IslamOnline.net no more

The site visited my millions of Muslims and non-Muslims has been shut down recently due to pressure from the new board of directors. The 300 or so editors are protesting against the new board which wants the site to take the salafi/wahabi approach.

read more here: ILLUME :: Islam Online Goes Offline

:frowning: sad news

Re: IslamOnline.net no more

Although it is said but on the internet even the sky is not the limit . They can start their own website. what is stopping them ?
It takes only a few hundred dollars to start a powerful world class website.
They can start islamonline2.0.com.

I'm glad the editors are protesting. The salafi/wahabi approach is ONE approach, not the ONLY RIGHT approach, and quite frankly why do wahabis keep popping up in scenarios where we see them enforcing their opinions on others???

It's not like its some brand of Islam that is the ONLY correct brand of Islam. It's just a different way of looking at the religion. Not something that should be forced down everyone's throats.

Scholars4Dollars=Saudi=Wahabi=Asskissing

Whoever owns the site and employs the staff has the right to put on it what they want.

I personally think neither the extreme approach nor the ultra-liberal one is right..

Khair jo bhi... *they need to get over their differences in a civilised manner, *duniya ke saamney aur na tamasha banao, pehlay hi Musalman ek tamasha ban chukey hain...

Muslims should learn from Jews who are always united regardless of whether they are orthodox, liberal or reform.

sad, the site was pretty good resource although i was an occasional browser.

not easy to recoup infrastructure and braanding, but i guess as masala says they have to find new investors who can pay not so much for server space which is pretty cheap but their salaries. i dont suppose it was making much money though.

I liked that site, Sunnipath is another good one..

Sad news

quoted for truth