Is there something wrong...

…with looking like a regular human being on your wedding day?

Re: Is there something wrong…

:hmmm:

Re: Is there something wrong...

I mean in every other thread I see people complaining about being outshone by their guests, wanting to stand out, to out do previous brides and their guests in terms of clothes and jewels and venues etc, wanting parlors to transform you, etc etc etc.

I get the desire to feel special and beautiful. But this incessant drive to outdo and anxiety about being outdone, it's just not healthy. And seconds after your wedding is over, most of you will realize how foolish it is.

I guess that's the advantage of being a guy, we do't need makeup, all we need is to wear something acceptable and turn up :D

OMG Sahar! I agree with you very much. Everything nowadays looks over the top. Its awful trying to compete with previous brides. Forget previous brides and focus on what you like and what looks good on you. On my wedding day I wanted light but bridal type makeup and big earrings and medium necklace. nothing too much but my mom insisted I wear two necklaces (one rani haar) so I did it to please her but did not look over the top but the make up artist (idiot) insisted on heavy blush because she said it would make me stand out to the guests in the back of the room and show up better in pictures than if I didn't do it. That was the only part I hated. I knew a previous bride who wore gorgeous jimmy choo heels and I did not buy Jimmy Choos (umm dont want to break the bank) but my shoes were non designer,classy and elegant in a different way than those JC. If I went around looking for something similar or better than the JC's I would have wasted time energy and perhaps money.

do what you feel most comfortable doing...:)

^ agree...

now if i had said this…i would have been attacked :nahi:

well sahar let me tell you what the ‘proponents’ say :smiley:

…“its the one day you have been cherishing your life…you want it to be special..whats so wrong in celebrating it?? who doesn’t want a nice wedding??..bla bla blah x infinity”…

I personally love the simple and fresh makeup look on brides these days, we don't always have to look like drag queens. The outfit, however, should be a little glamorous, but even if it isn't, everyone knows you're the bride, it's still going to be your day so rock it ladies and forget about what each guest is wearing!!

There's nothing wrong with it.....but wouldn't you want to feel a little special and glammed out on your wedding day....its your day...once in a lifetime (inshallah) lol
might as well go for it!!!

Yeah. I don't like brides who look like powdered donuts.

show us what you mean :)

HAHA. Love "powdered donuts", I used to refer to them as "atta faces" but this might just be better.

Maybe if convincing some more chap to marry the woman wasn’t the greatest accomplishment of her life, she wouldn’t feel like this was the only day she had to feel special or the only way she could be special.

Of course. But it's not about looking your personal best. Look around in threads here, listen to brides you know, check out the various wedding shows on tv. It's all about outdoing each other. Not about doing what you like or wearing what you like or looking how you like -- it's about making sure no one is better. That's stupid.

sighhh … so true …

*{Inspirational Laddu} ~ *www.inspirationalladdu.wordpress.com](http://www.inspirationalladdu.wordpress.com/)

I can understand this reasoning for desi women but western women are supposed to be more independent, educated, career driven than desi women yet they suffer very much from the BrideZilla complex perhaps more so than desi women...now there's TV shows where brides compete to have plastic surgery! and although its not that common (hopefully), it still shows that women are insecure and obsessed as ever, esp with their weddings...