Re: dance on wedding day
lol sara!
lol sara!
i will not dance with my nand
i danced with hubby on his elder bros maayun tho lol uss waqt pe hubby and I were just engaged hehe
lol, i was discussing this with my family, i think its kind of cute... it has never happened in our family before.... So,it'll be first time. I don't think they'll like it.. but lets see what we end up with.
[quote="“llxxll, post:5, topic:208991"”]
I’m planning on dancing on my mehndi
will post experience thereafter
When’s your mehndi?? Please tell me how it goes! I’m excited for your surprise too haha
I feel the same way ClassyGal.. It’s awkward for me b/c I’m not used to it and I’ve never seen it done before. I really feel bad for my fiance though.. I know he’ll beg me and he’s such a sweetheart, i won’t know how to say no! And it’s not just my family, their friends will be there too.. and most of them are conservative people who do hijab and everything. So they’ll either have a heart attack or they’ll walk out! But is it fair to not let my fiance have what he wants on his wedding day b/c of what others will think/say? ![]()
Sapphirez, how would you do it? Have you thought out the details yet.. like if it’s on your wedding day, how would you dance with all your heavy clothes/jewelry on? What kind of dance would it be?
When's your mehndi?? Please tell me how it goes! I'm excited for your surprise too haha
meri insha'allah isi month mein hai
aapki kab hai shaadi vaadi n all?
m excited about it too :D
Ive been to a few weddings where the couple have danced and personally im not keen on the idea... I find it well embarrassing being in hubby's arms when my Dad, brothers, and uncles are all watching NO - THANKS
I am gonna dance on my mehndi for sure! im not sure abt the wedding though. but yea gonna slow dance with hubby and then friends n family on fast beat desi songs. he also promised to prepare a dance with his friends for me on the song "tenu leke main jayan ga" from salman khan's salam-e-ishq :P.
anyways, i really dont think theres anything wrong with slow dancing with ur hubby.. for god sake its YOUR wedding. who cares wat others think abt the couple trying to be too "westrenized"? i say if ur hubby wants to then GO FOR IT! this day is only gonna come once in ur life so might as well make the best of it! :)
^ Some people have a hissy fit when u wanna cut a cake.
It always comes down to what you and your fiance/family feel comfortable with....to hell with "laug kya kahein gaye"
Astaghfirullah!!!!
Thoba, thoba!!!!
Aaaaeeeeeyyyyyyyy Haaaaaiiiiiiiyyyyyyy!!!!!
slow dancing and salsa seems a lil too much for me. awkward for parents too. but in my cousin's walima, her hubby took her out of the chair and moved her hands around lol......then all my relatives started doing bhangra around them...she just smiled and moved off to a side it was impromptu and cute. anything looking rehearsed looks weird at a desi wedding,i guess.
one of my best friends started off doing a slow dance to an indian song with her hubby and then about a minute in, the DJ mixed it with a really fast bhangra song that all their friends and family joined in for. it was great and might be a good solution for someone who doesn’t want to do a slow dance for the entire song because they feel awkward about it.
my husband and i had a dance floor for mehendi and shaadi. we did the fox trot at our wedding, which might be something to explore- the salsa is a very intimate dance and requires you to hold each other very closely- the fox trot requires you to hold each other a little bit away. plus its faster moving than a slow dance and there are some great Sinatra songs you can dance to. its very classy and old-fashioned in these days and like entertainment for the viewing crowd- our families loved it!
we took lessons though- its not something you can learn on youtube. so if you’re interested, visit a dance studio and bring a pair of heels!
here’s a sample-
we're doing a slow dance that's going to convert from a slow dance into a salsa dance at the wedding. there is going to be an element of surprise, but we haven't started taking lessons yet - my fiance is already a good dancer and i think i have two left feet. i don't think it's a big deal but both of our families are pretty flexible and i'd like to dance at least once in front of my community since i'll be moving out of state after the wedding. i guess it gives people a chance to properly see my entire outfit anyway lol.
at the mehendi, my fiance and his boys are doing a few choreographed dances. i think at some point in the co-ed bhangara, the guys/girls will bring me on stage, but i won't be doing a choreographed dance that day. not that there's anything wrong with it - but i don't wanna go full out there with dancing at the mehendi.
[quote="“llxxll, post:91, topic:208972"”]
meri insha’allah isi month mein hai
aapki kab hai shaadi vaadi n all?
m excited about it too ![]()
Shaadi aur vaadi sab April mein hai ![]()
A lot of people are warming up to the cake cutting thing now.. i guess b/c it’s becoming more common at weddings. So maybe people will warm up to the dancing too.. but either way, I agree with you.. I’m not worried about “log kya kahein gay”.. I just don’t know how my family will react.. they’re conservative but they can be open-minded about a lot of things, so I’m hoping this is one of those things.
SGC, Thanks for the suggestions!! I don’t know anything about dancing.. but I’m going to check out the fox trot. I love the idea of dancing to Sinatra or even the more contemporary Michael Buble songs. I’ll have to take dance lessons anyway because I can’t dance at all!! How were your lessons? Did you do one on one? Or was it a class full of people?
^ that’s true..i see your point… my family was/is conservative too, however, i think even if i had done a quick slow dance, it wouldn’t’ve been a big deal afterwards. In fact, a few weeks later, my mom was like… “tumhe toh shauk tha, ziyada karti” ![]()
I mean what can they do…ground you and take away your allowance ![]()
areebah, we took one on one lessons- honestly, you probably only need 5-6 lessons to master the one dance. most studios offer wedding lesson packages and classes are about 30-45 minutes long. they’ll set up a routine for you based on your song of choice. another friend of mine did an absolutely adorable dance to michael buble’s everything, which is such a cute wedding dance song -
Is the close bride and groom dance accepted in your local society?
removed upon request of the groom
I was watching this vid and it made me think, if ever a bride and groom got up to do dance like that in one of our pathan weddings... well, they wouldn't bcos it would be unthinkable! (lol). I don't think any of the ma n pa generation in our local society here in the uk would ever accept it. However I think some of the younger ones may.
How about you guys, is it normally acceptable? Did u dance like that or would you not at your wedding?
Re: Is the close bride and groom dance accepted in your local society?
its accepted, but i gotta say, watching a couple slow dance is really boring and awkward, because they kind of do the arms-length shuffle. i mean, really, if you're going to do a dance, make it fun! go get some lessons and choreography. we did the fox trot and it was actually fun to do, and watch, or so i was told :p
although if this is the alternative, our people would mostly laugh- she's clinging to him like a barnacle on a rock! for crying out loud! he's not running away, he just married you. this would have been even weirder to watch hahaha
Ummm well the only people tht dun it in my family, was my uncle n his wife. However she was shaking her hips n all sorts. (even tho it was a slow dance..n slow music..?) umm yeah dunno how tht works.
However.. all us young ones loved it. All the olders couldnt stop chattin sh*t about her. Soo... i dunno depends really.
^ "she's clinging to him like a barnacle on a rock!"
U r right. Lol!
Nope, never.