Is Pakistan's team composition fundamentally correct?

Pakistan was the pioneer in the approach that a team can’t consistently perform well in ODI matches with bits-and-pieces players. Imran Khan criticized the English team in 1992 by calling it a a bits-and-pieces-players’ team. From that point on, we held on to this strategy that ODI is a game of specialists, although it helped to have immensly talented bowler like Akram, who may occassionally slog well, and to have specialist batsmen (Sohail etc) who can do their part as bowlers. But to load up their team with so-called all-rounders proved to be the undoing of England and is probably why NZ never became a really consistent team in world of cricket.

And now to think that Pakistan is falling prey to the same ill-logic!

Instead of having specialist bowlers, we decided to load up our team with so-called “all-rounders”. First lets clarify the definition of “all-rounder”.

How do you define an “all-rounder”?

Again I go back to Imran’s definition, cz I like it the best. He says that “an all-rounder is the one who can make his way into the team solely on either his batting or bowling abilities”. Can we honestly say that if Abdur Razzak is unable to bowl he will still be part of the team just as a regular specialist batsman? Or Azhar Mehmood will be in the team solely as a regular bowler? I struggle with the answer. Yeah, they are useful players, and extremely talented, no doubt, but that still leaves us with the question are we over-relying on bits-and-pieces players to win us matches? Not winning like a hero, but winning just by doing their part in their quota of 10 overs each.

As to the short tail of Pakistan, where a reasonably competent player like Azhar is coming at #9, all I gotta say is that there is a saying in West Indies that ‘if rain can’t do it, dew can’t do it either’. For our batting to succeed our 5-6 specialist batsmen have to click and score runs. They are the rain. If we are leaving it to the “dew”, and our #8 and #9 players are expected to lead the team to safety, that means our batting line-up has failed. When we are shortening our tail, we are exposing our bowling. We essentially only had Shoaib and Sami as specialist bowlers and you can’t really win matches like that.

Pakistan may win the last two ODI’s, and I hope and pray they do, but I disagree with the fundamental issue of the composition of the team and for them to only having specialist bowlers for 40% of the opposition’s quota of 50 overs. This just doesn’t seem like the best strategy.

Cricket team is essentially a simple composition, if you have good and talented players. You put in 5 specialist batsman, 1 specialist wicket-keeper and 5 specialist bowlers in your team. Then your batsmen have the primary responsibility to score runs, and you hope that some of your bowlers may score a few runs too, and your bowlers restrict the opposition, and one or two of your batsmen may bowl a few overs if a particular bowler is hit all over the ground, and you hope that wicketkeeper may also score a few runs. Imran figured it out. I hope Miandad does it too.

I partly agree...

The current pakistan team is going a bit overboard with the all rounders...

and I do agree that we need more specialist bowlers...

The current team looks good on paper, only if azhar and razaq were doing a little better with the ball,, which they are not,,, and frankly,, playing both at the same time is a waste....
I would rather keep either one of them in the team,,, regarding shoaib malik,,, I think the guy is a more than useful player and is having a bad patch with the bat,, and is otherwise an excellent one day player and Pakistan would be foolish to lose him...

Pakistan definitely needs one more specialist bowler, so shabbir should be a good choice....
I would probably keep razaq in the team and make him work harder with the ball... cos hes a pretty handy fellow with the bat, but then again one could argue that azhar hasnt really been given much of a chance lately, and he could prove equally useful... in any case,,, I,d choose either one of them in the team and make way for shabbir... I think with a bit of experience, shabbir could be a real world class bowler.

Now,, having said all that,,, I still feel Pakistan needs another part time bowler,,,, whos a good batsman... If only afridi could learn to bat a little more sensibly,, he could be a gem for the team,, a more than useful bowler and fielder,,, if he cud work a little on his batting, he could make this pakistani team a very very strong one...

with 3 specialist bowlers(seamers),, a medium pacer whos not tooo bad, a useful spinner(afridi/malik).... gives us 6 bowling options,,,,
with good batting depth....

in any case,,,,, shabbir should be in the team and one of the allrounders has got to go. And we need specialist batsmen, in the top order, a couple of which who could ball a bit too.

My team:

Imran Farhat (Batsman)
Taufeeq Umar (Batsman/Wicket Keeper)
Yasir Hameed (Batsman)
Yousuf Yohana (Batsman)
Inzamam (Batsman)
Asim Kamal (Batsman)
Abdul Razzaq (All Rounder)
Danish Kinarea (Bowler)
Shoaib Akhtar (Bowler)
Muhammad Sami (Bowler)
Shabbir Ahmad (Bowler)

Imran Farhat needs some improvement in his temper. He gets off well but loses his temper ones he get set. He needs to cool down and avoid playing high risk shots.

I would include taufeeq umar instead of moin. The reason is that if Pakistan needs to build its team for next world cup, we need someone who will be available for long time. And taufeeq can be better prospect for that. He has done wicket keeping before, though not the best, but his batting can compensate for his wicket keeping. (Although a very contraversial selection I must say)

I am very comfortable about yasir hameed playing one down. I think he shouldn't open just because he's too good of a batsman to come as an opener. He needs to come at a point where foundation has been layed and pressure is off. If openers get out early, then again, he can handle the situation.

YoYo, no question, he is a class of his own.

Inzi, well, who else would be given captaincy in this young team. Though, I think he should take his position VERY seriously and need to show his experience.

I would give Asim Kamal more chances in the middle order. He has already shown his class in the first test by scoring 99 runs. I am pretty confident if given chances, he would be a great prospect to provide strength in our middle order line up.

No question, Razzler is a match winner. There is no doubt he needs to improve his bowling. But his batting compensates for his mediocre bowling.

