I am using torrents from quite some time but few of my friends told me that its not legal to download latest movies, songs etc etc .
Is it true that i can b jailed for this specialy in uk ?? ![]()
I am using torrents from quite some time but few of my friends told me that its not legal to download latest movies, songs etc etc .
Is it true that i can b jailed for this specialy in uk ?? ![]()
Re: Is torrents legal??
You can still use torrents in that Jail, if you have access to a PC and Internet. :D
Downloading and using copyright(ed) material by any means is illegal in many countries. :(
Yes, you could also go into Jahannum for doing this
you should be more worried about that I guess. :halo:
Your such a Bad Boy yaar. Let me remind you that its also illegal to kill, rape, steal, assault, extort etc in UK as well. Just in case you have been doing those things too and didnt know ![]()
Use usenet .... downloading a full movie is illegal .. downloading movie in small chunks is absolutely legal, but joining those chunks to make the full movie is illegal. So just watch those small 10 minutes (each) chunks ... :)
you guys are hillarious. I just read a news this morning in Toronto Star, whoever is dl this stuff they will not be held responsible for dl it. It will be their ISP companies. And the ISP company will pull us from our collars, and theirfore it will us in trouble
Sad ![]()
I want to watch Mr. & Mrs.Smith, let me dl that then I wont dl anything else, beside yeh tou kashmir hai is kee fiza kya kehna song, thats all I want right now ![]()
My brother in the UK once received a letter from Paramount Studios stating the date and time that a certain Paramount movie was downloaded at his residence (I can't remember the name, it was some chick flick his wife downloaded through bittorrents). Their letter asked him to kindly ensure that he deleted the illegally downloaded material from his hard drive. It contained no threat of any further action, however, since in the UK, they could not lay any kind of charges against him.
However, once they worked out his IP address during the download, they seemed to have sufficient leverage over his ISP to make his ISP surrender his name and address to them.
If you're downloading bittorrents in the UK, it is entirely possible that a movie studio is keeping your personal details on file just in case the law in the UK changes and they get the legal right to lay criminal charges against you.
Certainly, Paramount Studio now knows that my brother has downloaded at least one of their films, they know his name, and they know exactly where to find him. All they are missing is the legal right to lay criminal charges against people like him, and movie studios have been actively lobbying for the right to do so.
In fact, ever since that happened to him, I stopped downloading films through bittorrent. I wouldn't want the complications of a police raid on my computer....
Yahan se kissie kee raid tou mind nahie kero ge na maddy, aisa kya hai tumharay comp main jo chupae chupae phir rahay ho hmmmmm I wonder ![]()
Thx for reminding me 5abi
i should stop doing these things :o
I am downloading desi movies and some time po*n movies , so i hope i am safe :p. BTW thx for the info :k:
Those guys who are scared about being caught ... if possible they use open proxy for downloading .... & dont use only one ... they change them regularly ... download one more using more than three proxies .... no body can trace them then.
The law is ... if u download a full movie you have committed an offence ... if u have downloaded a chunk .. no matter how long/big but less than 3/4 of the movie you haven't committed any offence.
Though I shouldn't give u these details but i am only & only giving it for knowledge purpose.
i would love to read the justification on this… why less than 3/4 allowed?
quick question: (always wanted to know) : when u use proxies, your traffic is intercepted by this “middleman” server… then why do “security ppl” use it ?
As far as the full movie is concerned ... I dont know because I am not a lawyer (though I am fully qualified to be a lawyer). So better as someone who knows the law better than I do.
Answer to your second question is .... the security people do not use "open" proxy. I did write a full description of open proxies .. their advantages & disadvantages. If you can find that article in the archives. If not then search google for "honeypots" and "crackpots".
I dont use open proxy for anything important. Even if I have to use an open proxy for some reason I dont use it for more than couple of sites, then I change the proxy & use another one. Never use open proxies from one country, change them regularly if u are worried about consequences. Again, better not to do anything dodgy or illegal.