I think he is a brilliant batsmen and in form of his life, our batting lineup is total CRAP without him but is he really playing according to the situation or he is playing a match within a match??? I know it’s really important for him to stick there but does he NOT need to take any risks in the last 5 overs??? I think he is more than happy to stay not out in the end to improve his average. He is more than capable to take calculated risks and clear the ropes but he will NOT go after the ball if there is a minor risk of getting out (talking about last 5-10 overs).
Re: Is Yousuf's batting appraoch good for Pakistan?
I don't think he was a big hitter anytime during his career and at the end of the inning his average was in 90s which is pretty good considering u r scoring 80+... I think he is the only batsmand in the lineup which is currently holding the innings together otherwise i do think there will be quite a few sub 150 totals by the current pakistani team.
The only thing is that we are not settling into any combination and not giving the players to stick to their position and get developed for that job..
Plus we have a gr8 keeper.. the one whose recommendation is directly from BUSH...:) you need a little bit of more pressure in tight situation and when you r dropping couple of sitters in every match then only Allah can Bless you..
Mohammad Yousuf's batting approach - Good for Pakistan? My vote is in his favor. The thing is though, as of late, the concept of Twenty/20 has forced every batsman to play out of his comfort zone, and for some, that is a walk in the park. Others are less fortunate in that regard. Twenty/20, frankly, has placed real cricket on the back burner and focused only on the shortcomings; the expectation to power every ball into the stands is an advanved liability that we set for our cricketers, and that is too much to ask, from any angle. The idea of constantly rotating the strike and dealing in singles and two's seems a thing of the past. Yousuf's batting has been all about rotating the strike rate, slowly and methodically. Granted it takes a number of balls for him to get into his rhythm, his technical mastermind and flawlessness has come in to play a big role for Pakistan. An anchor that increases the count in the scoreboard without the added burden of cheering viewers and smashing the advertising boards, quietly working his way into building a stronger total, a number which could be helped if other batters decide to play their respective roles, has lately been criticized about from different quarters, and some of it is dead right. Running partners out multiple times in multiple matches, and that is just a big deficiency we have to bear. Overall, as to the type of batsman he is and the role he has delved himself into has been very effective and without all the added glory of banking on a one-man team of Shoaib Akhtar to rip through the batting lineups, Mohammad Yousuf's match-winning capabilities has been right up there of getting the job done neatly on his end.
Very good thread. Looking forward to the discussions part.
Well i agree with both of you, i am obviously not questioning his capability as a batsman. In fact i think he can even do better than what he is doing right now. Inzamam was pretty much same but you would often see him coming down the track against spinners or even fast bowlers at times to increase the rr and i think Yousuf is pretty much capable of doing the same, his footwork against Warne back in 2005 was BRILLIANT and he has improved since then if anything.
Just look at the way he plays next time and you will know what i mean, you shouldn't worry about throwing your wicket in the last 5 overs at least.
I think he is a brilliant batsmen and in form of his life, our batting lineup is total CRAP without him but is he really playing according to the situation or he is playing a match within a match??? I know it's really important for him to stick there but does he NOT need to take any risks in the last 5 overs??? I think he is more than happy to stay not out in the end to improve his average. He is more than capable to take calculated risks and clear the ropes but he will NOT go after the ball if there is a minor risk of getting out (talking about last 5-10 overs).
What do you guys think???
Ask yourself. When Afridi and Malik get out in an over, and in the last ODI, 6 batsmen got out for 20, who in the right mind will not keep one end intact. Atleast they got few runs with those doubles in last overs. If he had played shots like YK and Malik to speed up the innings, he would have got out in the doing so, and we will be complaining about his competency as an anchor.
Hi boys,
I is think that approach is good Mohammad Yousuf. He not panick anytime. In cricket, teams need one player who stabilize team, also in last 5 over. Otherwise team can lose 3 or 4 wickets in 2 overs, and not play full overs.
Especially, if team have other big hitters like the Afridi and Malik.
for god sake stop picking on this poor dude. if he go for big hit in last five overs i am ready bet that we wouldn't make 239 neither we wouldn't even able to complete 50 overs. there is no one who can play after him except misbah. He did what he suppose to do he didn't go for big hit because he was drop twice guys. My vote in his favor.
Dont follow Ramiz, Leave poor Yousuf alone and just think for a moment that what could have happened had he tried to increase the rate and got out in early stages of inning, we would have set target of 150 (or less) for India and same guppies would have cursing Yousuf "sala aaram sai nahi khail sakta ...yee nahi k 50 overs porey khaileen" :)
decent i am just having a feeling that some people from admins of cricket are after yousuf they just want him to leave but thier unfourtunate luck that yousuf is playing that good.
I don't understand why people are complaining about Yousuf when he is the only guy scoring runs these days for Pakistan. Have you already forgotten how Pakistani batsmen crumbled when Yousuf and Younis got out in the last ODI vs. SA.
I think what the thread-starter wants is more batsmen like Afridi in the team.
C'mon man ....Yousuf is your best batsman and the lifeline of the batting lineup(as Smith put it).....in both Test and ODIs....to question his batting is ridiculous.
I think questioning Younis's batting approach may be justified....but Yousuf has not been all that slow in scoring in recent ODIs.
Aur mazey kee bat ager yousuf fast khalney k chakkar main jaldee out ho jata to Pakistani team 30 overs min PHINISH ho jatee tu Yousuf ko galiaan bhee hum hee dai rahey hotey :)
cmon ..... champ finished his inning with 83 runs and strike rate of 94 ...what else do we want? and on top of that he is a pure copy book batsman and not tulley baj(z)
.....and on top of all that he is my TRUMP in FC :D
i totally agree with dhobi_Bhai.
Yousuf is probably the best batsmen ever to represent Pakistan. His technique is well suited for the ODIs and in the current Pakistani team, he is the anchor. Just look at the last 6 ODIs he has played. Only time is got below 50 was when we was run out for 5 against SA. He is who the whole nation depend on to bat throughout the innings.
As Decent Chichora Uncle says - Yousuf had an strike rate of 94 in the previous match....aur kyaa chahiye ...bachche ki jaan loge...
I know one should not question the cricketing abilities of ex-cricketers-turned-analysts, but I will say this anyway about Rameez....he was a mediocre batsman and unfit for ODIs himself...he was himself hardly known for fast-scoring that he is accusing Yousuf of not doing.
Rameez Raja
ODIs Played : 198
Average : 32.09
Strike Rate : 63.31
Mohd Yousuf
ODIs Played :** 248**
Average :** 42.03**
Strike Rate :** 74.27**
I do understand, though, that ex-cricketers-turned-commentators should have the right to question current players of superior cricketing ability. But if Rameez is accusing Yousuf of playing for himself, that is WRONG.
As Decent Chichora Uncle says - Yousuf had an strike rate of 94 in the previous match....aur kyaa chahiye ...bachche ki jaan loge...
I know one should not question the cricketing abilities of ex-cricketers-turned-analysts, but I will say this anyway about Rameez....he was a very mediocre batsman totally unfit for ODIs himself...he was himself hardly known for fast-scoring that he is accusing Yousuf of not doing.
Slightly off topic however I would like to discuss something which I have often noticed. Fans often criticize ex-players (specially mediocre ones) for bashing current players.
I think ex-players when they criticize they often do it on the basis of cricket expertise and knowledge, something which they achieved as a result of being part of cricket as a player and later as a commentator/expert/analysyt or whatever.
When they give reviews, they can be wrong or right. However I feel it is unfair to say that why a certain person is reviewing or passing verdicts when he himself was not good enough in his days. I am sure the expert also knows that he can't compare himself with the current players. Had that been the case, we would only see very few commentators/experts in cricket today. Only those who were better than Lara, Ponting, Warne, Akram, Waqar, Dravid, Tendi etc would have been sitting in the commentary boxes.
^ I knew somebody will come back and give me that sermon...so I clarified my view in my above post...guess you did not read it.
Anyways, there is "analytical criticism" and then there is defamatory "accusation".
When the commentator makes "accusations" - I think it is okay to compare the commentator's own background against that of the "accused" player.
For instance, Srikkanth, a few months ago, accused some Indian batsman (dont seem to remember who) of reckless irresponsible batting. Now Srikkanth was one of the most reckless batsman, one would ever see. Does it make sense for the pot to call the Kettle black ?