Is the current 25-35 yr old generation soft under the belly?

Re: Is the current 25-35 yr old generation soft under the belly?

is it dangerous to take a walk in karachi?

if u have too much gold at home is it problem?

if u r having blackberry n taking a walk wt chances r that u will be robed?

"O bhai - you are talking about karachi .. where if one has to go to the commercial area , which is within 1 or 1.5 km radius normally , People use bloody motorcycles for the journey... Again no bicycles ...

Feasible .. Indeed .. but doable , depending on many related factors .. I don't think so !"

This is indeed a sad state of affairs. Just because people use motorcycles to fo 1-1.5 km does not mean that is the better mode of transport. The "motor" class is actually contributing to the problem. If people would use their motor vehicles more judiciously, the air will be easier to breathe, streets will be less clutterd, and quality of life would improve. Unfortunately, people put themselves first before community, thus dragging down quality of life for everyone, especially the poor.

IMO, walking is both feasible, doable and ideal for short distance, be it Karachi or Pollecheri :)

I've been to Karachi(went first time in 2009), and honestly people there don't really ride bicycles to work, don't recall seeing it. Little kids ride em for fun around their houses.

Karachi seemed to have had a lot of road and highway construction making the roads faster, (according to my cousin), also people there drive like maniacs. I certainly would not be able to drive there. To take a bike onto the road would be a death wish, plus there aren't any sidewalks, so how will you walk to work??

What you do see there is tons and tons of motorcycles, almost everyone has one and their quite affordable, I bought my cousin a new motorbike when I went there.

***Also yes it is dangerous, if you are walking to work dressed nicely with a bag you will get robbed, it would be silly to do so. We were chased twice there by robbers on a bike, while we were in a car, we had to drive around the narrow alleys to get away. The robbers spotted us in a market and must have assumed we had a lot of cash since my family was out shopping.

There was also lots of ethnic violence there for many days and we had to stay at home. There is a lot of tension between the Pashtun and Muhajir communities, if you are a Pashtun you don't want to go to a Muhajir area during tense times and vice versa. *You will be shot.*

Our refugee Afghan Pashtun bread maker guy was shot at and killed, simply for being a Pashtun. Left behind a wife and 5 kids to feed.

Some of my relatives live there in a place called Malir Cantt, its relatively safe, close to the airport, since it's walled of military protected area. Just to get in you go through checkpoints and bomb detectors, and there are heavily armed guards inside. Inside you can pretty much do whatever, I even walked around there by myself, there are shops and restaurants.

LOL are you crazy? Don't walk outside with GOLD there or looking rich dressed in nice cloths, that will attract bad attention.

Talking and walking on a blackberry = robbed, almost all of my relatives there have been robbed at some point of their cell phones.

Even crappy cellphones are robbed, so a black berry is a target.

I was just talking on my cousins crappy phone while we were at a red light, and my uncle was like "WTF are you doing, buddy, this ain't freaking Switzerland".

^thats wt i wanted to know very grave situation no law and order......

i feel sorry about karachi residents.............

in pak while walking/shopping i never used my coach bag or even my HTC phone. i got a ordinary wallet and motrolla cell phone and would always read ayat-ul-kursi coz that everyday wallet still had thousands of rupees in them.

I am living in karachi and we got robbed three time from our house. First time three people entered in our house and kept us on gun point. My mother gave them all her jewellery but they didn't take, what they took with them was my 2500 cell phone (they could get only 1500 of that used mobile) and 2500 Rs of my Eidi. At that time we had 25000 amount at home (it is still a joke in our family that we were robbed by some pocket pickers :p). Another time some thief entered in our house in night and took few hundred rupees, at that time and at same place we had around Rs. 10,000 which were safe Alhamdulillah. Thrid time my father got robbed at our house door step but that house was on very busy road so my father started screaming and they ran away without taking money or any other thing Alhamdulillah.

When my sisters and cousins come at our place we go on walk with our mobile sets and money. My sister has iphone and my cousin has some samsung latest set (cost 25K or 30K), they even talk on mobile on road if they get a call. Alhamdulillah we haven't had any incident like that may be because we recite Ayat-Ul-Kursi before going out.

Ohhh yes my Khala was very careful about money and jewellery. She never left her house alone, took her jewellery and all the money with her if she had to stay somewhere else. When she was coming back from weddings she kept her jewellery in her purse. Her daughter got robbed on her wedding night on the way to parlour and robbers took her gold bangles and her bhabi's gold bangles and rings. They lost almost around Rs. 100,000.

We never take extra ordinary precautions. and Alhamdulillah we are always safe.

So "no bicycle" is about fashion or status but not safety purpose. May be after few years when patrol prices would be two high may be MAY BE then people start using cycles again :p.

Thank you - the picture is getting clearer

Decent, Daffy Duck and now you have given the "other" side.

Southie , I am willing to sponsor a week 's trip for you - if you want to visit Karachi ...

Bhai - vacasun nahin hai. Actually I am truly not afraid to walk in the streets of Karachi (and I am sure that applies to lots of Karachiites - since streets are crowded with pedestrians).

southie u asked the question which i myself wanted to ask.......

naabigh r u in karachi?

i want to know wt residents of karachi feel about karachi.....

Karachi does have some cool stuff though, where else can you ride a camel at 11pm at night for like .40 cents, with some little Sindhi kid leading the camel into the ocean underneath a star filled sky.

It was awesome, I rode camels with my cousins and it was a lot of fun. Plus everything seems hella cheap if you have dollars. The PAF museum is also really nice and they make some wicked kabab rolls there. Also there is this place called Phoenix/Arizona Grill? something like that, really awesome food. Lal Qila is also another place worth checking out. Basically if you are a food fanatic you will like Karachi. However if you have never been to that part of the world you are likely to get sick despite precautions. Our bodies are just not use to a lot of the germs there.

I also stayed at the Ramada by the airport for a few days, really good rooms and very nice room service. This was also the only place I actually saw white people, and some Japanese/Chinese people. Heavy security there so it's safe. Cost was about 250 US dollars per night so its way out of reach for most local people. The bathrooms were amazing, the shower was enough to fit 4 or 5 people easily.

I found it funny that soon as you get out of the airport you see a McDonalds, nothing like McDonalds to remind you of home.

My dads cousin has a gun shop there and he let me unload a few rounds,good times.

Basically Karachi is great if you have relatives who live there or someone to show you around/be your guide, otherwise it's not safe and a foreigner can easily get into serious trouble. There are vultures waiting for you right out side of the airport ready to rob you (and yes this includes cab drivers), so you have to be very careful and have someone with you at all times.

i feel likeke karachi is urban version of chambal

Well acutally , you didn't understand it !

I never said that people don't walk on streets here .. obviously they do .. but when it comes to doing a 6 km walk to work .. or use bicycles for commuting .. it is not the norm here ..

And there are several factors , affecting this trend of life here in karachi

a) Security concerns
b) Daily increment of Motor vehicles on the roads of karachi
c) Transport Mafia

and so on :)

I have never worried too much about the norm - if it is something I believe in, I try to do it. While 6 km each way may be pushing it, if my livelihood depended on it, I would do it.

The daily increment of motor vehicles - that is up to the residents to decrease it ot keep it steady. Starts with an individual. If we did just what everyone does, then no solution.

Which brings me back to my point - there appears to be more of a classissue, status issue. To me, if janta can walk, I can also walk. Partis generational (and I am much older). Walking was natyral for my generation.

( I do like discussing with you - always calm) Disagreements are good, when they occur in this fashion!

^ I am typing in semi dark - so forgvbe the multi typos

If people were riding bicycles or walking upto 5 Km in this city - we wont be seeing this , every day.. Enjoy ! :slight_smile:

Why ? is there a ' NO light in night in Bedroom ' policy implemented by Babhi jii :D

Haan ji - she is sleeping - so now I moved my chair closer to the passageway where there is light - so back to perfect typing!

Bhai Jan - I am no different , All of my life and prior to moving back here - I have done every mode of public transport for commuting to work and I actually prefer that ... But here its a different ball game !

To bring this nation to a point , where they start putting a mutual benefit on top of an individual gain - is like cleaning augean stables .. And it has to be done on several levels ..

To lure general public into a state , where they start compromising their individual needs over a common goal .. you need to provide them the stability , which will make them going for the option ...

Such as in our case , it would be a better handle transportation system .. Safe and secured environment !

Neither you can put a totally responsibility on public nor on government !