Islamic Golden Age

The Islamic Golden Age is a historical period lasting from c. 750 CE to c. 1257 CE, during which philosophers, scientists and engineers of the Islamic world are credited with a period of contribution to scientific knowledge, cultural arts, civilisation and architecture, both by developing earlier traditions and by a period of relatively rapid and marked innovation. A substantial degree of historic Islamic intellectual innovation occurred in the so-called Golden age.

lets discuss all the develpoment tht took place in different area like islamic art,philospy,science and medi in that era,also discuss important names tht contributed to this developmen,how and from which region it started, n wht were thr reasons for its decline.

Re: Islamic Golden Age

Why it started from 750 CE, why not earlier. I think the period started in 571 CE with the birth of Holy Prophet and the message of God as conveyed by the Prophet was the basis for development that followed.

When we talk about development it does not restricted to inventions and all that it does include improvement of social values and Islam was the code of life that generated a new soul and enegry in people of Arabia. They were fighting with each other and were involved in many vices. Killing their daughters in infancy was a norm. There was no respect for women in their society. The women were treated like commodities without basic rights. Even they didn't get the right of divorce. Islam empowered Arab women and fixed her share in inheritance.

yes ofcourse its foundation was laid at tht time when MUHAMMAD (PBUH) was merchant and mecca was the center of the trade.it started from there.
but i think in this era it was at it peak n all major development took place at this time thts y its called islamic golden age

I think 750 CE has been selected by those historians who don't like Banu Ummayds period. Banu Ummayad period was important because major conquests including (Sindh and Spain were made during this period in 711-712 CE). Apart from this, Banu Ummayd also became successful in forming their rule in Spain, which is the most bright chapter of this Golden Era, because its Spain that gave us most of the prominient scholars.

BTW DA do you know Zaid Hamid?

no :confused:

Lets invite ninja in this thread, because both Zaid Hamid and his theories about Golden age of Muslims are favourites of ninja :)

oh really yeah call him

Ok Devi ji, ninja is sharmaing.. so let me brief you about Zaid Hamid. He is the famous person in both India & Pakistan for his controversial Ghazwa e Hind theory on the pretext that Muslims got right to rule the world. They did it for 800 years each in India and Spain so they should follow Iqbal's poetry and wage jihad against the non-muslims.

ok

PS. ninja ko samne kary mei bhi tu dehku kasa lagta hai sharmaty huay :cb:

ninja visited the thread, but didn't reply (see my post no 2 for the proof, ninja visited this thread) :)

Ok DA what do you think was the major development that Islam and Golden age of Muslims provided to the world. Is there any particular Muslim personality that you can put against the genius scholars of Europe in later centuries?

:sid:

baut sharma lya chalo ab zara khuch contribute karo shahbash :ASA:

Does this theory have religious sanction? I mean in the religious books?

Were there any centers of learning established like Universities during this time and where ? Did any of the scientists have royal patronage or any such help?

I do not mean to belittle the advancements that Islam made for women of Arabia. I feel the women of Arabia were neither better or worse than the women in the Patriarchal societies of the world of that era. The very fact that the prophet's first wife was a successful business woman implies that women held respected positions and jobs and their life might have been better than women in other societies of that time period for example China. But I suppose Islam made their lives even better.

Islam does not preach for expansion. It teaches us that there is no compulsion in religion. Ghazwa e Hind is an interpretation by the expansionists who want it at any cost even going against the basic teachings of the religion they exploit for their interests.

Good question. There were patronised scientists in Spain and Baghdad. We tried to discuss about the universities of Islamic countries in this thread:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/world-history/551735-universities-in-old-islamic-world.html

Yes the Arab women in upper class were privileged to some extent, but in many tribes buring of baby girl was done without any hesitation and was socially acceptable. A man could divorce a woman for unlimited times, but could make her marry again and again, without any restriction. It was Islam that defined the proper regulations for divorce and re-marrying.

Was this not the time that saw the emergence to Sufism? I belive that Islam as a religion gained many adherents in Kashmir and the Bangladesh region because people felt comfortable with Sufism. So were Sufis only mystics or were they scientists too? I know a lady who was studying Islam cos she was engaged to a muslim guy. The marriage did not take place but she confided later in me that she felt more comfortable with Sufism than mainstream Islam or what ever it was that her boyfriend was teaching her. She is still very much into Sufism. What little I have read of Sufism seems very similar to the Vedanta philosophy, granted I am no expert in either one of them so I may be wrong?