind of ‘Islamophobia’ and they’d rather not hire a Pakistani. **

Its becoming more difficult to find a job in the US period, muslim or not. Companies can hire foriegn nationals if they can demonstrate that they need skills which are not available locally. With the amount of layoffs that is a hard argument to make. As a matter of fact dept of Labor had recently sent a memo to Motorola that there are issues when the company can lay off 7000 ppl in one move yet wants to sponsor thousands for H1 and Greencard.

as if people dont complain in pakistan abotu oh I cant get a job here because it is punjabi dominated, or memon dominated, or dehli walay only watch out for their people, or agha khanis dont hire non agha khanis type of crap.

**There’s a complete freeze on Pakistani students entering the United States. I can’t help but think that this is part of a planned strategy to keep Pakistanis away from the US universities and filling them up with Indian students. **

Complete freeze? I would like to ask all pakistanis in universities to confirm this. It takes a longer time to get visa, the guidelines are more strict but that is about it.

**Muslim community leaders’ worst fears are coming true: all the patriotism in America after 9/11 is translating into racism and Islamophobia. The detention of three medical students for a full day on a fake charge is just one example. **

Not “all” the patriotism is turnign into bigotry. there are cases of idiots, and sadly we have to deal with it, but its not quite the doomsday scenario.

More muslims get harrassed in Pakistan than got harassed in US. Thank God sipah e this and lashkar e that type of idiots are now banned.

**The Ashcroftism of today is dangerous for any country, especially the United States with its extremely diverse population. **

This I cant disagree with.

**The other day, former President Clinton made a comment on a late night television show to the effect that the United States should in fact allow more Muslim students to enter the country in order to increase international contacts. **

**The Pakistan government should take up the issue with the US government and ask for an end to this blatant racism. If there has to be more investigation before the issuance of a US visa, it should cover everybody and not only the people with specific nationalities. **

and then we also allow every country to take up issue with us regarding prejudice in Pakistan?

**Kawa chala haans ke chaal
aapni chaal bhe bhool gaya :rotfl: **

If thats how you feel, you should not coem to MIT, if they ever gave you admission, or go for work in San Jose, if that ever was offered.

lagta hai you have a chip on your shoulder, kya hua, visa refuse ho gaya?

A letter to editor in Dawn is not God’s word, its someone perspective. In this case the views support yours. I ams ure that the views of other ppl here on thos forum, whoa rte Pakistanis and are studying abroad or working abroad will bring more balance to this.

as far as Islamophobia goes, the sheer number of ppl killed in Pakistan by rival “religious gangs” will indicate that we are more islamophobic.

""he Pakistan government should take up the issue with the US government and ask for an end to this blatant racism. If there has to be more investigation before the issuance of a US visa, it should cover everybody and not only the people with specific nationalities. "

massomiat:hehe::hehe: when has the Govt of Pakistan taken up issues for the people of Pakistan living INSIDE Pakistan that it would do this for those living OUTSIDE of Pakistan…:hehe::hehe:

PCK,

Do you have a link (URL) to this letter to the editor? I checked the DAWN for today but can't seem to find it.

meri jaan fraudiay

the irony of the situiation is that both of us are in the same country :hehe:

but I still see reason in his “letter to the editor” and u cant…
let me justify
about islamophobia …ok do u want examples …ok
a guy has done masters in wireless communications from the uni of florida he was bent over backwards to get a job in US and they refused him because he was a muslim …I wont take the name …he has a part time job now but remember he graduated from “college of aeronautical engineering” with a grade point average of 3.5 and now has a masters degree in wireless communication. he was littrally cryin on the phone, alas!!! my company only deals in embedded DRAMs (if u know what they are) or i would have tried for him.
another friend of mine doing masters in DSP from uni of varginia is crying day in and day out that he has been peanoalised for no crime of his …he graduated with a grade point average of 3.7 from GIK (ghulam ishaq intuitute of technology)
ok enough examples.

In pakistan if u dont get a job …its because u r not good in the fieled(or too much of saturation…or nepoatism needed) but not because a person is a punjabi or what ever there might be nepoatism/flattery/bribe or 100 other issues involved… but pathan , punjabi,sindhi are lame excuses ,People do get a job.

some one who is a pathan from northren pakistan got a job with A.L engineerings quite a good company in karachi (construction company did all the designing for a bridge in california) sharahe faisal.

now to the other scenario (Answer)…USA is running this war in a hypocritical way …even my collegues americans are clue less, Yesterday on fox news they were showin a documentry on sudan rebels …1 year ago sudan rebels had nothing more then sticks in there hand …but now the are dressed in US marines uniforms …mai koi funduu nahi hoon …but the truth is truth. There are hundreds of other examples…(quote) USA given an aid of 6 billion dolleres to israel for fighting against “terrorism” against “muslims”…USA going in East Timor to get the minority christians there freedom against “muslims”. Usa is going in iraq to get a regime change for “muslims”

all this u said in ur previous post is not to satisfy my concern but to satisfy ur self …it is a very BASIC instinct of human nature to give excuses to ones self .

rest of the answer will be in my other posts.

** Keep personal comments out of this thread. Thank you**

here is the link

http://www.dawn.com/2002/09/20/letted.htm#1

PKC, Thanks! Much appriciated.

** This is the Pakistan Affairs forum, meant specifically for dedicated dicussion about issues related to Pakistan. There is a set of policies which govern this and the other politics forums (posted in the announcements). You have posted a thread to discuss an issue related to Pakistan, which is fine.

