Islam is the best religion, muslims are the worst people

I have heard so many people saying this when asked why despite the fact that Islam is such a highly moral religion, many muslims who proudly state that they are muslims behave despicably. How can you reconciole the two, in Islam or for that fact in any other religion?

Assalamualaikum

This is a very important point. If for instance yuo are in search for a religion the worst thing you could do is to study the people who follow that religion and not the religion it self. In the world today many muslims make mistakes. Some of these mistakes are harmful to the universality of humanity. Does this mean that Islam is the one which is like this? Not at all. Please study Islam and not the muslims before you make the decision. Salaam and May Allah protect us all. Ameen.

But I am against the notion that Muslims are the worst followers of their religion. I think Islam is the only religion who has been succesful in maintaining its original state and this is because of its followers. Even today if you visit any mosque, you will find life in it. While comparing with Christianity, churches are one big empty places where you hardly find any life or life forms. Other than this, Islam has been blessed with the book of Quran and people (albeit few) who are there to guide those who turn away from the right path. How many Muslims do you know commit adultary or drink wine or cross the hudood laid down by God? Of course there are and there will remain exceptions who spoil the image of our religion. But please do not generalise things by saying that Muslims are the worst people. If compare the Muslim societies with the Non muslim ones, you will indeed find that Muslims are in fact the best people to have roamed the earth.

"Only two things are infinite: The universe and human stupidity." I am not quite sure of the universe...

Something is missing.
A thought or religion is incomplete and defective if it can be misused, especially when it can be misused for killings.
It is rather hypocrisy that we are urged to study Islam and not look at the Muslims.
Islam is one of few religions or sects that requires defense.

Muslims don’t drink wine. Majority of them prefer whiskey or vodka, because holy Quran is silent here.

i agree with the statement islam is the best and muslims are the worst

Following is the answer to your question, but I understand that big majority of Muslim community is deviating from Qur’an and Sunnah and that’s why we see bad character Muslims.

Q. If Islam is the best religion, why are many of the Muslims dishonest, unreliable, and involved in activities such as cheating, bribing, dealing in drugs, etc.?
A.

1. Media maligns Islam

a. Islam is without doubt the best religion but the media is in the hands of the westerners who are afraid of Islam. The media is continuously broadcasting and printing information against Islam. They either provide misinformation about Islam, misquote Islam or project a point out of proportion, if any.

b. When any bomb blasts take place anywhere, the first people to be accused without proof are invariably the Muslims. This appears as headlines in the news. Later, when they find that non-Muslims were responsible, it appears as an insignificant news’ item.

c. If a 50 year old Muslim marries a 15 year old girl after taking her permission, it appears on the front page but when a 50 year old non-Muslim rapes a 6 year old girl, it may appear in the news in the inside pages as ‘Newsbriefs’. Everyday in America on an average 2,713 cases of rape take place but it doesn’t appear in the news, since it has become a way of life for the Americans.

1. Black sheep in every community:

I am aware that there are some Muslims who are dishonest, unreliable, who cheat, etc. but the media projects this as though only Muslims are involved in such activities. There are black sheep in every community. I know Muslims who are alcoholics and who can drink most of the non-Muslims under the table.

1. Muslims best as a whole:

Inspite of all the black sheep in the Muslim community, Muslims taken on the whole, yet form the best community in the world. We are the biggest community of tee-totallers as a whole, i.e. those who don’t imbibe alcohol. Collectively, we are a community which gives the maximum charity in the world. There is not a single person in the world who can even show a candle to the Muslims where modesty is concerned; where sobriety is concerned; where human values and ethics are concerned.

1. Don’t judge a car by its driver:

If you want to judge how good is the latest model of the “Mercedes” car and a person who does not know how to drive sits at the steering wheel and bangs up the car, who will you blame? The car or the driver? But naturally, the driver. To analyze how good the car is, a person should not look at the driver but see the ability and features of the car. How fast is it, what is its average fuel consumption, what are the safety measures, etc. Even if I agree for the sake of argument that the Muslims are bad, we can’t judge Islam by its followers? If you want to judge how good Islam is then judge it according to its authentic sources, i.e. the Glorious Qur’an and the Sahih Hadith.

