I need some advice…i went to pak a while back after finishing my studies. I really want to work in pakistan but after my first initial interview i am really re-thinking the whole thing.
I applied at a multinational bank(i can’t name)…This was how my interview went:
Waiting At reception:
Some Employees: Wow did u see muhje kuch kehna hai!! kitni achi thi Karina Kapoor meh neh bhi us ki tarhan baal dye karwane hain…(all laugh loudly)
Interviewer: Please walk this way…take a seat
(at this time the interviewer seats himself casually on the chair…whilst chewing gum with a wide mouth like a cow and at the same time…puts his hands behind his head and yawns loudly)
Me: Before I go any further…what job did u call me in for…
Interviewer: blah blah blah I didn’t have time to look at ur CV (Offering me a job totally different to my qualifications)
If only he had taken time to read my CV and would have saved me and him the effort.
If this is the standard of a multi-nationals then i dred to think what lies ahead…i am seriously contemplating the whole idea of working abroad.
Be Bold in what u stand for and careful what u fall for
although I have had interactions with oth ermultinational companie sin Pakistan, Colgate-Palmolive for one and Citicorp for another which were very professional.
I went on a job interview at SWB (phone co.) I was looking for a part-time job. So anyway it was late summer and the 7 year locousts we out. (big flying buzzing bugs)Otherwise known as cicadas. They were flying all around the entrance to the place.
So anyway I arrive in the reception room and a couple of my bug friends follow me in.
The reception people tell me theres a bug on me so I’m jumping around trying to bat this thing off, all dressed up in heels (very embarrassing) and finally its gone.
So I go in with the interviewer and its on the TV/VCR Very Funny. Anyway I got the job.
Well u all might have thought that experience would have detered me from going to Pakistan.....magar I'm gonna be optimistic and go for it again....so got my tickets booked for Nov.....wish me luck!!
Btw I would have thought the company I went for would have been more professional...P.S. they did offer me the job but i declined working in that atmosphere.
It's a bank the whole world is familier with....hint hint vaise job ley hi leyti koi ultey pulty transactions maarti and they still wouldn't have noticed lol!!
Originally posted by ~~OpTiMiStIc~~:
**It's a bank the whole world is familier with....hint hint vaise job ley hi leyti koi ultey pulty transactions maarti and they still wouldn't have noticed lol!!
Originally posted by Fraudz: Pharmacia is a great company to work for in Pakistan from what I hear try them as well.
Seems like you have lots of information Fraudz!! Could you help me to get some info, I would like to work in Pakistan for some time(some months maybe), would be able to take a short leave from my current job, to try to adjust over there and see how it works out for me, but dont know where to start searching!!, well at the moment I am waiting for a responce from an Institut, that a friend recommanded, if it does not work out, where should I look for a job in Pakistan, like it to be Lahore or Islamabad not Karachi. I am in IT business. Please help if you can. Some web sites for job searching would be good.
sure thing. in IT field other people here who will have better contacts than myself are azkar chaudhry and najim.
Are you looking for an internship or a permanent position. any specific industry etc etc? please let me know.
I worked in Pakistan helping set up the World Trade Center offices there after my undergrad and have some contacts but the best people to go to are IBA, LUMS and FAST people if you ahve anyone among your friends and family who are there.
, well internship or a temporary position would be good, not a permanent position at the moment, I’ll have to go and work there to see if that life is for me or not, kind of explore before making a fix decision. After that I am thinking of doing masters in Information Management in UK London, but that will be in fall next year. Inshallah!
What I am looking for is kind of difficult to tell. I am in bank-IT sector at the moment working and living in Vienna. I speak and write German, something related would be my preference of course.
Who are IBA, LUMS and FAST people ?? Sorry I dont really know. I dont have any friends in Pakistan and family I dont want to bother. I would like to do things myself.
I'm gonna try COMSATS in pak Islamabad as they need quite a few people who are in the IT support/Admin field like myself. Perhaps u could try there??
Also the Brit Embassy is a great place to work as I went for an interview there before coming to the UK. I might just take them up on the offer as I shall be visiting pak.
There is still hope inshallah..............