I was talking to my friend and she said I don’t get people who don’t read quran and claim to be the best Muslims. So I want to know if reading quran is farz in Islam?? I know the benefits of reading quran and the fact that all th duas we read in namaz come from the quran.
I told my friend that I don’t think its farz in Islam but we can’t deny that our life should be based on Islamic teaching and quran. So I am not looking for answers for why we should read quran. Just a simple yes or no.. is quran farz in Islam??
Re: Is quran farz??
NO, it's NOT! but having said that, does it make any sense to be a Muslim and NOT read Qur'aan? it's like claiming to be a lawyer and never ever open the law books! the Qur'aan is NOT just 'a' book...it's a guide to lead a life that Allah, your Creator, wants you to lead. besides, after salaat which is fard, Qur'aan is the best zikr which is NOT obligatory!
reading Qur'aan makes understanding of what you practice a lot easier! Good Luck! Allah ham sab ko saHeeH deen par Qur'aan paRhne, usko samajhne aur us par 'amal karne kii taufeeq 'ataa farmaaye...aameen! :)
If the salah is fard, then so is the Quran, because we need to recite the Quran in it.
Likewise wudu is also fard, because without wudu we can't read Salah ... Wudu and Qur'an are part of the salah rukn.
If the salah is fard, then so is the Quran, because we need to recite the Quran in it.
Likewise wudu is also fard, because without wudu we can't read Salah ... Wudu and Qur'an are part of the salah rukn.
she meant reciting Qur'aan on a regulart basis...tilaavat in other words! that's what i think she meant!
Well then the recitation of the Qur'an is a definite Sunnah and in order to be a good Muslim one does not ignore their Sunnahs, not even the small ones and this is a big one.
But the answer to the question is yes ... not no ... Because you can't learn the Surahs in the Qur'an without having recited the verses first.
The actual question she asked was "Is Qur'an fard in Islam" ... Islam is only known because of the Qur'an ... Memorisation of it has been the means of its preservation.
Well then the recitation of the Qur'an is a definite Sunnah and in order to be a good Muslim one does not ignore their Sunnahs, not even the small ones and this is a big one.
But the answer to the question is yes ... not no ... Because you can't learn the Surahs in the Qur'an without having recited the verses first.
she did NOT mean that i believe...she reads namaaz of course like i do...i learned Qur'aan as a child and memorized my suras back then so if i just do namaaz and NOT read Qur'aan...it's OK because it's NOT fard to read Qur'aan itself everyday or whatever. u NEED to read Qur'aan, NO doubt about that but technically speaking anyone who does the bare minimum faraaiz and NOT read Qur'aan on a regular basis, he is OK! there are people everywhere who do NOT read Qur'aan on a regular/daily basis.
If that is what she meant then ok, but she started off talking about being a good Muslim ... And it is evdient that a good Muslim ... Sunnatein bhii nahein chore ga ...
Ok well no I didn't mean reading quran on regular basis. For an example lets say there is this girl who follows Islam ... hijabi, namazi... everything you can imagine Islam teaches but lets say because she can not read Arabic she has read maybe translation of quran... or got knowledge of Islam from other sources... I won't deny that reading quran in Arabic has its own sawab.. but lets say for argument sake.. that's the case.. what would you say in this situatiuon?
What I want to know is why do people tell what's farz and what's sunnah?? I know the benefits of reading quran and living your life the way quran says it... But telling me that something is farz and that people who claim to be good muslims can't do that because they don't read quran. I don't know if that make sense but first of all I don't think that we should really judge or question someone else's faith and moreover giving fatwas on what's farz what's sunnah is just something I don't get.
If that is what she meant then ok, but she started off talking about being a good Muslim ... And it is evdient that a good Muslim ... Sunnatein bhai nahein chore ga ...
i agree there with you...magar...sunnat sunnat hotii hai farz nahiiN...tark e sunnat pe giraft e Ilaahii nahiiN...faaraaiz kii adaayegii kii kotaahii men yaqeenan pakaR hogii. sunnat kii adaayegii insaan ko momin banaatii hai...Muslim to vo hai hii iimaan laane ke ba'd!
take care...i got to go...iA! :)
If the Qur'an will speak for or against you at the Judgement Day, how can it not be Fardh?
you have to make a distinction between fardh and sunnah...fardh is something that if you do NOT perform you will be held accountable and, if Allah wishes, will be punished while forgoing sunnah will NOT make you liable to punishment...YES, you will miss out on a lot of sawaab which ultimately need to our credits to be successful in the hereafter. as i said in my above post in Urdu it's better worded as English is NOT my first language, i'm pasting that bit here for you if you understand Urdu:
sunnat sunnat hotii hai farz nahiiN...tark e sunnat pe giraft e Ilaahii nahiiN...faaraaiz kii adaayegii kii kotaahii men yaqeenan pakaR hogii. sunnat kii adaayegii insaan ko momin banaatii hai...Muslim to vo hai hii iimaan laane ke ba'd!
you have to make a distinction between fardh and sunnah...fardh is something that if you do NOT perform you will be held accountable and, if Allah wishes, will be punished while forgoing sunnah will NOT make you liable to punishment...YES, you will miss out on a lot of sawaab which ultimately need to our credits to be successful in the hereafter. as i said in my above post in Urdu [it's better worded as English is NOT my first language, i'm pasting that bit here for you if you understand Urdu:
sunnat sunnat hotii hai farz nahiiN...tark e sunnat pe giraft e Ilaahii nahiiN...faaraaiz kii adaayegii kii kotaahii men yaqeenan pakaR hogii. sunnat kii adaayegii insaan ko momin banaatii hai...Muslim to vo hai hii iimaan laane ke ba'd!
