Is the United States scared of North Korea?

*Originally posted by MiniMe: *
Or may be its China telling the US (indirectly) to be careful.

And the South Koreans, Japanese and Russians. :)

N Korea accepts that they’ve weapons but US still wanna attack Iraq first…why?

N Korea accepted the fact that they reactivated their nuclear activities…they told US on face but they are still after Iraq whom the world still isn’t sure about …why? is it just to protect the Iraqi ppl from the “dictator” that they never protested against or just against ISLAM n maybe pakistan is next on their list…as we were there “friends” but still we r checked in that INS eventhough there was no paki guy in 9 11

N. Korea Warns U.S. on Pre-Emptive Moves
2 hours, 25 minutes ago Add World - AP to My Yahoo!

By SANG-HUN CHOE, Associated Press Writer

SEOUL, South Korea - Pre-emptive attacks on North Korea (news - web sites)'s nuclear facilities would trigger a “total war,” the communist state warned Thursday after Secretary of Defense Donald H. Rumsfeld labeled the North’s government a “terrorist regime.”

AP Photo

Reuters
Slideshow: North Korea Nuclear Tensions

N. Korea Warns U.S. on Pre-emptive Moves
(AP Video)
North Korea Warns Of All-Out War If Attacked
(Reuters Video)

The White House said North Korea’s talk of war was a “real cause for concern.” Presidential spokesman Ari Fleischer (news - web sites) said the United States had “robust plans for any contingencies,” including military action.

The harsh rhetoric came a day after North Korea said it was putting the operation of its nuclear facilities on a “normal footing,” triggering fears it was about to produce weapons materials. South Korea (news - web sites) said it had no sign that the North had reactivated its nuclear facilities, but officials said the North’s statements were unclear and that they were trying to clear them up.

“When the U.S. makes a surprise attack on our peaceful facilities, it will spark off a total war,” the state-run newspaper Rodong Sinmun said in a commentary carried by North Korea’s official news agency, KCNA.

Ri Pyong Gap, a spokesman and deputy director at the North’s Foreign Ministry, told London’s The Guardian newspaper that the impoverished country was entitled to launch a pre-emptive strike against the United States.

“The United States says that after Iraq, we are next,” the paper quoted Ri as saying, “but we have our own countermeasures. Pre-emptive attacks are not the exclusive right of the U.S.”

In Washington, Fleischer reiterated that President Bush (news - web sites) believes the standoff can be resolved peacefully, but he said the United States was preparing military contingencies.

U.S. officials have spoken before about their ability to respond to any potential hostile action by North Korea, in part to dispel any hopes Pyongyang may have about taking advantage of Bush’s focus on Iraq. The nuclear standoff with North Korea, which intensified last fall, has complicated Bush’s efforts to rally the nation and skeptical world leaders behind his bid to disarm Saddam Hussein (news - web sites).

Rumsfeld said Wednesday that restarting the nuclear program would give the North a troubling option — making nuclear weapons for itself or selling them to any other country.

“That is something the world has to take very seriously,” he said. “It’s a regime that is a terrorist regime. It’s a regime that has been involved in things that are harmful to other countries.”

North Korea announced in December it would reactivate its nuclear facilities, frozen since 1994, but statements Wednesday left it unclear whether it has already done so.

In an English-language statement, North Korea said Wednesday that it “is now putting the operation of its nuclear facilities for the production of electricity on a normal footing after their restart.”

However, a Korean-language statement monitored by South Korea’s Yonhap news agency referred only to “our process to restart nuclear facilities for generating electricity and normalize their operation.”

Both North Korean statements were carried on KCNA, the North’s official news agency.

The North’s nuclear facilities include a 5-megawatt nuclear reactor, a storage building for 8,000 spent fuel rods and a plant where those rods could be reprocessed to yield enough plutonium for four or five bombs in a matter of months.

Last week, U.S. officials said spy satellites detected covered trucks apparently taking on cargo near the storage building.

The International Atomic Energy Agency, the Vienna-based U.N. nuclear monitoring agency, said it couldn’t confirm any new nuclear activities because its inspectors were expelled in December.

The most immediate step the North could take is likely to be restarting the reactor, which can produce more spent fuel rods, South Korean officials said.

“We are trying various channels to confirm what it means,” said an official at the South Korean Foreign Ministry, who spoke on condition of anonymity. “At this moment, we have no information to confirm that North Korea has reactivated its nuclear facilities, that is the reactor and other key facilities.”

North Korea said in December that it was reactivating its facilities to generate badly needed electricity. But U.S. officials say the amount of electricity that can be produced in the Yongbyon facilities is negligible.

The North froze its nuclear facilities in a 1994 energy deal with the United States, but the deal unraveled after U.S. officials said in October that North Korea had admitted embarking on a second, clandestine nuclear program.

Washington and its allies suspended oil shipments as punishment. The North then took steps to restart the nuclear facilities, expelled U.N. monitors and withdrew from a global nuclear arms control treaty.

The U.N. nuclear agency’s 35-nation board of governors will meet next Wednesday to discuss the standoff and is almost certain to send the dispute to the U.N. Security Council — a move that could lead to economic sanctions against Pyongyang.

Seems like little Kim has got the terrorist by the balls.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A8446-2003Jan31.html

U.S. Believes N. Korea Rapidly Seeking Stockpile

By Glenn Kessler
Washington Post Staff Writer
Saturday, February 1, 2003; Page A01

Bush administration officials increasingly believe North Korea is moving rapidly to produce a half-dozen nuclear weapons, potentially tilting the nuclear balance in Asia, ** but they privately say they have few options to thwart the threat. **

In official statements yesterday, the administration reacted calmly to the disclosure that U.S. intelligence satellites have observed covered trucks taking on cargo at the nuclear storage facility at Yongbyon. About 8,000 spent nuclear fuel rods are stored there, and the activity may be a sign that the government in Pyongyang is preparing to reprocess the rods into weapons-grade plutonium.

Abdali the U.S. wants to end this peacefully with North Korea. Perhaps the U.S. has Balls of peace. So many around here want a war between the U.S. and North Korea, diplomacy should be given a chance to work.

*Originally posted by underthedome: *
Abdali the U.S. wants to end this peacefully with North Korea. Perhaps the U.S. has Balls of peace. So many around here want a war between the U.S. and North Korea, diplomacy should be given a chance to work.

US sure has balls for peace one can see clear balls w.r.t. to Iraq... LOL...
May be US should have the balls to send 550K JI Joes like it did in the 50s.

Abdali, Iraq failed at the dipolmatic approach, after all resolution 1441 stated that Iraq needed to fully cooperate with inspections or be in material breach and face the consequences.

What happened to that no negotiations with terrorist’s thing? Didn’t the defense secretary said that NK was a terrorist regime.

resolution 1441 :rotfl: do you know how many resolution terrorist state of Israel has violated… LOL… Its not the resolution my boy but the lack of WMD and quite the opposite in case of NK… May be the memories of Kims chappal are still fresh… Perhaps you should read US news papers more often.

*Originally posted by underthedome: *
Abdali, Iraq failed at the dipolmatic approach...

Haven't you been trying the diplomatic approach with North Korea since 1994? Now they have torn up sll the agreements they made with you, and thrown the pieces in your faces, and they have tossed aside the NPT and other international regulations. They have restarted their nuclear programme full speed, and are daring you to do anything about it.

Been Pondering NK and IRAQ.

So some say... SK pay them, "no nevermind."

In a way? Makes me think of U.S./Iraq.. different peeks.

U.S. is gangsta rapper on Iraq.

because... they kicked out the U.N. inspectors.. they might.. be making NUKES! But has Iraq ever directly made threats to the U.S.?

and... here ya go.. NK.... has actually recently issued threats.

They have also withdrawn from the Nuclear proliferation treaty..and said so. And lately in the news? Threatening WAR.

I want to know... why Iraq is a larger threat to the U.S. ~> sinse they have never directly made threats.. (as far as I know)

And why? NK is getting away with ... exiting the non-nuclear proliferation treaty..? And making WAR threats?

And another Q? Why don't the Koreans get along together anyway?

Take a picture... S.K.'s seem to be better off than N.K.'s. I mean... they even make cars.....

Opps! <~~ back to the point.

IMOH seems as if N.K. is winking/biting at the U.S. .......the same way U.S. is biting at Iraq.

No biting allowed in wrestling.

"Korea Warns Any Pre-Emptive U.S. Attacks on Its Nuclear Facilities Would Trigger ‘Total War’ "

N. Korea Warns U.S. on Pre-emptive Moves](http://abcnews.go.com/wire/World/ap20030206_416.html) ABC News

the whole world ought to be very scared of dictatorships with nuclear capability.