1. Judge Islam by its best follower i.e. Prophet Mohammed (pbuh):

If you practically want to check how good a car is put an expert driver behind the steering wheel. Similarly the best and the most exemplary follower of Islam by whom you can check how good Islam is, is the last and final messenger of God, Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Besides Muslims, there are several honest and unbiased non-Muslim historians who have acclaimed that prophet Muhammad was the best human being. According to Michael H. Hart who wrote the book, ‘The Hundred Most Influential Men in History’, the topmost position, i.e. the number one position goes to the beloved prophet of Islam, Muhammad (pbuh). There are several such examples of non-Muslims paying great tributes to the prophet, like Thomas Carlyle, La-Martine, etc.

by Dr. Zakir Naik, taken from http://www.whyislam.org/faqs/

Muslim bashing has been common around the world media for a long time, but now self bashing is becoming the norm amongst muslims as well.

The portrayal of a whole society as corrupt based on the deficiencies of a select few is a concept initiated and propagated by the western media exclusively for third world, underdeveloped and developing countries. However, these formulas are not applied to their own societies:)

quote by maulvi
If for instance yuo are in search for a religion the worst thing you could do is to study the people who follow that religion and not the religion it self.

How else can one learn about a religion if not through its followers? We can take our own examples. As kids, we copy our parents as they pray, we copy them in actions, motions and what not. And those are the most important days of our formation. That is why sunnat-e-rasool is so stressed upon, since thats how sahaba got close to Islam i-e looking at the life of Prophet SAW, and as generations passed on, people continued to look up to, and copy their predecessors in what they did, and how they did it. So practical representation plays as big a part as does theoretical one.

Im not saying that the world is justified in classifying Islam as a 'terrorist' religion, or muslims as 'terrorists' based on the one or two examples they see, but it does contribute. Our attitude does contribute. When we claim Pakistan to be an Islamic country, we have to demonstrate that as well. The world will only try to collaborate our words with our actions. If we say one thing, yet do something totally opposite, we cant blame the world for thinking in the erratic ways that they do.

Iam with Akif

Original problem of Islam is the description of transport system to heaven. Whether it is jihad, or destruction of statues, prohibition of entertainment, killings of non-believers and hook or crook conversion by any means all followers are in a hurry to be assure of their booking.

Originally posted by skv anand:
Original problem of Islam is the description of transport system to heaven. Whether it is jihad, or destruction of statues, prohibition of entertainment, killings of non-believers and hook or crook conversion by any means all followers are in a hurry to be assure of their booking.

SKv Anand,
Remember a silent fool may be taken for a wise man but once you open your mouth about which you have no true knowledge & at best only propoganda political views ,you risk showing your ignorence ,idiocy & imbecility.

The basic tenent of prayer &devotion to god is not because GOD,allah needs your prayers ,he has many angels,& farishta prostrating for him for that if he wanted.& you are not doing gods work only for going to heaven(do not focus on heaven hourie that you hindus are obsessed with)I understand as hindu you wouldnt do anything untill there is inducement seduction or prize for you.For muslims he doesnt think of the prize but does it as love reverence & devotion to allah showing GRATEFULLness.

"Now your systems like :TRANSPORT SYSTEM TO HEAVEN"?

"it is jihad, or destruction of statues, prohibition of entertainment, killings of non-believers and hook or crook conversion by any m"

These things are not for going to heaven,but part of religion with much mopre discussion on situation when this situation arises,In short ,if i just kill you b/c yu are kafir ,i will be condenmed by god even if YOU think its islamic jehad ,it isn't

There is no prize for destroying anything leave alone your idol.Yes i dont want to keep in my house just as i dont want to keep a dog in my house that doesnt mean i go killing dogs??

Who said islam doesnt have celebration entertaimment & fun social gathering.Your ignorence ,WE have enough fun & entertainment without getting knocked out with drinks that you dont even remember your nights in the morning.