I think if you claim to be a Muslim and don't read the Qur'an on a daily Basis, you can be held accountable for that.
Aaj mujhe usne naheen parra, to me kiya gwai doon?
I think if you claim to be a Muslim and don't read the Qur'an on a daily Basis, you can be held accountable for that.
Aaj mujhe usne naheen parra, to me kiya gwai doon?
i think there are millions and millions of people who do NOT even know how to read Qur'aan but they offer their prayers because someone helped them to memorise enough Qur'aan to read namaaz...do you think they are NOT Muslims? of course, one must read Qur'aan daily...but again, there are millions and millions of Muslims who do NOT even have Qur'aan who do NOT read Qur'aan Daily or even weekly or even worse monthly...do you think they are NOT Muslims.
those who do NOT read Qur'aan on a regular basis can be categorized as people who are unfortunate in the sense that they have the best words of Allah and yet they do NOT read it.
faraaiz aur sunnah aur waajibaat ko Ghalat malat nahiiN karnaa chaahiye...maiN ne kabhii nahiiN kahaa k Qur'aan kaa na paRhnaa OK hai...maiN yeh kah rahaa huN k Qur'aan kaa na paRhnaa us taraH se farz nahiiN hai jaise namaaz, roza, Hajj, zakaat hai...Theek? :)
My point is that if you are reading Namaz on a regular basis then you are also reading Qur'an on a regular basis ... Since the reading of the Qur'an is not dobytes the eyes on the mushaf, it is done by the heart ... Even if we recite Surahs from memory we are actually reading the Qur'an ...
It was on this basis that I said that Qur'an is fard ... It is fard because it is needed in salat which is fard.
Peace Spiral
What do you understand from these verses?
Surah 12 verses 1-3
Alif, Lam, Ra. These are the verses of the clear Book.
Indeed, We have sent it down as an Arabic Qur’an that you might understand.
We relate to you, [O Muhammad], the best of stories in what We have revealed to you of this Qur’an although you were, before it, among the unaware.
**Even if we don’t understand the Arabic, we should try our hardest to learn Arabic … Something that we have neglected over the past few centuries … The Qur’an has been preserved together with the ancient Arabic language due to the love of the Qur’an, people memorising it and teaching it. It is the word of Allah (SWT) that in itself should indicate to those who love Allah that they want to obey its instructions but also be absorbed in its words as uttered by the holy prophet Muhammad (SAW) …
I recall a dream of Imam Ahmad Ibn Hanbal in which he saw Allah in his dream. He enquired, “O my Lord! What brings your servants closer to you? Allah Talah replied, “That which has come from me” (i.e., the Holy Qur’aan). He asked, “My Lord, is this through understanding the Qur’aan or without?” Allah Talah said “With or without understanding it. Both are means of becoming close”
Understanding the Qur’an without reciting it is equal to reciting it without understanding … So the better thing is to strive to do both.
Ok well no I didn't mean reading quran on regular basis. For an example lets say there is this girl who follows Islam ... hijabi, namazi... everything you can imagine Islam teaches but lets say because she can not read Arabic she has read maybe translation of quran... or got knowledge of Islam from other sources... I won't deny that reading quran in Arabic has its own sawab.. but lets say for argument sake.. that's the case.. what would you say in this situatiuon?
What I want to know is why do people tell what's farz and what's sunnah?? I know the benefits of reading quran and living your life the way quran says it... But telling me that something is farz and that people who claim to be good muslims can't do that because they don't read quran. I don't know if that make sense but first of all I don't think that we should really judge or question someone else's faith and moreover giving fatwas on what's farz what's sunnah is just something I don't get.
You know you can enlist someones help in teaching you to read the Quran in Arabic?
NO, it's NOT! but having said that, does it make any sense to be a Muslim and NOT read Qur'aan? it's like claiming to be a lawyer and never ever open the law books! the Qur'aan is NOT just 'a' book...it's a guide to lead a life that Allah, your Creator, wants you to lead. besides, after salaat which is fard, Qur'aan is the best zikr which is NOT obligatory!
reading Qur'aan makes understanding of what you practice a lot easier! Good Luck! Allah ham sab ko saHeeH deen par Qur'aan paRhne, usko samajhne aur us par 'amal karne kii taufeeq 'ataa farmaaye...aameen! :)
\
is very good approach to learn and read quran.Yes it is very essential for us