Is this remotely fair?!

I haven’t been here for a while and I thought I needed new topics. Right now, I’m in sophomore year and uber stressed in high school. I just have some free time I want to kill on the school computer, and this is an issue I’ve been conflicting with my mom since Eid weeks before or so. I need to blow off some steam.

Okay as I said, this argument and even taunting has been starting since Eid day. As my mother has a large group of friends who she lavishly wants to impress every time she sees them. My dad is very annoyed by this sometimes. Now, I think some people have remembered me as the person who started the thread about how my mother forced me to go to places I didn’t want to go….this is the exact same situation, but its even worse. She now resorts as always insensitively to name calling and ruining self-esteem. I snap back to every snarky thing she says and I’ve just had it with her this time

The whole story begins as her friends and their family decided to go to a Chinese buffet resteraunt to celebrate and feast on the day of Eid, right?
So, of course I’m forced there along with my siblings. There aren’t many tables and there were the kids of my mom’s friends sitting and talking and gossiping away. Again if you read my previous old topic those girls were much older and much snottier then me, and I disliked them. They were also sitting with my twin cousins who are in college as well and I haven’t talked to them in a while, yet I felt a need not to sit with them either. They haven’t spoken a single word to me, not even a eid mubarak so I said to myself screw them. I did not sit with them, because I had every right not to. My mom sat with her own friends as usual. I sat with my siblings, just eating quietly and calmly and trying to enjoy the food.

Some days later, my mom is on the phone with my aunt (the twins’ mom) and she is upset that I wouldn’t sit with her daughters or my so-called ‘friends’ who were much older then me. I could hear what my mom was talking about but I didn’t say anything. Some days later, she then turns to me and goes on and on how I never ‘mix in’ with the girls, how I am being a stupid arrogant person, how I am too distant and full of myself, and how I’m a batameez. I finally lose it as I’ve ranted to her about this before and she should have known it. Even my cousin’s wife who is about as old as my mother understood me better then her, which is a shame, and my dad didn’t care much either. I had my reasons not to sit with them. Want me to list them for you, GS? Fine, I will.
Once again they were OLDER THEN ME! Its difficult not having the same age group, because I’m still in high school and they think I’m childish because I like to draw and do all sorts of stuff a ten year old do just for amusement.
She says that they are desi and there aren’t that many desis in Virginia. Wrong, mom. They are plenty of desis in our area and what makes them special if they are , anyway? I have American friends who are five times better then any of them, better then five of them combined.
They.Are.Everything.I.Hate. Literally. Gossiping, Bollywood, Bollywood, music, dancing. Everything I HATE! I’m more of a romantist and I think they are stupid. None of my interests are relevant to theirs. That’s like being married to a Cyclops.

What do I do GS? My father doesn’t really care about this ordeal (hell he doesn’t even remotely like half the husbands of her friends :p) but my mom would do anything to make anything go her stubborn way. I seriously don’t want these girls in my life whatsoever, and already my mom accuses my freedom of speech as ‘batameezi’ or beghairti. :stuck_out_tongue: I feel oppressed and really stressed out. And usually my stress takes it out on other stuff.

Re: Is this remotely fair?!

My post is completely messed up!!

this line came perfectly right and I agree to this line of yours... :)

btw, as far as its only post (and not life) that is messed up, you dont need to worry.

not much. keep telling your mom how you feel, and in a few more years, you'll grow up, she'll grow older and then the argument about rishtas will start :p

Patience. Do not fight it . The more you fight it the more it will be painful for you. Take a book with you to these parties , get in a corner and read. Your mom will not bother you after a few of these episodes and you will gain your peace .

@Mirch: You have no idea how I actually tried that. It ended up as me getting yelled at by my mother in front of onion-smelling aunties for being deep in a book and not speaking a single word to the 'young ladies'.

maybe make an effort to be nicer.....jus b/c they like bollywood or hollywood doesn't make them evil...

I never said it was evil. but their interests well...bored me very, very easily. I liked talking about other things other then Salman Khan kissing so-and-so, but nobody really gives a damn.. :/

ohh man blacko would be happy to have u as her sidekick ... i shall ask her to help you out as well

^who is she? :p haha

GA.... you have to make an effort to socialize..... not everyone will necessarily share your taste and interests. Otherwise you WILL come across as a snob.

I know a girl who acts this way (stuck up) around us mommies.... she's the only one amongst our group (husband ka group hai and they drag us along on their get-togethers) who doesn't have kids and was even rude enough to say to us "All you people talk about is babies and kids, itna bore kartay hain mujhe" and then proceeded to play with her iphone.... it was VERY rude IMHO. We all think she's totally stuck up and thinks she's better than us or something..... I mean if you really want to talk about other stuff, start talking about it na... instead of sitting there muun suja kar.

Sorry if this comes across as criticism, but not everyone you meet will have the same interests as you..... its polite to talk to everyone and try to mingle with them. If they didn't say Eid Mubarak... did you? You're the younger one right, so you should have just gone up to them, said hi and say Eid mubarak.... they are your bajis, no ;)?

GA i suggest you become frnds with MIA ... shez also in VA and will help you :p

@Mia: I did say eid mubarak to my twin cousins, but they never got up for a hug or handshake at least. They were too busy talking to their friends and just brushed me off, which really pissed me off. Even my mom was angry at that.

GA, have life please.

That was nice of you :)
Maybe have a calm conversation with mom saying they aren't nice to you and don't make any efforts to talk to you and next time, you make an effort and when they don't respond, you can say to your mom "see, I tried but they were not interested in talking to me". I dont understand why your mom drags you along.... poor you... moms should be more understanding. I also don't like it when my husband drags me along to one of those parties where I feel uncomfortable since all the ladies are older or just not my type.... but can't do anything about that, I have to go and so I just smile and make an effort to have meaningless conversation.... its just to be polite anyways.

Sure :smiley: but she’s in high school, I’m much too older :hinna:.

sometimes i notice that the people with kids just talk about kids non-stop....its like they have nothing else to talk about....it must be nice for people with kids but i suppose those who dont have kids probably feel left out....or not interested if you know what i mean....so i can see where she was coming from.....its ok to talk about kids all you want....but if someone is there who doesnt have kids....i would make it a point to not just talk about kids....but to include her in the conversation too by talking about non-kid related things :)

^Oh we do that, but sometimes the conversation kind of routes back to kids :p
In any case, you can't just outright say to people "you're boring me" in a snotty made-up accent..... its definitely RUDE.

you can be the cool aunty she has :stuck_out_tongue: