well i think this guy shahid afridi is all flesh and bones no brains
i think he is extremly overate player who must be given a kick on his …
I don't think the poor guy is overrated. I mean pretty much everyone makes fun of his BANG-BANG-Gone technique. So, he's actually not overrated at all.
I do know one thing for sure that the guy has IMMENSE potential. I mean the guy can hit the ball so hard and in places where others can't. If only he had some discipline! Miandad was supposed to be working with Shahid to make his realize the worth of his wicket but I guess all the advice went out with Miandad.
Shahid Afridi is the best thing Pakistan has gifted to their opponents. When Afridi is playing the opposition knows that there is a 90% chance of them getting his wicket within the first five overs, so they only have to worry about the other 9. The guy is a disgrace and shouldbe dropped.
I think this guy has great Potential and can be match winner if he learnt how to be focussed and have patience.he has got amazing shots whcih he can execute an dany situation.he just needs a couple of months coaching with likes of Bioycott,Gavaskar,Sachin or even Pakistani Haneef muhammad or Mudassar nazar.
Jiyo Aur Jeene Do!!!
I personally think the damn idiot should be dropped.
He is a waste of good batting space!
Ours is not to reason why;
Ours is but to do and die
I agree - Afridi has been given countless chances and people priase him when he blocks one ball yet look the other way when he slogs the next one straight up in the air and gifts the opposition a wicket. He is no Jayasuria. And he is no Gilchrist. This guy should be dropped and put away in domestic cricket for a few seasons. Maybe then he will improve. Because of him, we have never had a proper opening partner for Saeed Anwar and that has cost us a lot of games. His bowling sucks too. Coming in and cleaning the tail up when the game has already been won has got him some decent figures but when was the last time he got a top order wicket?
Lets not forget that Afridi is basically a bowler-leg spinner. He was sent to Kenya as a replacement of Mushtaq Ahmed. And was upgradedin the batting order just to increase the run rate against Sri Lanka, he made 100 in 37 balls. The guy has a potential to bat but needs coaching. His bowling is OK too especially his faster delivery.
Originally posted by kabir:
well i think this guy shahid afridi is all flesh and bones no brains
i think he is extremly overate player who must be given a kick on his ..........
He needs better coaching. He's got talent but he's rough around the edges. DEFINITELY OVERRATED.
Shahid is actually quite good. Kaam tab gharaab ho jaata hai, when he tries to hit too much chhakays.
I saw him playing in the 'Double Wicket Cricket' last year and he was playing awsome.
Shahid Afridi
Batsman:
a very good one....
has the record for the fastest ODI centuty....
most sixes in an ODI innings....
a very agressive opener who will not take the pressure of any bowler; spinner or fast, medium pacer or anything....
Bowler:
was brought in the team as a bowler....
was very successful against batsmen initially....
but lacks variety so has nothing special to offer and soon all the batsmen knew how to hadle him....
he can break a partnership....
when the batsmen r stuck to the crease and no bowler can get rid of them call afridi, his quicker one will get him for sure....
during the pak tour of nz, the nz aptain said "we have no bowler who can bowl at speeds of > 130 kmh whereas pak has 4 fast bowlers (shoaib, wasim, sami, razzaq) and also a spinner (afridi) who can bowl well over that mark"....
Fielder:
probably the best pakistan has ever had....
second only to imran nazir and shoaib malik....
a great throw, lively fielding and very rare chances of dropping a catch....
Overall:
a must have in pakistan team....
simply irreplacable....
both test and one-day player....
no reasons for him to sit out....
hardly ever has fitness problems....
and is not a player who is in or out of form....
every innings is a totally new thing for him....
Afridi is no doubt a talented player.
The real problem comes when ever the opposition team sets a high score to chase in one days, thats when he fails. He tries to hit the ball out of the ground without even settling in.
His bowling is great. i think he should take up a full time bowling spot in the team.
Thank you, come again
The only thing I like about Afridi is that he is a aggressive player when he`s out on the field. He's not scared to let the opposition get an earful from him - along with Moin Khan, Younis Khan, Shoaib Akhter, and Azhar Mahmood. Thats good to see. I think his talent is there but I also beleive he has been given too many chances and he HAS to start gaining some consistency. I dont expect 50's and 100's from him each time he goes out but he should at least be able to contribute 30's or 40's and get the occasional partnership going. An opener is out in the middle to see of the new ball and protect the rest of the order from the new ball bowlers. But when Afridi is out there - the number 3 and 4 batsman have foot on the field and the other in the dressing room.
Afridi, A player !!!
I think he is a must when ever a national Paki Gulli danda team be formed.
As far as cricket is concernd I dont think he knows what criket is..
Sbaat Aik Taghaiur ko hai zamanee main
well i think this guy is a disgrace blind shots here and there hitting the ball with force without brains
a mediocre bowler who chucks the faster delivery. i feel he is robbing a good player his place in the team
Originally posted by kabir:
well i think this guy is a disgrace blind shots here and there hitting the ball with force without brains
a mediocre bowler who chucks the faster delivery. i feel he is robbing a good player his place in the team
What are you talking about brother?
Fast deliveries doesn't neccesarily mean he is a chucker. You need to fix your view of Pakistani bowlers as chuckers.
Thank you, come again
Originally posted by sambrialian:
**I don't think the poor guy is overrated. I mean pretty much everyone makes fun of his BANG-BANG-Gone technique. So, he's actually not overrated at all.
I do know one thing for sure that the guy has IMMENSE potential. I mean the guy can hit the ball so hard and in places where others can't. If only he had some discipline! Miandad was supposed to be working with Shahid to make his realize the worth of his wicket but I guess all the advice went out with Miandad.**
Hasn't proved that bad bowler as well...In the recent test series against west indies he was not that bad as compared to Danish Kaneria who is just bowler...and his over rate was not that bad and plus bonus hez a batsman...n u shouldn't neglect his good innings at difficult stages and in pressure like one in sharjah final against south africa where the partnership for first wicket between him and imran nazir was 123 and first few overs were maiden and then run rate was 10.sumthin
He just needs good coaching which isn't possible....
~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~