Have you people come across with this news?
Brahmins Fought for Imam Hussain in the Battle of Karbala Muslim Unity
Have you people come across with this news?
Brahmins Fought for Imam Hussain in the Battle of Karbala Muslim Unity
Re: Is this true?Brahmins fought for Imam Hussain ......
I don't buy this :)
I've read that Hussaini Brahmins fighting with Imam Hussain (as) in Karbala but I really don't understand that. I believe that all of the 72 were his family, friends and companions..Never in a majlis have I heard about the Brahmins.
Well this is one of those many wisely crafted stories around the karbala incident . If I am not mistaken Mir anees and other Marsiya NaaGar of his era propagated many stories like this
I've never heard any poetry of Mir Anees or Dabeer about the Brahmins. It's probably just uncommon in Pakistan now if they did write marsiyaas on it.
I read it up to the bit where it said the name of Mecca is drived from a Hindu deity called Makresha!!
Hahaha put this in the jokes forum.
I've got two more for you..
The Holy Kaabah is a giant Shiv-Lingham and the Taj Mahal was a Mandir. Read these on an anti-Islamic Hindu hate website, it's funny people believe this kind of thing.
this is biggest lie and fabrication i have ever heard about karabala incident.
To be honest, Indian Shia's scare me. We have several Lucknowi ones at my mosque, they're weird xD
Well, there was a group of Punjabi Brahmins who helped the Imam, and they are still called Hussaini Brahmins. Sanjay Dutt belongs to the same community.
Re: Is this true?Brahmins fought for Imam Hussain …
Doubts about the existence of Hussaini Brahmins in India is natural among Pakistanis.
In the undivided India, for nearly 800 years of Muslim history, Muharram was observed across sectarian lines. The Tragedy of Karbala was taken as a universal phenomenon of the supreme human sacrifice presented by the grandson of the Prophet Muhammad (pbh) for the good of humanity, not just for Muslims. It was not a story which took place in 7[SUP]th[/SUP] century Arabia and was limited to only a particular sect within a particular religion. It was a universal story of truth conquering Zulm, hate and oppression.
Many drastic changes came into our culture, religion and linguistic traditions after the creation of Pakistan.
One of the things was a very deliberate label being put on Muharram being a SHIA thing. More and more non-Shia Pakistanis began to come to Muharram as spectators, to have fun looking at the chest beating crowds, to gawk at good looking girls all clad in black, and just to enjoy a MELA kind of ambiance.
School books were revised to delete all references to the poetry of Meer Anees and Mirza Dabeer. Even Allama Iqbal’s poetry that was about Karbala was put in the archives.
While Hindu writers such as Prem Chandr wrote a play titled Karbala, Urdu writers of repute would obliterate all references to any and all poetry which had any trace of pointers to Karbala. Early contributions of Karbala lamentation poetry in the popularization of the language at a larger level were totally forgotten.
These people, who are surprised at the mention of Hussaini Brahmins of India enlisting for defending the Karbala shrine in this day and time, would obviously not know the general popularity of the Taziyah processions in India among Hindus – from the lowest level of society to middle classes and all the way to the Rajahs.
They are quick to ridicule the very notion and make fun of it, without having done any research or even reading newspaper reports about it.
A number of Hindu poets wrote marsiyyas in Urdu. Every dialect in India (at least in North India) has a tradition of Karbala lamentation poetry.
So much so that the first French orientalists who did work on Urdu literature named Garcin de Tassy (1794-1878) wrote a commentary and translated a piece of Karbala Lamentation poetry in his works.
Of course, history was also obfuscated. The story of an Indian Brahmin family of six brothers going to Karbala, fighting with Imam Husayn and giving their lives there are well documented but not known in Pakistan
Here is some more information on the Husaini Brahmins, also known as MOHYALS.
The Mohyals developed a warlike culture and reputation that has led to them being compared to the Pasthuns and Rajputs.
In India, they are also called ‘Hussaini Brahmins’ as Muhiyals proudly claim that though being non-Muslim, a small number of them fought in the battle of Karbala on the side of Hussain. Muhiyals are very close to Pushtuns in their character. For centuries, they never or seldom paid in their revenue until coerced by a military expedition involving a number of casualties on both sides. On one occasion, they fought three sanguine battles against Babur’s army as they refused to surrender a khatri girl to Mughals who had sought their protection. The testament to their chivalry is the fact that during Muslim rule, they were the only non-Muslim group on whom the title of Khan or Sultan was ever bestowed. During British rule, a number of them were residing in the military belt of Campbelpur, Rawalpindi and Jhelum area. A number of Muhiyals served with distinction in British Indian army especially cavalry. They served in many regiments especially 9th, 11th, 13th, and 19th Lancers, 3rd, 4th and 15th Punjab Cavalry and Guides Cavalry.
(Ref: Defence Journal, Pakistan- June 2003, Tribes and Turbulence, by Hamid Husain)
[TABLE=“width: 450”]
GEO - POLITICAL AFFAIRS
Tribes and Turbulence Columnist Hamid Hussain examines the schisms between various frontier tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.
View onwww.defencejournal.com
Preview by Yahoo
As per Mohyal folklore, a Mohyal of the Dutt clan had fought on behalf of Imam Hussain in the battle of Karbala, more specifically in the storming of Kufa- sacrificing his seven sons in the process. According to legend, Rahab Sidh Datt (also mentioned as Rahib Sidh or Sidh Viyog Datt in some versions) was the leader of a small band of career-soldiers living near Baghdad around the time of the battle of Karbala. The legend mentions the place where he stayed as Dair-al-Hindiya, meaning “The Indian Quarter”, which matches an Al-Hindiya in existence today. This legend occupies an important part in the Dutt clan’s oral history. And it is considered a source of pride for them.
(Ref: Reliving Karbala, Prof. S. Akbar Hyder, O.U.P., 2006)
At the time of the war at Karbala, fought in 681 AD, which led to a schism amongst the Muslim community into Sunnis and Shias, Rahib Sidh Datt was a highly esteemed figure of Arabia due to his close relations with the family of Prophet Mohammed. When Ali ibn Abi Talib, the fourth Caliph and son-in-law of Muhammad was murdered, his younger son, Hussain, came out to oppose the new Caliph,Yazid ibn Muawiyah. The vastly superior forces of Yazid, at Karbala surrounded his force consisting of two hundred men. In the war, when no Muslim king came to his help, Rahib fought on the side of Hussain and sacrificed his seven sons in the bloody war. Hussain was fatally wounded by Shameer, the commander of Yazid, and died of thirst in the desert on the tenth day of Muharram (Today observed as the Day of Ashura). Rahib chased the murderers as they ran with the severed head of Hussain, up to Kufa. Later, the head was carried to Damascus and finally buried with the rest of the body at Karbala.
(REF: Datt - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Datt - Wikipedia )
[TABLE=“width: 450”]
Datt - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Datt or Dutt is a Mohyal Brahmin clan from Haryana and Punjab . Dutt is a warrior clan of Mohyal Brahmins.[1] They are one of the seven clans of the Mohyals who are Saraswat Brahmins of Haryana and Punjab. The six other clans are Bali, Bhimwal, Chhibber, Lau, M…
View on en.wikipedia.org
Preview by Yahoo
Colonel Ramsarup Bakshi (retd), a member of this community, told Pune Mirror that there certainly is an “element of surprise” when he introduces himself as a Hussaini Brahmin. “The employees in the factory I run now were taken aback when I told them about my community. ‘Asapan asta ka?’ (Is it so?) They exclaimed.” Bakshi said his community remains proud of its ancestral links to Imam Hussain, and they recall this bond on Ashura with great reverence. “We are a very, very small community in Pune, but this single piece of history is of seminal significance in our lives and binds us together, both Hindus and Muslims.”
Most importantly, Bakshi emphasised, “We symbolise the centuries-old bond shared by Hindus and Muslims in this part of the world.” Noted lawyer-activist Netraprakash Bhog, also a Hussaini Brahmin, said he is proud of his community. “Hussaini Brahmins hold a special place in the history of Islam. Our ancestors fought alongside Imam Hussain for the cause of truth and justice. We still cherish those sacrifices made by our community.”
Pune Mohiyal Samaj president, Jitendra Mohan, said, “Those like us who are Hindu Brahmins continue the martial tradition of our ancestors. Most of us are strongly built, with straight noses and face, and join the Army.”
file:///C:/Users/Mohsin/AppData/Local/Temp/msohtmlclip1/01/clip_image002.jpg
Hindu Brahmins Fought For Imam Hussain in Battle of …
Brahmin Hindus fought for Imam Hussain in the battle of Karbala. Rahib Sidh Datt leading the battle sacrificed his 7 sons against the tyrant yazid. The dec…
View onwww.hindu.bz
Preview by Yahoo
There are many other sources of this report about Indian Brahmins being at Karbala with Imam Husain.
Your statement about Guru Dutt and Sanjay Dutt being members of the Hussaini Brahmin community may be true, although I do not have any documental evidence to confirm that.
@smnaquavi: shaasavera, is that you?
Re: Is this true?Brahmins fought for Imam Hussain …
@OneYourMomWarnedAbt har lamba comment mera nahi hota hai. If it doesnt have 2 yt videos and one from pakistani drama/zindagi channel then no chance. I only write long comments where there are india-pakistan misunderstandings.
:snooty: