Is Saqlain Mushtaq a British national now?/Saqi keen on debuting for England

All three cannot play as overseas players- Naveed ul Hasan, Mushtaq Ahmed & Saqlain Mushtaq. Therefore, I am pretty sure Saqlain got his passport. But I couldnt find the news on www.skysports.com

Anyone else heard anything about this? Could this mean, they could select Saqlain against India? DAMN!!!

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/countycricket2007/engine/current/match/268462.html

Re: Is Saqlain Mushtaq a British national now?

Saqi got married to an english woman and passed his citizenship test In April this year. He Is now a british citizen. He also qualifies to play for England but with Monty In the side I can't see them picking Saqi who after 3 years of knee problems Is a shadow of his best.

I watched Sussex V Essex In a Twenty20 match with Mushy, Rana and Saqi all playing together and Saqi was trying to bowl as quickly as he could and he was way to predictable. I hope he regains his form and the old Saqi returns.

he did receive his passport earlier this week and now is a brtiish citizen.

He played his first game as a citizen on July 3rd
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/countycricket2007/engine/current/match/268446.html

Yeah i just saw some other people's post on couple other sites that have confirmed he received his British passport.

I don't think he can play for England so soon after getting the passport. There's a rule that you have to wait five years after playing for another country before playing for England.

^ He qualifies In 2008, not long to go.

Mann...Saqi was the best off spinner in the world at one point of time(with clean action)--and I absolutely cannot believe how Pakistan mishandled this wonderful spinner.

Pakistan can't be held responsible for his serious knee injuries which have wrecked his Internatonal career.

hes doing very well for surrey!!

^ now he's in sussex....
been more than a year now that he stopped playing for surrey....

When was the last time saqlain played for pakistan? 1998???

I think we even danesh kaneria out so who is our main spinner now.

and with that comes the end of another wasted talent by the pakistani cricket establishment.

He Isn't out of the side!

He didn't play in the world cup nor in the last couple matches [months as how pakistan schedule goes].

PCB don't regard Danny as a one day player. He Is a regular In the TEST line up.

Did not want to open a thread about this, so I am posting it here :

Saqlain-Sreesanth spat in the recent India-Sussex match :

S Sreesanth has definitely got to be the most expressive pace bowler around. Already, his ‘part jig, part war dance’ celebrations after he hit South African Andre Nel for a six in the Johannesburg Test are part of cricketing folklore.

As someone who wears his heart on his sleeve, Sreesanth was at it again on the final day of India’s tour opener against Sussex when he confronted Saqlain Mushtaq in an encounter involving cricketing acumen and, of course, verbal volleys.

Just when Saqlain thought he had got away after having a go at Sreesanth when he told him, “Tu apne ko Shoaib Akhtar samajhta hai kya?" (Do you think you are Shoaib Akhtar?)” in the first innings, the Indian pacer stumped the former Pakistan off-spinner by returning the compliment on the final day. Not just that, he also celebrated with an extended jig and break-dance routine.

Sreesanth had Saqlain caught in the slips. As Saqlain stood at the wicket in sheer disappointment, Sreesanth came down within handshaking distance and started dancing. He held the ball in his hand while doing a jig and rounded it off by shaking his hips in a break-dance movement.

Asked about the extended celebrations, Sreesanth said: “Actually, he had a go at me by saying, “Tere ko six maarta hoon! (I am going to hit you for a six).” I told him: “Aap din mein bhi sapne dekhte hain (Are you into daydreaming?).” So, when I got him, I enjoyed rubbing it in.”

Good answer, Hind ke laaj rakh giya.

** Saqlain excited by England chance**

KARACHI (Reuters) - Pakistan off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq, who survived a career-threatening knee injury to make a comeback in England this season, is excited by the possibility of playing for his adopted country.

Saqlain, who has taken 208 wickets in 49 tests for Pakistan, played for Sussex against the touring India side this week and said he would qualify to play for England in September this year after he married a British citizen of Pakistani origin.

“It’s an exciting prospect to know I might also get a chance to play for England. But it is an option I will think about only after a successful comeback this season,” Saqlain told Reuters in an interview from England.

Saqlain has received his British passport but may be getting carried away if he thinks he could make his England debut this year.

“He doesn’t qualify for England until April 2 2008 at the earliest,” an International Cricket Council spokesman said.

“There is a four-year qualifying period if you want to play for another country and he last played for Pakistan on April 1, 2004.”

Saqlain believes he still has plenty of cricket left in him.

“There are many people who feel I should try to play for England and are pushing me to go for it,” he said. "I am only 30.

“But I am first concentrating on completing a good season without any more fitness problems.”

Saqlain said it was a wait-and-see situation.

“Then see who is keener to play me and consider the best option. But playing for Pakistan has always been a honour for me.”

However, he did not hide his bitterness at the way the Pakistan Cricket Board and selectors shunned him since his knee injury, which required two operations.

“It hurts that no one bothered to just call me or ask me how I was doing. It was as if I didn’t exist. I didn’t care about them footing my medical bills but the moral support was never there,” said Saqlain, who took 288 wickets in 169 one-day internationals for Pakistan.

Saqlain said his comeback had been possible after an intensive rehabilitation process with Sussex.

"Getting a chance to play for Sussex as a local player was the lucky break I was looking for after the agony and misery I went through.

“I played my first proper match in two years time against India and it went smoothly. It made me realise I am not finished as an international player yet. It now depends how desperate I am for the big comeback.”

He took four wickets and bowled 35 overs for Sussex in the match against India.

SOURCE: http://uk.reuters.com/article/cricketNews/idUKB8624320070712?pageNumber=1

Re: Is Saqlain Mushtaq a British national now?/Saqi keen on debuting for England

Realistically speaking even with Monty Injured, there are promosing youngsters coming through the academy for England, they will look at them b4 Saqi.

Re: Is Saqlain Mushtaq a British national now?/Saqi keen on debuting for England

Saqi and Monty bowling for England will make their spin bowling combo pretty potent...