is this a typical desi mentality?

or just a sheer coincidence

I have noticed that when I am in a desi store to get anything and happen to have a bill of a higher denomination as compared to the purchase you have made (eg. you offer a $20 bill for a couple of cans of coke around $4) the desi sales uncle / aunty will ALWAYS ask you “Change nahi aap kay paas?” … something that is virtually unheard of in the non desi stores, you get a can of pop and offer them a $50 bill, they wont even bat an eyelid and do it professionally. A purchase is a purchase afterall, no matter what the value.

Like today my total purchase was around $11 and I offered a $20, the aunty says “Change nahi hay aik dollar?”
abay its none of your frikkin buisness what change I am carrying in my pocket just give me back my $9 - I need those loonies for the weekly laundry :naraz:

Re: is this a typical desi mentality?

^ lolll… i guess it may be that the desi stores run less then the main supermarkets, and hence carry less change in their cash registers :hmmm:

nope
its just something in the genes

:hayaa:

whats wrong with that if they are askin any favour?

hmm not sure, convenience stores always ask that.

I think it has to do more with smaller stores/shops as compared to lets say walmart.

Why don't you do all your shopping at Neimen Marcus and Nordstorm ? No problems like these there. Just kidding.
Desi stores do not carry lots of change and cannot afford to. They do not even have the volume of business which is typical for even a low volume 7-11.
If you happen to visit some big desi stores and there are so many in desi heavens like Chicago, Jackson Heights, Anaheim etc you will not see this issue there either.

not really :hmmm:

Ex cashier reporting::

1-In small store its not safe to carry ton of change in the till/register.
Plus some lasy a$$ dtore owner don’t go to bank every morning to get enough change for the day.
2-Some time you run real low on change, ur only one there so you can’t lock up and go to bank to get some change.
3-20$ is pain in the A$$ its easier to break a 10 or 50.

4-And all small stores are run by desi/arab/korians so you could say only those ppl do that.
Its partially true.

5-Plus we hate ppl who think our cash register is a change machine. Because we actually have to take our asses to bank to get that change.

Its not just desi stores, but most smaller mini-mart type convenience stores. And hey even some of them have signs that say they do not accept large bills like $50. I guess all for the reasons above.

it's a desi aunty thing. desi aunties don't like to carry change. their kameezain don't have any pockets, hence no place to put change.

You don't want me to open my mouth on this one do you ?

keep it clean. this is cafe after all.

and what’s with the rudeness? jeez chill go eat a bite and normalize that blood sugar :rolleyes:

he can’t chill, he is mirch remember ??
j/k

Ok I will keep chup. Sorry for being rude.:slight_smile:

uh the most embarrrassing thing is :bummer:

wen at some not desi place, ur aunts or mom buy smthng and it comes out to b

say…5.61, they hv to stop there and search their bag for 15 hours to find the exact chagne:mad: even the pennies..

just give the dollar:smack:

But then they’ll get more change back if they give dollar. :smiley:

I think the smaller stores operate on a smaller float than larger stores. That may be the reason, as opposed to the mentality.

asal mai kiya hai na kai wo sochTai hon gai kai $50 ka note jaali tu naheen... :@: Desion ka kiya bharosa... :o

PS: apko naheen bola... :o

i don’t mind them asking that. james bhannd…try to be tolerant. all they do is ask…its not that they are forcing u to give them change or searching ur pockets. as for mentality…how about rai-ka-pahar-desi mentality which u just demonstrated. them asking you for the change is not like them hitting u with a TOAP. :chai: