is this nikkah acceptable

a friend married a girl from pakistan,from the same family and parents arranged the marriage by his consent and both lived happily ever normal life..

when I knew him he was quite young but average muslim in western world father wasn’t much of a dad,but his mum was doing the usual of reading namaz and keeping fasts I,m not sure if all the siblings followed but they were a good family in the community..

My question (as someone has asked me to intervene)
should I say something to the following paragraph or keep quiet.

Over the years his wife became more practising muslim and started to wear headscarf,nothing wrong in that,she was always modest to begin with and they never over stepped boundaries to begin with but she doesnt shake hands with or interact with her own male 1st cousins anymore,
but on the other hand her husband has started to crack blasphemous jokes,is known not to keep fasts and doesn’t pray namaz (alot of people dont I said…)makes fun of people who do read it.
but the niggle that has come up is that if he is making fun of muslims and doesn’t believe in Allah SWT or our beloved prophet pbuh.and is atheist

Is their nikkah valid as a muslim woman and non believer husband ?

he is a good friend,husband and father I dont want to step in and ruin a household just for the heck of other people
But if islamically it is wrong I dont want to be in the wrong for not helping…
I wonder if he is just going thru a bad patch?
The girls family want her to do what is right as a muslim
I ask you my friends for help before I decide what to do
thx GOI

Re: is this nikkah acceptable

Peace girl on ice

Confront him. He seems to be a 'friend' of yours so ask him about where his beliefs lie. Speak to him about Islam find out for sure if he is still Muslim. Then tell him to avoid blasphemous jokes as nasiha and get him to realise his mistake. Encourage him to seek and sit with good company and see if that works.

If your advice makes him even more like this then tell his parents and consult his wife. InshaAllah first thing first try your level hardest to turn his beaviour around and get him to realise his mistakes.

so confront him first :hmmm:
inshallah I will try to do that but i,m in pak and he’s in england :frowning:
I will try to test the waters if I can
but if he has strayed from the path so to speak should they separate or should we hope for him to come round? and leave them be?

i know a family where the wife is hafiza and her husband is atheist. the wife herself don't seem to be bothered about it so i don't think myself or others should be worried about her being living with a non-muslim.

**i guess ur core question is: is the nikaah still valid if he renounces Islam? blasphemous talk makes him a sinner big time but doesn't make him murtad [one who renounces Islam]...in order to be that he has to say it...he has to say something to the effect...i renounce the religion of Islam...if God forbid that happens, then the nikaah is NULL and VOID...any relationship after that will NOT be Halaal.

did i answer ur question?

As Bro Psyah has already said, someone close to him needs to talk to him.**

AOA GOI
Agree with Psyah. However my short answer is that Islamic Nikkah will not be broken until either party is engaged in following:
1. Formal divorce by husband or annulment (khula'a sought by wife.
2. Death of either party
3. Absence of either one for extended time where no whereabouts are known to the other and death can be assumed.
4. Complete and utter refutation of faith called irtadad ~ Apostasy -from either side leading to Agnosticism or Atheism.
5. Rejection of belief in Islam according to the correct theological belief by the husband and or conversion to other faiths.

Also try to help with keeping any personal motives away. It may be hard, if you are a sister, cousin, or other loved one who really cares a lot for the brother as mentioned.

I also have seen too many times, that the wives insistence on religious issues, and sometimes exhibited coldness totally turns the husband away from deen ~ religion. Also if children are involved, then more often the children side with the mother which further elevates the husband frustration. At the end its the fathers fault to not work things out. I am a father myself and been married for a long time. So I am not being biased here.

If the husband is in fact truly apostate & not being called that in a loose way merely due to habits, then the islamic marriage is not valid.

Yes you answered the question exactly..we are worried about what makes the nikkah null,so you have answered thx..
Allah na karay that he has renounced Islam ..I,m hoping that hew is just a bit confused or something someone will have to have a chat with him...but if he renounces it do we let them carry on living together or do we get the girl out of this situation,as interfering good muslims..?

**yes, i hope and pray that he doesn't...it could be just a phase...but, i don't understand what happened to his decency? why does he have to ridicule the faith and it's practices that deffo hurts the believers, especially the family members. it's beyond me. it's a serious phase in life and people who contemplate/entertain such thoughts usually keep quite and talk to some aalim to clear their doubts whatever they may have.

let's pray for him...May Allah show this person the RIGHT path...give him the hidaayat...aameen :)**

we are worried about atheism

Im more close to the guy than the girl but i feel more for the girl as I dont want her to live in sin,but I dont want to rock the boat as she would have to move back to pakistan with kids and her parents wouldnt be able to give them the lifestyle they have in england
But I dont want any religious injustice done either…
Now we know the basic from above answers..should I stay quiet or intervene?
If I find he has even a little bit of Allah ka darr then would it be ok if I stay quiet :bummer:

ameen sum ameen...

this bro went to jeddah job hunting and while thr my brother took him for umrah.when they came back we all gave mubarik and he had taken a beautiful pic of kabah and I asked how he felt when he saw it for the first time and he said nothing absolutely nothing it's only a box of a building..anaouzubillah ..I was hurt so can't imagine what his family felt...

I disagree. If any of his talks or beliefs clashes with any part of main core belief of Allah is the only God and Mohammed :saw2: is his prophet and last messenger’ then he is no longer muslim.

of course if he says something to the effect that nauuzobillah Huzoor [saws] is NOT a prophet or Allah is NOT there. he may be going through some kinda mental disorder. if that’s the case then “junnoonii clause” will apply and nothing will constitute as to be a murtad. i think one use his/her tongue to renounce Islam in his RIGHT mind just like one does with shahada. we may re-confirm with an 'aalim. thank you for ur input :slight_smile:

He is a teacher…:bummer:

so I know he is in his right mind when he says anything..I haven’t heard his blasphemy talk to the extent of renouncing religion,so dont want to comment on that
( my hubby is a bit depressed at the mo,but still reads fajr prayers so I wouldn’t class anything with mind games )

but as my help has been asked for I need to know what is right before I wrong someone,and as people have asked for me ,I dont want to lose that trust…inshallah

A lot of Muslims I know in the West are just "cultural" Muslims and are not religious. If they are both happy with each other then why interfere with their lives? IMO, it's their own business how they decide to live their life and no one should interfere with their personal matters. Live and let live!

According to my understanding, if his beliefs are against Islam, he is no longer Muslim. If he's no longer Muslim, then that marriage would no longer be valid either. You should get your information from an aalim though, especially if you're going to advise about whether their marriage is still valid or not from an Islamic perspective.

She or her family should seek guidance from a some Islamic Scholars who would know what to do in such a situation.
Since you are not an Islamic scholar you should refrain from interfering in this situation.

I totally agree with this...

cultural muslims still believe in Allah and the day of judgement,this isn't about wether someone is a muslim or not it's about being honest with one self and Allah and society
If we remain indifferent and dont help people in society then we are no more than selfish animals
thats how christians have lost their way...
you will find the jews and sikhs still have strong values even if they dont follow everything...

Mirch bhai you make me sound like a busybody :hinna:

I would have stirred ****by now if I was…:smiley:
.thats why I wanted to get a complete incognito view from here first…
I have a few questions now that I can ask them if I do get involved
plz everyone pray that Allah guides me and them to do what is right and may we never stray from the path of Allah SWT ameen…