Islamists burn 'vulgar' posters, videos in northwest Pakistan

Re: Islamists burn 'vulgar' posters, videos in northwest Pakistan

hmmm no reply? damn that shut a whole lot of mouths.

Ok, husband is Pashtun, so walking a line here since he believes all the problems of the world are solved by them :).

I don't think being one thing or another has anything whatsoever to do with it. People are people whether Pashtun or not and all standards Muslims are held to are the same, correct?Personal freedom is what this is infringing, it has really nothing to do with religion.

So, basically what is being said is that no one has the right to make up their own mind or is even given the option of doing so.

I thought that walking the path to God was between that person and God. A person makes up his mind to be pure or not and no one can make up their mind for them. So, what this means is there are Mullahs who don't trust their people to walk the path to God so instead of guiding, they imprison by denying even to the point that if there is a womans face on a cover, it is burned. Like the Family Magazine?

If a person is not allowed to view something in their religion, then they don't if they are true. It is haram to eat pork, so you don't, right? Does this mean that every pig in the provence must be slaughtered, even if it belongs to a person of another faith, simply because someone might look at it and wonder? You don't because you know better.

It's the same with porn or (by a long stretch of the imagination) condom ads.

So, a picture can incite men or women to be uncontrolable animals?

I guess what I am trying to say is that people's standards are going to be different and if you start censorship along these lines where do you draw the line? Who is the person whose standards you are going to adhere to?

Just like some who responded said - why a family magazine? Others may say it wasn't enough.

That is the problem with censorship like this. It is a subjective rather than objective standard.

There is good and bad in everyone, and Pashtuns are no angels but our culture is very conservative and very demanding at the same time. We have our share of dirt, for example these Mullahs are burning all this magz and cds etc but for the past 10 years in the name of Pashto garbage movies full of whores from hera mundi shaking their big asses in tights are being produced and not one single bullet has been shot. Instead they burn down theaters if they don’t show a clip of nanga nanga.

Most of these Mullahs have dish all decked up at their homes, and have all sorts of channels. I had a few experiences with these beryani lovers so not all of them are so pious, but at the same time there are some who really are very open minded, very pious and they loose in the end because of these few crooks.

All of this is publicity stunt. These Mullahs are just taking advantage of the sentiment of the locals. If they really want to do something, burn down “Lollywood” and send the rest of them to Bollywood.

^^Its got some merit to it....Punjabi have a lot of inherent begharti in them....All the lollywood and heera mundi types are generally Punjabans....In Karachi, male and female compartments in buses are separate, while in Punjab there is no such thing and its open season on all women for perverts to prey on.......But punjabans seem to enjoy that....

Come on Che...It's not that bad...Allama Iqbal was Punjabi too...

It's a different issue where Allama tells the Punjabi naujawan "to get his head out of the dirt"...:D

Infact this whole board is made and run by Punjabis...I think they are doing a fine job...

Still...

Re: Islamists burn ‘vulgar’ posters, videos in northwest Pakistan

No, actually, Iqbal was a Kashmiri…

At times your sheer brainlessness is alarming.
I don’t debate your argument or care what you are saying. It is simply irrelevant to me…
My problem is with the attitude people like you have. It such a typical Muslim trait to exhibit this kind of stupidity where you make blanket statements about people based on race or ethnicity. This is morally wrong behavior, made worse by your supposed Islamic pretensions. You say this about Punjabis, they call Urdu speaking people cowards, Urdu speaking people curse Sindhis, Sindhis hate all other ethnic groups who live in Karachi, Palestinians hate all other Arabs, Arabs hate Kurds blah blah blah…
Get over it you idiots. The world dominates us while we have petty fights with each other.

elahi, his sheer brainlessness isn't alarming, it's actually quite amusing and expected.

I agree urdu speaking people are mostly cowards and most Sindhis are xenophobes, but from the same token most punjabis are beghairet…we all have our deficiencies, but there are always exceptions…

CheGuvera, what ethnicity are you?

^^ Argentine by birth, but Cuvano by choice.....

suchmuch tu punjabi nahi hai?

nahi yara....Punjab mein aik chota sa gaaon hai, uska naam hai Pakistan, mein wahan say hoon....

acha bola

No actually Iqbal was from Sialkot and his background was kashmiri... Just like many other Pakistani's livin in Punjab.. and most of them do speak punjabi as well... So don't be dissin Punjab

charras afheem grown by bearded pathaans at time of salat they go to masjid, someone can hire them to kill someone else and yet still at time of salat that killer go for namaaz.
it proves that they are good bussiness people and good religious namazis.

^ And somehow you know of these activities.