But if you have an issue with any moderator of this site I respectfully ask you to PM or e-mail the relevant moderator. Additionally, you can post your comments in the 'Feedback Forum' (which I note you already have). Any more irrelvant replies (not related to the topic of this thread) will be deleted.

Thank you

Mursalin.**

OK I AM SORRY MURSALINE THE MISTAKE WONT BE REPEATED.

*Originally posted by Poodenay_Ki_Chutney: *

**meri jaan fraudiay **

aho ji?

** the irony of the situiation is that both of us are in the same country :hehe: **

good.

** but I still see reason in his “letter to the editor” and u cant…
let me justify **

I see exaggeration in his letter, there is some validity to it, but its not a 100% all encompassing fact.

** about islamophobia …ok do u want examples …ok **

aure and then I will give you some of my examples..

**a guy has done masters in wireless communications from the uni of florida he was bent over backwards to get a job in US and they refused him because he was a muslim …I wont take the name …he has a part time job now but remember he graduated from “college of aeronautical engineering” with a grade point average of 3.5 and now has a masters degree in wireless communication. he was littrally cryin on the phone, alas!!! my company only deals in embedded DRAMs (if u know what they are) or i would have tried for him. **

Embry Riddle is an okay university its not great, as far as your company making DRAms goes, the guy has some technical background, he can fit in somewhere, afteall he is an engineer and with the convergence of IT and telecom, he could play a good role in it. Maybe you should pass around his resume to people that you know.

**another friend of mine doing masters in DSP from uni of varginia is crying day in and day out that he has been peanoalised for no crime of his …he graduated with a grade point average of 3.7 from GIK (ghulam ishaq intuitute of technology) **

well cant he go back and find a job in Pakistan? GIK is a good university and has a good rep. I know of several GIK people doing very well in the US.

**ok enough examples. **

Here are my examples…how many people on thsi board are mulims living in US who are working? My former company had 50%+ layoffs within 6 months. I was not affected. I have a number of Pakistani friends who work for Motorola, and as many cuts as that company has had, they are still there. I know people at IBM who are still there even massive cuts in their groups. Yet I just got an email from a former jewish colelague of mine because she was just laid off. as far as good universities go, a good friend of mine just introduced me to one of his friends who has an MBA from a top school and when i say top I mean top 10, who was working witha prestigious investment bank and just got laid off. I know american friends of mine who are out of a job and are looking.

Dont get me wrong, I have a brother who just finished his masters and has not found a job, but the economy sucks. its tough.

In pakistan if u dont get a job …its because u r not good in the fieled(or too much of saturation…or nepoatism needed) but not because a person is a punjabi or what ever there might be nepoatism/flattery/bribe or 100 other issues involved… but pathan , punjabi,sindhi are lame excuses ,People do get a job. **

ever bothered to read the grievances different ethnic groups in pakistan have with one another. makes you wonder about the whole domicile situationa nd quotas in professional colleges too.

** some one who is a pathan from northren pakistan got a job with A.L engineerings quite a good company in karachi (construction company did all the designing for a bridge in california) sharahe faisal. **

A.L engineers, not familiar with them. i am familiar with major Pakistani engineering firms like gammon, ACE, EA, etc.

**now to the other scenario (Answer)…USA is running this war in a hypocritical way …even my collegues americans are clue less, Yesterday on fox news they were showin a documentry on sudan rebels …1 year ago sudan rebels had nothing more then sticks in there hand …but now the are dressed in US marines uniforms …mai koi funduu nahi hoon …but the truth is truth. There are hundreds of other examples…(quote) USA given an aid of 6 billion dolleres to israel for fighting against “terrorism” against “muslims”…USA going in East Timor to get the minority christians there freedom against “muslims”. Usa is going in iraq to get a regime change for “muslims” **

okay so peopel dont know the stuff, okay so there is support of Israel. so on and so forth.

all this u said in ur previous post is not to satisfy my concern but to satisfy ur self …it is a very BASIC instinct of human nature to give excuses to ones self .

I have no interest in satisfying your concern, I am presenting a balanced point of view. You used the situation with some people you know to extrapolate that there is widespread prejudice going around. While there is some prejudice, that is not the only reason these guys did not get jobs. Their work status, plus maybe lack of work experience in US, as well as just the sheer quality of candidates out there right now.

Have you not followed the whole It job market over the last year and a half, or even ever since teh dot com bubble burst. Do you know how many Indian H1 ppl had to leave because their work visas were not renewed?

But if you feel that things here are this bad, why dont yougo back? did you not write in one of your posts that you got admitted to MIT for some masters program as well as secured some very high paying job in San Jose. How did you get it and your friends did not?

Point is, there is prejudice around, no doubt about it, but it may nto be as bad as you think. As far as your friends go, maybe they need to go back to school and study a bit more until the economy stabilizes, or go to Pakistan or middle east. Many peopel I know went to middle east and are doing well, and many lost their jobs and went back to Pakistan from the middle east, dont know what kind of islamophobia is going on in saudi arabia and UAE.

Times are tough, job market is bad, the unemployment rate is highest its been in a decade or so.

F1 graduates are in a tougher position than other grads, but even fresh american grads are having trouble finding jobs, taking longer time to land somewhere, and waytoo many expereinced people are out in teh market.

a good friend, and one cousin of mine were both let go from their cushy investment banking jobs and had trouble finding something, well now both of them are starting their MBAs at top B-schools and by the time they come out the market should look different.

as i said, there are many ppl here on GS who are working. Lets hear some more perspectives.