Is Sir Agarkar "really" human? Find out in the "Sir Agarkar Tribute" Thread!

Is Sir Agarkar really back? Is Sir Agarkar really human? Is Sir Agarkar really the future?

• Pauses and gives a great big cheeky smile *

Okay, okay, the “human” question is copyrighted from across the border (except for personalities…Dravid vs. Sir Agarkar…it’s a no-contest :D), but…

• 18 overs for 63 runs with 1 maiden and 3 key wickets (Farhat, Younis & Yousuf), conceding 3.5/over, including the toe-crushing Waqar Younis-esque yorker. Not that bad of an effort, really.

Does this mean we will see more of Sir Agarkar in the near future (which would also define the frustrations and agony of a certain hardcore Sir Agarkar fan, who is now smiling as he reads through this thread :D).

As Smooth_guy Bhai said:

(Names not provided to protect the guilty and innocent) :smiley:

And this is how one person on here concluded his thread not too long ago -

LEMME KNOW WHEREEEE DAAAA GUPPIESSSSSSS STANDDDDDD!!!

Re: Is Sir Agarkar "really" human? Find out in the "Sir Agarkar Tribute" Thread!

yeah he seemed pretty good, but most indian bowlers did, the track favoured the seamers a bit, most bowlers wud have bowled as well, need to see how he fares on dead tracks.

Re: Is Sir Agarkar “really” human? Find out in the “Sir Agarkar Tribute” Thread!

^ give the guy some credit yar, it was same pitch where our bowlers were sent to cleaners, including Asif. Only Rana was some consolation. You want him to prove himself on dead pitch? :hehe: What did Shoaib Akhtar prove on dead pitch? :expressionless:

Re: Is Sir Agarkar "really" human? Find out in the "Sir Agarkar Tribute" Thread!

Ok...here goes :

Agarkar has two things going for him :
(1) Experience - He has been around in Intl Cricket for 7-8 years.
(2) Ability to slip in a few "interesting" deliveries amidst an overwhelming number of innocuous ones.

That said, I have very little regard for bowling statistics in One-Day Matches .
Even Part-timers like Tendulkar, Srikkanth, Ranatunga have taken 5-Fors in ODIs. Also, bowlers who bowl during slog overs are likely to take wickets - regardless of their overall bowling quality.

We have seen Agarkar for a long time. His current bowling is hardly a revelation. In fact this is the way he has survived in the team..taking a wicket here...a wicket there...without ever being really exceptional or outstanding.

At the end of the day...he is still a mediocre player who keeps getting chances...when better bowlers have been shown the door after far fewer opportunities.

If he played for UP instead of Bombay...I have no boubts in my mind that he would have been kicked out long ago.

^^ finally a true admirer is born :D

Two bowlers separated by Partition :

Bowling Averages :

TESTS
Agarkar 47.32
Sami 47.15

*ODIs *
Agarkar 27.48

Sami 28.37

Re: Is Sir Agarkar “really” human? Find out in the “Sir Agarkar Tribute” Thread!

good points...
i think this is his last chance to prove himself
i definately think he deserves this chance atleast, hes been unlucky with all his injuries, coming in and out of the squad and with all the new talent, i think the selectors will make their decision on him

he's pretty average and like Some1 mentioned slips in those interesting deliveries, he also does tend to pick up wickets and maybe thats why the selectors are having a hard time letting him go

Hey this is not fair. When i opened a Agarkar vs Akram thread everyone threw chappals and rotten tamaatar at me. Why are we allowed to compare Agarkar to Dravid now :p

i think only dhobi bhai is comparing Dravid to Agarkar ;)
and honestly i dont know what he was talking about in most of his post :P
the whole human thing...haha

In all seriousness, what I am failing to understand is, why have the Indian selectors persisted with Agarkar for so long, even after the emergence of Munaf Patel? The latter should be an automatic-selection in the squad for ODI's, regardless of his initial performance. Give him at least 15-20 games to prove his worth before completely discarding him and throwing his slip off to the side. With the way he bowled in previous test series, there is a strong opportunity to mold him into one of the most fastest and efficient pacers in International Cricket, let alone in India, and yet, such opportunities are continuously overlooked in favor of someone who has proved nill in his entire career, both with bat and ball, and has held onto a thin rope for so long with strong "backing" in his favor.

He couldn't even hit on that helmet, and required the assistance of FAST AND BOUNCY pitch to accomplish his mission. I say we axe him and get Rao Iftikhar on the menu. :p

Sir Agarkar also has taken 9 four-wicket hauls and 2 five-fers, compared to Sami's figures of 3 and 1, respectively. The guy is a genius, thinking on his feet all the time and bowling those toe-crushing yorkers. Somewhere, Chacha Boreywala must be thinking of Sir Agarkar and smiling at this very moment. :D

Lota Jee, aglee baar jub aapkay mubarak chehray per timataron ki baarish ho to mujhse helmet lena naa bhooliyey gaa. :D

Atlast, Dhobi bhai bringing some consolation for Agarkar.

As far as the stats are concerned, Some1 mentioned very truly. I'm still baffled (as much as you are Dhobi jee) about exclusion of Patel from the team.
I mean Agarkar takes a few wickets here and there and we have seen too much of him to classify him as an "excellent" bowler. The better thing would be to give Patel a chance or even get Powar a permanent place. Overall, Agarkar is not a bowler that any team really eyes for as far as his performance recently is concerned.

Umer

hahaha :hehe: Goodone

Agarkar has been bowling well lately. If Chappel can get him bowl consistently, that will be......... WOWO....
At his best he is the best bowler of India any day...... Please mark my words..... At his best..... (that's so rare)....

i think he is having injured ankle .....

After an immense demand and a massive growth of Sir Agarkar fanclub in recent times, the *awaam *of GupShup have mutually decided to bring back the Sir Agarkar Tribute Thread from the dead (you two, come forward now :p)

Have at it. *Koi kasar baqee nahin choorni hai chokray ka bhurta bananay mein. *:smokin2:

Dhobi, currently, I would rather have Agarkar allrounder in my team than Sami. Really :o .