*Originally posted by Jagjeevan: *
the whole world ought to be very scared of dictatorships with nuclear capability.
True, and as long as you are a democracy with nuclear capability, you have nothing to worry about. Since we all know a democracy would NEVER use nuclear weapons.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
True, and as long as you are a democracy with nuclear capability, you have nothing to worry about. Since we all know a democracy would NEVER use nuclear weapons.

Imdad Yaar ..
Only once nuclear weapons were used in the history. That was by a DEMOCRACY. However we can always say they used after they were attacked in their own soil.
problem with NK is they are ready to sell Nuclear technology to any rougue nation or group who ic ready to pay money.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *

Get a lesson in history and get it fast......

If I'm not mistaken did Donald Rumsfeld not say the other day (before the German FM gaving him a public whipping) that North Korea will have or could produce 6 to 8 nuclear weapons by May?

*Originally posted by Malik73: *
If I'm not mistaken did Donald Rumsfeld not say the other day (before the German FM gaving him a public whipping) that North Korea will have or could produce 6 to 8 nuclear weapons by May?

Yes he did but that is beside the point, its a well known fact they have nukes and for good reasons too. ... Bush also said openly he will not negotiate at gun point the next day he send Bill Richardson for negotiations. He also said there will be no deals with NK and now he is willing to supply fuel and meet other demands too. But the Koreans are not budging they know if they get rid of their nukes there will be a terrorist attack against their country.

Now from the horse’s mouth. Is the threat from NK real? Yes. Does it matter that NK is a poor country with miserable living conditions? irrelevant. Does it matter how well equipped their military is when launching such a missile that can potentially hit North America? Nope.
From LA Times:

**In testimony before the Senate Armed Services Committee, CIA Director George J. Tenet and Defense Intelligence Agency Director Vice Adm. Lowell Jacoby acknowledged that the North Koreans could hit the western United States with a nuclear warhead if they used a three-stage version of the Taepodong 2 missile. **

“Yes, they could do that,” Tenet said in response to a lawmaker’s question, adding that Pyongyang is also believed to have one or two nuclear bombs. Jacoby, however, noted that the missile has not undergone the kind of testing that is usually required before the weapons are considered ready for deployment.](http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/world/la-fg-norkor13feb13001441,1,1479787.story?coll=la-headlines-world)

At the White House, Press Secretary Ari Fleischer said, “We do have concerns about North Korea’s missile development programs.”

The possibility of such a nuclear strike has been asserted in U.S. intelligence reports since the late 1990s. In the 2001 National Intelligence Estimate, the intelligence community pointed out that a three-stage Taepodong could deliver a payload weighing several hundred pounds about 9,000 miles, sufficient to hit any part of North America.

And what is their response to this?

U.S. Not Pressing Sanctions on N.Korea for Now](Yahoo News: Latest and Breaking News, Headlines, Live Updates, and More)

It’s hiding behind the excuse of China now, but we know what the real reasons are…:slight_smile:

we know what the real reasons are…

"yes, the United States is scared of North Korea. "
“…either its clearly US double standards, or they are really scared of North Korea. Its one of the two possibilites for sure…”
“There are many other reasons, but all add up to one thing - the US is scared of North Korea.”
“Before the world America’s double standards or fear is being exposed”
“North Korea thumbs its nose again at the US again”
“The American’s are left virtually powerless to do anything…”
“Double standards, hypocrisy, and downright fear…on the US part.”
“the US dare not make any moves against it…cause its scared of the reaction.”
"they are flaunting it to the rest of the world, really showing up American hypocrisy and double standards.
"Americans are now conceding that they are scared of what North Korea might do in response to any US move
“Fear of North Korea - thats whats stopping them”
“It is quite unashamaedly thumbing its nose at the Americans and showing the US double standards up quite starkly.”
“I would say both, but more so fear. From the answers of the Americans in this thread it seems to be fear”
"Americans have also concdeded i.e the fear of North Korea’s response "
“exposing American hypocrisy, fear and double standards.”
"And yet more to fear… "
“They have restarted their nuclear programme full speed, and are daring you to do anything about it.”

7 pages to chastise the US for:

1. Taking consideration that the regime of NK make nuke or otherwise kill millions of civilians
  2. US is not treating 2 separate issues (Iraq and NK) as though they were the same.

Surely these mind boggling revelations need another 4 or 5 pages to further reiterate these startling and totally inconceivable polices. :mudhosh: