Islamabad has no movie theater?

Re: Islamabad has no movie theater?

Why Hollywood/English? We have our own culture.

Lollywood needs to improve and provide decent Urdu, Punjabi and Pashto movies.

It should look to Hollywood for inspiration though, I'm getting sick of Bollywood's cheesy high-pitched musicals.

Islamabad has a dictheater, isn’t that enough for you? :rolleyes:

Funny but sad at the same time.

I think the Melody theatre was burned down by the terrorists. As for NAFDEC, I think it was converted to something else recently, or atleast sometime during the past 5 years. I remember that they showed Matrix for the longest time. It was in the theatre for like a year if not more.

And yeah, it really isn't that odd that Islamabad doesn't have a theatre. Pindi isn't that far away. Islamabad is basically like an over-grown sub-urban neighbourhood. Lots of sub-urban neighbourhoods don't have movie theatres because the population density is very low.

And Islamabad is a camp as remarked by the Japanese Ambassador on one Eid-ul-Fitr.

There is a new chain of movie theatrs opening in Pakistan, showing English and Pakistani movies. Its called CINEPAX. They just recently opened one in Rawalpindi!! http://www.cinepax.com Its in Jinnah Park next to Mcdonalds, hardly a 30 minute drive from Islamabad. SMS the word CPX to 6622 and they will sms you back the show times for movies playing that day.

They are also constructing one next to Islamabad Club on Murree road which will probably be better than the one in Rawalpindi.

Note: The one in Pindi has 5 screens!!! Western style.

Also the theatre in Melody was burned down in a riot a few years ago along with many cars and a shell pump.. Sad turn of events since it was recently rennovated and very popular. It was still old style though!!

NAFDEC Cinema located in Blue area has been shut down for many years and as I heard from many people it was VERY crappy!!! A man who won the lottery in USA had purchased it and not opened it. Many cinema plots alloted by the CDA were made into commercial plaza’s by people who bought them and the CDA took no action. These people found commercial plaza more profitable. Beverly center in example was supposed to be a CINEMA plot!

If you dont mind watching older dvd’s on a small screen cinema, there is a house in F7 near Faisal Masjid converted into a private “club” called PLANET-X which has a tiny movie theatre! You need membership here though and a reference of a member. Its mostly couples and old ladies who frequent the place though.

Islamabad club shows movies once every sunday, usually some english movie. Thats about it!

That's because Islamabad is ridiculously boring.

chalo ghareebon ko movies dekhnay ko mileen, kitna tarpay hayn bicharay, Yusuf bhai, ye ghareeb aap ke hamesha ke liye ehsan talay dab gaye hayn

Because movies will run past their 10:00 PM bed time.

Do families/women even go to the cinemas in Pak? I heard that cinemas are not at all a good place for women/families there. At least in Lahore....

In Karachi, people used to do family outings to cinemas. The whole family would go. Not really the kind of place where women do "Girls Night Out" or anything.

I've been to the theatres in Pakistan - the public usually is garbage, but if you see a "family film", you'll see more women. Then its not so bad, if you pay for the most expensive tickets. Its sad, but true. Vaise the public you see at a theatre - I've never seen a hornier and unicvilized jaahil group of people in my life - its like they're lining up to see a strip show.

I remember watching 'sargam' at nafdec. Thats the first movie I ever watched on the big screen.

u mean uncle sargaam and his Kaliyaaan crowd but they used to come on telly !

how big screen ya telly was fehmeeeda?

sounds like a Reno or Bambino flick to me :)

***Soon..there'll be no cinemas in KARACHI as well.

ISLAMABAD's most popular cinema hall was MELODY which was eventually taken over by NAFDEC when Agha Nasir was its Chief.

Isloo is not cut out for cinema halls.....and like VIDEO killed the RADIO star...the DVD or VHS murdered the CINEMAZAAR....!!!

I still can't comprehend HOW people can enjoy movies on DVDs & even on large flat screens?

The charm of watching the movie is only on the big (Cinemascope) or 70MM screen.

Last night we watched TITANIC (me for the 18th time) and it was like wow! (I watched it on big screen at Bahrain, Dubai, Kuala Lumpur earlier also).....as the fun and involvement was like watc hing it for the first time!

KARACHI's RIO CINEMA was the biggest in PAKISTAN with a capacity of 1100 seats...and the cinema was minimum number of seats (42) at Karachi was SCALA (like a lifeboat of the adjacent BAMBINO cinema).

Moreover---there are private cinemas with a limited seating capacities for their groups---at houses, in Isloo are coming up fast!

Cheers----------Raju (Glasgow)

ISLAMABAD MAIN MELODY KO BOHAT ACHA RENNOVATE KIA THA AUR MAIN APNI FRIEND KAY SATH MOVIE DAIKHNAY GAI THI MOVIE SAY ZIADA HALL ACHA LAG RAHA THA MAGAR AFSOS 2 DIN BAD HI AGG LAGA DI GAI.PINDI MAIN DOSRAY CINEMA SIWAY PAF,AUR JINNAH PARK WALAY KAY ILLAWA FAMILIY KAY SATH DOSRAY CINEMA MAIN NAHI JA SAKHTAY..

No, it was a movie featuring adnan sami and zeba bukhtiar... kalliyaan was a classic though, loved it...

Exactly..............
There is no match for big screen ( theater)

Islamabad IS a movie theater