"HOOK OR BY CROOK" conversion.If we did that mr.Anand your forefathers wouldnt have survived 1000 yrs of muslim kingship over your ancestors!If that was true india would be atleast on paper 100% muslims.Do you think we wouldnt have made it a precondition to any body needing anything from muslims like coming to this forum.do you read any post forcing ,torturing you to become muslim.we dont want any muslim who give lip-service .NO BROWNIE POINTS FOR US EITHER HERE OR IN
HEAVEN.Helping a novice to learn more about muslims & islam is commendable act upon muslims praiseworthy ,hardly coercion & wouldnt make sense in the islamic spirit & principle anywayze.

TRU TO BE SILENT I MIGHT NOT HAVE KNOWN YOUR IGNORENCE.or better still read authentic source & quote your source! .

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

[This message has been edited by Azad Munna (edited April 07, 2001).]

Muslims don’t drink wine. Majority of them prefer whiskey or vodka, because holy Quran is silent here.**

People argue that a religion 1400 years old cannot understand the changing world and hence most of its laws are obsolete.
Islam is a universal religion which was not meant for people of one time, race are nation. The basic principles of Islam will remain the same even after 10 millenia. Prohet Muhammad (SAWS) was not but a blessing for the whole universe.

Islam Derives its laws from FOUR sources, viz. :
1) The Holy Quran
2) The Sunnah of the Prophet (Anything the Prophet said, did or approved)
3) Ijmaa (Joint Consensus)
4) Qiyaas (Own Judgement)

The Quran and Sunnah form the Primary laws while the other two form the secondary laws. If one could not find anything relating to something in the Quran, he can search for it in the sunnah. If one could not anything in the Sunnah, they should follow what has been unanimously agreed and decided by a grouip of Sahaba or well-known scholars. If the Ijmaa is silent over that matter, then one should use his own reasonable judgement.

You mention here that Muslims do nnot drink Wine, but they drink whiskey because is silent over there. In fact, the Quran is silent over Wine too. It does not use the word wine anywhere. The word used in the Quran is "Khamr" which means any thing which intoxicates man and fogs the mind causing him to err in thinking and judgement and makes him addiced to it. The reason for the use of the word "wine" in most translations is that it was the only form of Khamr present at that time.
The words chosen by the Quran are such that they cannot be confined to one era or generation. The give a broad meaning.
So, we cannot say that Islam permits Whiskey, drugs, Hijacking of planes, bombimgs, crimes on the net and the like just because they are not mentioned in the quran.
Remember, the laws of Islam are the same for all people of all times. They just have to be applied in a different way. Islam can never become obsolete.

"Only two things are infinite: The universe and human stupidity." I am not quite sure of the universe...

What are you condemning Sir? Deeds of followers of Islam or its interpretation?
Why a great and universal religion is bonded to definitions? Why wisdom and rational thinking may not take place?

Rgds

My two bits:

One thing is for sure that non-Muslims learn about Islam from its followers. This is what happens generally, we know mostly about Christians, that they have separated church and state and that they drink and so on, we do not scrutinize Bible and Gospels to find out what exactly Christianity is.

Same is the case with Islam, it is very natural for any non-Muslim or even Muslim to have a look at another and norms are taken to be a part of religion. That is how Sunnah of the Prophet was originally transmitted before having documented.

It is also beyond doubt that Muslims have misrepresented Islam quite a bit. This is a fact but we are unable to take it as it is. The same has happened with Christianity and Judaism, rather more in extent. Media has also been a bit unfair, but that is also in part due to the Muslims. Muslims have taken all non-Muslims states as their enemies, labeling them as Kaafirs, who in turn attack Islam.

Sectarian violence, disallowing education to females, barring non-Muslim minorities from appearing in courts, prohibition of English education and especially the Jihad in Kashmir - without indulging into the discussion of its legitimacy right now - are some of the accepted Islamic traits that need to be revisited and understood. No doubt they have been misrepresented. Unfortunately Muslims no longer understand their own religious scripture, namely the Qur'an. We have numerous sessions in mosques where hadith and other religious stories are narrated and much stress is laid down on beard instead of other necessary traits like honesty and kindness.

I think masses here need to revert back to the original text and understand it, along with its content. And EVERY Muslim needs to make that effort.

Regards,
M. Omer Iqbal

Mr. Iqbal:
Are there more pakistanis like you or you are the sole surviving rational Paki? Almost all Pakis on this forum are ready to cut off us Kaffir's fingertips on drop of a hat and then they complaint that everyone hates Muslims.

**What are you condemning Sir? Deeds of followers of Islam or its interpretation?
Why a great and universal religion is bonded to definitions? Why wisdom and rational thinking may not take place?

Rgds

Talking to me??

Im condemning ignorence.

you seem to think islam is about killing kafir,forcefully converting non muslims,ARE we are any worse than other groups at that particular time,If muslim were adventerous like many european & other advanced rasces ,why single out muslims for spreading From morocco to indonesia,Give us credit not your jelous brick bat,Just b/c your forfathers were steeped in ignornce about knowledge ,not strong or bold enough to venture outside the house ,you sir are feeble & invalid not muslim who have been dynamic & PROUD Of it
Dont try to justify your jelousy by hatrate.as you & indian do about muslims.Its the generousity of muslim that u still remain majority in iNdia otherwise you all could have been dead or muslim if muslim kings were to do what yu accuse them of doing.

"jo kHat main kahte they apni jaan mujhko
aaj kHat likhne main unki jaan jaati hai .....

[This message has been edited by FYI (edited April 09, 2001).]

Originally posted by schopenhauer:
*Mr. Iqbal:
Are there more pakistanis like you or you are the sole surviving rational Paki? Almost all Pakis on this forum are ready to cut off us Kaffir's fingertips on drop of a hat and then they complaint that everyone hates Muslims. *

Only indian hindus like you & this poster:skv Anand are hater proof:                   

Original problem of Islam is the description of transport system to
heaven. Whether it is jihad, or destruction of statues, prohibition of
entertainment, killings of non-believers and hook or crook conversion by
any means all followers are in a hurry to be assure of their booking."

This guy & you like minded have several nuts missing in your grey area of brain!!

Dear Schopenhauer,

Who said you were a Kaafir? All non-Muslims are not necessarily Kaafirs, neither are all Hindus or Christians or Jews or whatever.

There are many scholars, let alone Muslims, who hold the same point of view as mine. Unfortunately, those are often threatened by sectarian groups for their propagation of Islam.

Best,
Omer

Majority religions Christianity, Judaism, Buddhists and Hindu don’t react easily. Smaller religions and sects are exceptions.
Islam has gone through centuries. Why followers are so immature? Just make a few comments and get ready for bees’ bites. I don’t think that Holy books recommend all kind of abusive language and words.

*Majority religions Christianity, Judaism, Buddhists and Hindu don’t react easily. Smaller religions and sects are exceptions.
Islam has gone through centuries. Why followers are so immature? Just make a few comments and get ready for bees’ bites. I don’t think that Holy books recommend all kind of abusive language and words. *

SKV,

Sorry poor mr.sensitive .But think before you delv into barbling whatever comes to your mouth first,If you talk wrong consecutively four words ,its indicative of height of ignorence,
two cent of mine
1/ read throughly about the subject u talk

2/ stick to the subject you KNOW about .dont make GENERAL SWEEPING STEREOTYPICAL CLICHES OF PROPOGANDA.I'm not angry .Im only using CAPS to highlight .O.K.

In the past 40 yrs there have been “55” new Islamic states formed!which shows we r still
awake and the Jews and Christian fear us so their mission is to destroy us and with the aid of some currpt muslim politicians and wealthy men, make us a suppressed nation!

Who says Muslims are corrupt!Don’t be fooled by the media…look around u..no one sacrifices land family ppl wealth in the name of Religion more than Muslims do!

[This message has been edited by rabi (edited April 09, 2001).]