Is there a tradition in India...

of “choti daalna” (i.e. making/applying something to a braid) for young girls?
apparently there is some sort of rasm but I am unaware to the details and would like to know.
did a search but google aunty had no relevant info, mind you I don’t really know what to search for…:smiley:

Re: Is there a tradition in India...

Ubtan?

no....not ubtan.
I think I found something....it's like a coming of age tradition.

Re: Is there a tradition in India…

@Muzna, read the second para. This is from the book “Encyclopedia of Hair: A Cultural History By Victoria Sherrow”

Yes. We used to do it in our family ... now it's imoossible cuz brides get ready at the Parlour... but ya... basically sisters of the groom take turns braiding the bride's choti..

. i still remember my mom and khalas doing my youngest mumani's... she got.ready at the parlour and since the rasm was dyin out, mom mom didnt tell them to leave out the hair...

but when mumani's mom found out... she was like hai itni pyari rasm! Undo your hair! Needless to say... mumani was pissed... lol

Women that dont go the parlour to get dressed... still get this done in our biradri. Simple times

I think TLK found the answer. But then again.....khawa seems to have recognized the term "choti daalna".

@khawateen -- I'm talking about a 10 year old girl yaar.....it's can't be about getting married........or can it?
I found some reference to a similar rasm done in the Indian culture where a girl who has "come of age" is dressed up in a silk sari and pretty much made up like a dulhan with mehndi, jewellery and all. The idea is to let the community know that she is now available for marriage.

Oh.. never heard of that one..

Choti dalna is also what the rasm is called, thats what i related it to. Haha.