We need a full time spinner. And who could be better choice than kineria

Shoaib, sami and shabbir will give us specialist bowling strength.

So, in this team we'll have 6 specialist batsmen, 4 specialist bowler, 1 all-rounder, and 1 wicket keeper/batsman (contraversial selection, as i said).

I think, this would make a pretty balanced team, but I know this ain't gonna happen.

I do agree that we are going overboard with number of all rounders in the team. Razzaq has done great job with bat many a times in death of an inning, but his bowling is not upto good standards, he needs to bowl intelligently sensing the situation, batsman's position, his mood (defense, aggressive, overly aggressive) and all that... he lacks in that area.

It may be okay to go with two all rounders one seamer and one spinner, but depending on pitch one could be dropped and include 4 secialist bowlers.

May be Miandad is trying to cut tail shorter and give batting more depth, but I don't think its gonna work, unless we have "genuine" all rounders as defined above in Faisal's post.

The Game Responds:

*This is all because we try to copy our "maalik goras" all the time. Thank God our all rounders are better than the Ian Harveys and the Ajit Agarkars(Yes, Indians think he is one), but 3 all rounders in one team is just going overboard. Plus, we have Saleem Elahi in the team now, who is just a "joy" to watch. (Regarding Friday's match,I haven't seen a worse score of 80 in my life before this one, by the way). We might go through the next two games with wins due to sheer talent, but Faisal bhai has brought up some very good points. People, That Is All.*

Our think-tank seemed to have adopted a NZ-ish format once we started rebuildinging right after the WC disaster. Sohail's flushing out some big names paved the way for bits-and-pieces players to come in and hover around a nucleus of 2-3 superstars to make up the eleven. So while Mohd. Hafeez et al re-confirmed for the umpteenth time that Pak has immense talent, it also confirmed once again that because we are not too big (or rather quick) on application and consistency we will have a hard time getting to a stage where we can include a bits-and-pieces player like Ian Harvey who will give the side that extra edge rather than being relied upon to win games single-handedly.

Abdul Razzaq's situation is very similar's to Dravid's - who's forced to keep wickets for the sole reason to slot in an extra man. A.Razzaq is included in the side because of his potential to play those quickfire innings at the death. And although he is a liability as a bowler, the philosophy here seems to be that 'aakhri overs mein pit-tai kar sakta hai, chalo ek do wick-tain bhi ley ley ga' - which he rarely does.

I'd rather have a specialist bowler bowling those 10 overs, returning 3-50 and scoring nothing than having him returning 1-65 and blasting that quickfire 40-odd every 7 or 8 matches or so.

Imran's 5-1-5 is the way to go. Well pointed out Faisal, and let's hope so for the team's sake.

Good points Faisal bhai. I hope the team realizes this.

When Abdul Razzaq started his one day career, he was a pure allrounder who could make the team either on batting or bowling. He lost his bowling form alarmingly since april 2002, before that his pace was way more than it is now and he was a regular fifth bowler whom we could reply upon. But now he is no where the bowler he was then.

Same goes for Azhar, he was an extremely effective bowler those days but now fighting for a place in the team has affected his performance.

IMO, pakistan was at its best before and during 1999 world cup with Razzaq, Azhar and Saqlain in brilliant form to support Akram and Shoaib but since then it hasnt worked.

5-1-5 combination is very good. However, at times you have to adapt it to suit the playing conditions or available players. I feel that in the current team for ODI we can go in with 4 specialist batsmen, because Moin in his own right is a pretty good batsmen. That gives a choice of playing 2 all rounders and four bowlers. something like, Yasir, Imran, Yoyo, Inzi, Malik, Moin, Razzaq, Shoaib, Sami, Shabbir and Kaneria. This way we have 6 bowlers and the batting goes down to number 7.

Overall I agree with what Faisal has suggested.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Yasir, Imran, Yoyo, Inzi, Malik, Moin, Razzaq, Shoaib, Sami, Shabbir and Kaneria. This way we have 6 bowlers and the batting goes down to number 7.

that is a very good team but only if Youhana can play at # 3.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
5-1-5 combination is very good. However, at times you have to adapt it to suit the playing conditions or available players. I feel that in the current team for ODI we can go in with 4 specialist batsmen, because Moin in his own right is a pretty good batsmen. That gives a choice of playing 2 all rounders and four bowlers. something like, Yasir, Imran, Yoyo, Inzi, Malik, Moin, Razzaq, Shoaib, Sami, Shabbir and Kaneria. This way we have 6 bowlers and the batting goes down to number 7.

Overall I agree with what Faisal has suggested.

i don think 4 specialist batsman our enough for a pakistani side because even 5 are not as we have seen in this series. we cannot depend on our allrounders to bail us out each time.

*Originally posted by akpower: *

i don think 4 specialist batsman our enough for a pakistani side because even 5 are not as we have seen in this series. we cannot depend on our allrounders to bail us out each time.

You are right but when I say 4 specialist batsmen I am talking about 5 as Moin is very handy in ODI's. That together with Malik and Razzaq becomes quite a formidable batting lineup. If this line up cannot deliver than adding Azhar or one other batsmen is not going to help much.

Nahi Ehsan bhai i think 5 specialist batsmen are neceserry, in every conditions, you cannot expect Shoaib Malik or Moin to deliever at number 5 consistently. Even Australia plays atleast 5 specialist batsmen regardless of how strong thier batting lineup is, And we should do the same considering how brittle our lineup is. But i agree we gotta find a specialist batsmen who could roll his aram over for some overs atleast. I wonder why Inzi is relectant to bowl Imran Farhat, he bowls regularly almost in domestic oneday competition.